Chevron Left
Back to Electric Power Systems

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Electric Power Systems by University at Buffalo

4.6
406 ratings
93 reviews

About the Course

This course familiarizes you with standards and policies of the electric utility industry, and provides you with basic vocabulary used in the business. It introduces the electric power system, from generation of the electricity all the way to the wall plug. You will learn about the segments of the system, and common components like power cables and transformers. This course is for individuals considering a career in the energy field (who have a high school diploma, at minimum, and basic knowledge of mathematics), and existing energy sector employees with less than three years of experience who have not completed similar training and would benefit from a course of foundational industry concepts. The course is a combination of online lectures, videos, readings and discussions. This is the first course in the Energy Production, Distribution & Safety specialization that explores various facets of the power sector, and features a culminating project involving creation of a roadmap to achieve a self-established, energy-related professional goal....

Top reviews

NW

Jan 08, 2019

Great entry course. Very easy for those that do not have a background in the subject. I am currently in the process of transitioning industry. It was good for a refresher overview.

SC

Mar 13, 2019

OVERALL SYLLABUS COVERAGE IS GOOD\n\nQUESTIONS STANDARD MAY BE IMPROVED\n\nSYLLABUS DEALTS ONLY ABOUT THE US POWER SYSTEM NETWORK DATA\n\nOPTIONS FOR SOME QUESTIONS ARE NOT CLEAR

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 93 Reviews for Electric Power Systems

By Babar N

Apr 25, 2019

best

By Zain A K

May 25, 2019

Exceptional

By Mikaeel K B

Jun 01, 2019

Amazing Course! Cheers!

By MUHAMMAD U S

May 21, 2019

this cource is a veru helpfull at basic level.

By Sneha G

Jun 08, 2019

Amazing course by Grinberg professor especially the Smart grid module

By Kumail R

Jun 18, 2019

I learned a lot in this course. I hope it may prove beneficial for me in my future.

By Shaun

Jul 16, 2019

Great overview of electric power systems.

By Prit M

Aug 03, 2019

Best knowledge given by them

By Parth b

Aug 06, 2019

GLAD TO HAVE OPPURTUNITY TO DO THIS COURSE FROM SUCH A GREAT UNIVERSITY LEARNT A LOT AND DEVLOPED A LOT OF SKILLS

By Sonet M

Aug 19, 2019

simple, understandable and well structured lecture.

By Nowfal T C

Aug 26, 2019

Excellent Tutorial Videos and nice class

By Ayush m

Sep 02, 2019

thank you coursera, for this course. this will help me in future. :)

By ABDUL J

Sep 06, 2019

Nice recall.

By Ibrahim a y A

Sep 09, 2019

Briefly and helpful

By ayman e

Sep 12, 2019

this is a very helpful course i liked it very much

By Avadutendra

Sep 12, 2019

I learned generation ,distribution and transmission

By doha k m i

Sep 14, 2019

it was a very intersting course

By santhapeta p

Sep 17, 2019

Excellent

By Ebrahem M A

Nov 26, 2018

Great course for beginners

By Fayaz A

Nov 28, 2018

amazing experience and got alot of knowledge

By Muhammad E S

Nov 29, 2018

This course is very good for person who wanted to know the overview of Electrical Power Systems industry

By Kashif R

Jan 10, 2019

This course is not detailed course. There was an overview of everything. This course should be explained because all the topics covered in this section were so interesting.

By Hanna S

Jan 12, 2019

The course is good, all the main topics of power stations and substations are dismantled. Gives a general idea of ​​the topic. And also affects the new technologies as smart grid! Recommend!!

By VIKRAM K V

Mar 02, 2019

A nice course giving an idea about electricity generation, transmission and distribution. I enjoyed the course

By Deleted A

Mar 31, 2019

A good high level course on electric power system fundamentals. It helps to have some beginner knowledge.