Chevron Left
Back to Data Warehouse Concepts, Design, and Data Integration

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Warehouse Concepts, Design, and Data Integration by University of Colorado System

4.4
764 ratings
145 reviews

About the Course

This is the second course in the Data Warehousing for Business Intelligence specialization. Ideally, the courses should be taken in sequence. In this course, you will learn exciting concepts and skills for designing data warehouses and creating data integration workflows. These are fundamental skills for data warehouse developers and administrators. You will have hands-on experience for data warehouse design and use open source products for manipulating pivot tables and creating data integration workflows.You will also gain conceptual background about maturity models, architectures, multidimensional models, and management practices, providing an organizational perspective about data warehouse development. If you are currently a business or information technology professional and want to become a data warehouse designer or administrator, this course will give you the knowledge and skills to do that. By the end of the course, you will have the design experience, software background, and organizational context that prepares you to succeed with data warehouse development projects. In this course, you will create data warehouse designs and data integration workflows that satisfy the business intelligence needs of organizations. When you’re done with this course, you’ll be able to: * Evaluate an organization for data warehouse maturity and business architecture alignment; * Create a data warehouse design and reflect on alternative design methodologies and design goals; * Create data integration workflows using prominent open source software; * Reflect on the role of change data, refresh constraints, refresh frequency trade-offs, and data quality goals in data integration process design; and * Perform operations on pivot tables to satisfy typical business analysis requests using prominent open source software...

Top reviews

EK

Dec 16, 2015

Very nice class, well thought out and organized. The assignments are interesting and the practice assignments are relevant. Getting hands on on Pentaho was a big plus.

MH

Dec 13, 2016

Good learning for Data integration and ETL learning. How data from source to target table transform over the business requirement to be ready for processing

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 134 Reviews for Data Warehouse Concepts, Design, and Data Integration

By Shivam S

Jun 21, 2017

Nice Lectures Documentations Overall

By vaibhav b

Dec 26, 2016

The course was very helpful

By Georgina T

May 29, 2017

This was a great course, but the software installation steps took a lot of my time for the assignments

By SARAGADAM N

Jul 26, 2017

excellent

By Rahat A S

Feb 08, 2016

Good course. Give basic concept and practical experience in data cube designing and data integration.

By Kira H

Feb 18, 2016

The instructions for installing the software are not very intuitive and can be very frustrating at times, so make sure to allot additional time getting it installed. The assignment time listed is FAR less than the amount of time to complete the assignment, again, make sure to allot additional time for completing the assignments.

By sai

Jan 21, 2016

Excellent structure of the course and very interesting

By Paolo F

Mar 04, 2018

High quality info for a well structured course

By Joanna P

Dec 24, 2015

Overall - great course giving possibility to learn working on tools such as Pivot4J and Pentaho Data Integration. While I am more interested in Business Analyst approach - it certainly gives meaningful background to data warehouse concepts and data quality. Biggest disadvantage is in my opinion module 5 with rather difficult and unclear assignment. I wish instructions were more precise and whole assignment more analogical to presented examples.

By Nguyen T

Jun 09, 2016

A good course, but the learning curve in the middle shoots up so the hill is quite steep to climb. Some typos here and there in documentation, but overall a great course that really challenges you to think hard.

By Marek P

Sep 03, 2016

Great look to the integration problems, drawing and theoretical exercises was not as good.

By Jahanzaib M

Oct 02, 2017

It helped me a lot in understanding data warehouse and data integration concepts

By Danish A

May 27, 2019

Very Well Explained and Guided Course. Pivot4j and web pivot tables have undergone some changes so an update might be required.

By Jake S

May 21, 2019

Some very difficult exercises and the instruction was sometimes too abstract, but overall I feel I learned a lot.

By Benjamin S

Aug 01, 2019

Good stuff. Not necessarily a beginner course...configuration of the required software packages requires some work and knowledge, but Mr. Mannino does the best job possible of explaining how that should work in most cases. Installing an Oracle SQL server on the local machine is tricky to get right, but the VirtualBox "Developer Day" package is easier, though requires a little work in Linux...so, I would say no problem for beginners if there is some background in development or multi-OS support. Otherwise, prepare to spend some extra time learning. Was well worth it for me!

By Bruno A S I

Dec 28, 2017

It's a good course but it could improve the explanations provided in giving more detail and examples. Give deeper examples!!

By Dragana S

Nov 14, 2017

Really short lessons, and usually half of lesson is spent on introduction and talking about what will be in the lesson. Nevertheless, course is focused on theory, rather than the practice. I think it should be more detailed and with more practical assignments.

By Linda S

Oct 04, 2016

Well organized lectures but the documentation is full of errors. This in combination with the lack of response on the a lack of responsiveness on the forums might make this class frustrating for some.

By Ravi

Feb 16, 2016

Good for Beginners to go for.

By Odile M

Jan 14, 2016

Missing course material about how calculating fact table size ans sparsity

By Tom C

Mar 20, 2016

This course needs a cleanup of loose ends on some of the assignments. Some assignment requirements are very ambiguous and in some cases the solutions are not matching the requirements of what was due.

By srinivas

Mar 04, 2016

Real world data warehouse integrations are more complex than just inner joining the tables to drop those rows not found in the original tables. i wish more complex scenarios are covered.

By Jason L

May 07, 2016

Pros: Information is perfect for anyone looking at Business Intelligence as a career field, or already in the career field itself. I found the first week to challenge my on-the-job knowledge of a fuller set of concepts and general terminology.

Cons: The wording on the quiz questions, in some cases, seems much different than the PPT slides and the instructor's language. UPDATE: The wording is a significant challenge, even when advancing into the more complex topics. I have had many differences of opinions on the solutions based on wording in the requirements.

By Andy O

Jan 28, 2018

Some good parts on data integration but the key sections on DW design and in particular the assignment are really poorly written.

By Danielle B

Feb 07, 2019

The course is very informative, but you have to work with a very slow website for an assignment and you need to install applications which are a lot of hassle and will cost you a lot of time. I still cannot get an application to work to finish the last assignment. Too bad for all the effort I put in so far and very frustrating.