Chevron Left
Back to Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS by Duke University

4.6
stars
6,469 ratings
1,385 reviews

About the Course

Learn foundational programming concepts (e.g., functions, for loops, conditional statements) and how to solve problems like a programmer. In addition, learn basic web development as you build web pages using HTML, CSS, JavaScript. By the end of the course, will create a web page where others can upload their images and apply image filters that you create. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Think critically about how to solve a problem using programming; 2. Write JavaScript programs using functions, for loops, and conditional statements; 3. Use HTML to construct a web page with paragraphs, divs, images, links, and lists; 4. Add styles to a web page with CSS IDs and classes; and 5. Make a web page interactive with JavaScript commands like alert, onClick, onChange, adding input features like an image canvas, button, and slider....

Top reviews

JS

Jan 13, 2020

A very helpful code which allows you to learn the simple of JavaScript HTML and CSS. Very helpful in building websites and an excellent course for beginners or even people who have never coded before.

IS

Oct 06, 2015

This is the first course I am taking in Coursera.org. The valuable instructors of Duke University designed and created a masterpiece for learners. Thank you so much guys. Greets from Istanbul, Turkey.

Filter by:

1051 - 1075 of 1,356 Reviews for Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS

By Rajasekar D

Sep 12, 2018

Good for beginners, but personally I feel that the questions should be random for the graded quizzes when it is retaken.

By Joseph E

Jul 05, 2017

Some examples are given via mac and can be confusing for Windows user. Explanations of some code logic could be useful.

By Bernardo F B E

Apr 19, 2016

This is a good course for beginners but for the more experienced web programmers this is like a good brain teaser only.

By alfredorp33

Feb 27, 2016

Good course. A little demanding for someone who cannot invest substantial time figuring out how to code some problems.

By Yashvant R

Dec 01, 2016

Excellent Program for me and all the students, which have basic knowledge and a passion for learning something more.

By william z

Dec 12, 2015

Nice... the final assignment stegonography I found was difficult to convert RGB pixel values to 8 bit decimal values

By Omer A

Jul 03, 2019

except for a few times where there was lack of explaination, the course is great and interactive, highly recommend

By Sheldon T

Sep 05, 2018

Nice overview of HTML, CSS, and Javascript. Provides lots of practice. 4th week requires more time than weeks 1-3.

By Terry L

Aug 03, 2018

thought the breakdown of the tasks and the breakdown of the learning with the intermediate quizzes was well done.

By 涂健鸿

Apr 01, 2019

All the points are clearly stated though these are some problems with code pen which may cause unexpected error.

By Devul N

Jul 01, 2017

Overall, its an amazing course, however I feel like there should have been more assistance for the final video.

By David S

Jun 06, 2018

I enjoyed this course as it gave me a good grounding in understanding and developing Javascript, HTML and CSS.

By Jason C

Oct 25, 2015

some of the quizzes felt haphazard and too specific, but overall, the material was timely and well presented.

By Sella R

Sep 09, 2019

Not sure I learned enough do anything productive, but it was a good format for the content that was covered.

By RAJAT S

Jul 16, 2017

This was a very helpful course for me. I learned HTML, CSS and JS in this, which will be very helpful to me.

By Julian S

Aug 30, 2016

it is a very good course. Just need some adjustments on week 3 and steganography extraction and duplication.

By Muhammad F B J

Oct 24, 2019

good for beginners! would appreciate if the pace is slightly slower to better slightly digest the content!

By Muhammad T N P

Mar 26, 2020

The try it yourself activity is a great thing to improve the skills. Thank you Coursera for this course.

By Carolina T

Jun 22, 2017

Fun and very helpful, but I wish I could have done more. Maybe we will use this in the following course?

By Felipe S A

Apr 12, 2017

way to beginner, felt it could've gone a bit more in depth coming from a known university such as Duke.

By Eiaki M

Feb 18, 2016

Lectures are boring but the assignments are interesting and useful for the future, and quite involved.

By Nithya A

Jun 25, 2019

This course was very nice, however I found it very repetitive, which tended to get annoying at times.

By Atchyuth G

Jun 27, 2016

It was really helpful and I really feel like I learned a lot!! Can't wait to start the next course!!

By Shaun C

Jan 26, 2016

Good but I think the java script they jump into very advanced stuff if you have never code before.