Chevron Left
Back to Electric Power Systems

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Electric Power Systems by University at Buffalo

4.7
stars
6,291 ratings
1,583 reviews

About the Course

This course familiarizes you with standards and policies of the electric utility industry, and provides you with basic vocabulary used in the business. It introduces the electric power system, from generation of the electricity all the way to the wall plug. You will learn about the segments of the system, and common components like power cables and transformers. This course is for individuals considering a career in the energy field (who have a high school diploma, at minimum, and basic knowledge of mathematics), and existing energy sector employees with less than three years of experience who have not completed similar training and would benefit from a course of foundational industry concepts. The course is a combination of online lectures, videos, readings and discussions. This is the first course in the Energy Production, Distribution & Safety specialization that explores various facets of the power sector, and features a culminating project involving creation of a roadmap to achieve a self-established, energy-related professional goal. To learn more about the specialization, check out a video overview at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2Yh9qIYiUDk....

Top reviews

RS
May 9, 2020

The course was very easily explained including all the minor details it's like a journey of powers system where you get to know about all the key elements required to have the knowledge in this field.

MM
Jan 17, 2020

What an Extraordinary Course, I really appreciate meeting with such a skilled professor and a tutor too.\n\nThough his main focus was on the USA and quiz were mainly focusing on the USA not globally.

Filter by:

1501 - 1525 of 1,570 Reviews for Electric Power Systems

By Shuvmay C

Nov 13, 2018

The course covers only the basics, and revolves around the data obtained from various authorities. It would have been much better if certain working process of devices in the protection switch gear part were explained in a little more detail.

By Luis D C E

Jun 3, 2020

It needs to improve some concepts, for example "All renewable energies are sutainable", that is false if you are looking for biofuels, actually in Brasil the increment of the needs of corn are deforesting the AMAZONAS!!!!

By Tyagusov D

May 31, 2020

Nice course for anyone who is not familiar with the topic. The information in video is outdated. Also some optional videos are unavailable and there is no interesting assignments for peer review.

By Deep M

Jun 11, 2020

It could have been more generalized as it is specific to USA but students belong to other countries. You could have asked more conceptual rather than value based questions in quizzes.

By Fernando Z A

Sep 8, 2020

Kind of basic on the most fundamental theory behind energy systems: I understood beforehand the course was not intended for a technical specialization, tho.

By Prithuyash S

Dec 27, 2019

Teacher not engaging and a bit more could have been explained in the switchgears, some quetions regarding transformers etc..should have been given

By SUMANT H G

Oct 8, 2020

course content is very good but there is confusion while solving the assignment questions because some of the answers might be wrong.

By Manchala V

Jul 12, 2020

Even though I have completed all the assignments and attempted all exams secured 90% Im not able to receive certificate ☹️

By Md. R I J

Aug 26, 2020

The lectures need more correction in presentation and Instructor needs more friendly attitude in his face while teaching.

By Mathias N

Jun 21, 2021

Content: 5 stars; Presentation: 2 stars => This course should be brought up to speed with "modern" ways of teaching

By Anant S

Jun 1, 2020

Course is purely for electrical engineer students. Though some topics are helpful like i learn about substations.

By Kesamsetty s s r

Apr 26, 2020

Even though answer are correct it shows wrong ,for example i have answered "bus bars" instead of "bus bar ",

By Syed M H S

Jun 29, 2020

Was not interactive, the professor was just reading some text from a source. But content was informative

By Moosa A K

Aug 16, 2020

شكرا جزيلا على الجهود المبذوله وعندي ملاحظات بسيطه وهيه من الافض شرح بعض الجمل على شكل رسم توضيحي وشكرا

By AbdelRahman M I I

Jul 20, 2020

I am not an american citizen and all the data in this course are about USA....this is so ridiculous

By Shivam S

Jul 2, 2020

This course not cover all the information.

And in last 1 hour, the topic not related to course

By Varsha R D

Jun 29, 2020

The video seemed boring , as their was lack of interaction with professor and the students.

By Deleted A

Apr 8, 2019

I feel like in Week 2, the professor should have gone through the concepts in depth.

By Grigoris M

May 24, 2021

It was not bad overall, but I mistakenly thought it could have been more difficult.

By LEENA A

Apr 6, 2020

I enjoyed the course but some quiz questions did not align with material covered.

By Nilanjan D

Aug 7, 2020

it is very easy to understand and the teaching style is good .overall its good

By Harsha V S

Jun 25, 2020

This Course was very basic. When I say its basic, it is high school level.

By nibal s a

Apr 3, 2021

كنت بحاجة إلى معلومات أكثر حول دمج الطاقات المتجددة عبر الشبكة الذكية

By sudhanshu b

Feb 27, 2021

Questions in the quiz are a bit ambiguous. Rest is topnotch stuff

By Mohammed A

Jul 7, 2020

it's good for the amateurs, but lacks of the practical side