Chevron Left
Back to Inspiring Leadership through Emotional Intelligence

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Inspiring Leadership through Emotional Intelligence by Case Western Reserve University

4.7
stars
1,570 ratings

About the Course

Emotional intelligence, hope, mindfulness, and compassion help a person reverse the damage of chronic stress and build great leadership relationships. The Positive and Negative Emotional Attractors inspire sustained, desired change and learning at many levels....

Top reviews

GT

Sep 4, 2017

I really enjoyed this course. it helped me to refresh some of the concepts I had learned early in m career as well as see actual case study work as it applies to the corporate environment that im in.

AH

Apr 27, 2020

I am so glad to bump into this course during COVID-19. To get my PEA and help the others with their PEA are great! I highly recommend this all of those who just stepped into their leadership roles.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 560 Reviews for Inspiring Leadership through Emotional Intelligence

By Alexander A

Mar 6, 2021

Pure Academia with practical examples

By Ryan F

Jun 11, 2020

Broken buggy quizzes asking you to analyze impossible to categorize ramblings that give no feedback on right/wrong answers prevent completion and detract from learning. Then you can't go onto the next course. So they get to just keep charging you. This is a scam.

By Olivia C J

Aug 22, 2022

Firstly, a massive thank you to Richard Boyatzis for this course - it´s truly inspirational (the title of the course is spot on!) and was much more than what I expected. The content (talks, exercises, videos and readings) were all very interesting and relatable - everything clearly explained with the added bonus of having entertaining funny examples as a reference too. I´ve already recommended the course to many people, and notice a significant shift in my viewpoint thanks to it.

It helps you view yourself, others and life with a clearer, lighter, more approachable light. The exercises are easily applicable and I encourage those who take this course to get involved in the interactive exercises. Even if you don´t get a chance to interact directly with someone, it´s very useful to see yourself writing and projecting your thoughts into words.

Once again, a real delight. Thanks!

By Isa S

Nov 15, 2022

As someone studying leadership, has engaged in coaching and has engaged in a lot of personal and professional development through my studies, I can highly recommend this course. The course dives deep into many topics closely linked to leadership development & coaching, it also provides an insight into the neuroscience behind it all. With interesting and engaging examples and stories, a pinch of humor from time to time, and well-constructed videos, this course is truly enjoyable to work on!

Like with anything: you get out of it what you put in. I highly recommend anyone following the course to do the recommended reading and engage in the discussion forms, as this does increase your understanding and helps you practice. Just going through the videos and assignments will not get you to truly master this all.

By Bill M

May 16, 2017

I felt this course was an exception. The design and delivery were organized in such a compelling and applicable manner it made the learning engaging and useful. I feel that this was one of the best online education classes I've experienced. The professor was engaging and conveyed the concepts in an easy to understand manner. The exercises were a nice mix of easy reflection combined with slightly more difficult essay and one to two more challenging pieces to get you to think about applying to techniques. I also really appreciated the additions of the recommended and supplemental readings. That gave additional resources that I plan on returning to in the future for deeper dive into some of the topics. I feel this was well worth my time and money. Well done.

By Thubten D

May 21, 2022

This course is outstanding. Rich in tools and informaiton. It is without doubt one of the best things I have done in my life. It will help me to grow and make a difference to the teams around me. I am so grateful to Coursera and Prof. Boyatzis for this course. the generosity, love, kindness and inspiration of Prof shines through as well as the richness of research and study. I cannot thank you all highly enough for this course and I recommend it to anyone looking to be a better boss, manager, leader, coach, or simply looking to inspire change in others. Wonderful. Prof went above and beyond in designing this course. Thank you

By Maria J C

Jun 13, 2020

What I loved the most of this course was the easiness to practice everything that I was learning, the tasks or assignments help me to understand better the different aspects of myself that I need to work on in order to became a better leader. I enjoyed the process of understanding what are the reactions in my body, mind and the impact that my words or actions could have in the people around me, and how all this could be changed to have a shared vision and improve the organizational climate of the institution. This course gave me a lot of tools to change both in a personal and a profesional way.

By Aneesah W

Dec 23, 2020

Excellent consistency in delivering and training the message, useful personal practices that are easily accessible daily, wonderful method of skill development teaching coding and how to keep these intelligence competencies front and center. Richard Boyatzis practices what he preaches, a great exemplar. Excellent research including the neurobiology evidence and insights offered. Valuable resources and I really appreciate the customised PLJ (Personal Learning Journal) offered consistently through the specialisations (e.g women in leadership and Appreciative Inquiry)

By Aruna T

Feb 2, 2018

Inspiring leadership through emotional intelligence is a new way of managing people compare to what we usually follow. Though I have randomly practised some of the techniques while I manage or coach people, I did not apply it intentionally.This course gives really good fundamental awareness about emotional intelligence and its applications which I can use more inspired way. Moreover, lectures are clear and interesting with a lot of additional materials where we can study without spending the time to get further material in order to get a broader knowledge.

By Chase S

Sep 23, 2023

Amazing course taught by an amazing and knowledgeable instructor. He puts words to the thoughts and actions you may already be doing in your day-to-day life and brings data and statistics to back up everything he says. The things he talks about and teaches are meant for so much more than leadership, it's as if your father or grandfather is giving you solid life advice that comes from a place of experience and wisdom. I'd definitely recommend this course to anybody not just those interested in leadership. Thankyou.

By John F

May 15, 2020

I began the course not really sure what I would get out of it, but ended with a great deal of actionable information. The videos were very informative and on point; as were the readings and exercises. The course is very well designed and I would highly recommend it to anyone in a leadership position. The most important thing for me is that it will help me by helping others to move into PEA in addition to focusing on the 9 competencies for leadership, to become a better and more resonant leader.

By Ketankumar S

Jun 28, 2020

Inspirational leadership through Emotional Intelligence is a very effectively presented course having applicability at every stage of career and life. The highly complex theory of emotions and relationships have been explained with examples to make it memorable. I can not forget Mr. Richard Boyatzi's smile and the catching way of narration. Thank you Mr. Richard , Thank you Case Western Reserve University and Reliance Industries Limited for presenting such a lovely course with a certification.

By Julia K

May 12, 2021

I really loved this course. The topic is very motivating to me and the course material super interesting. It requires quite a bit of work if you want to do it properly: a lot of reading, including technical stuff, a lot of exercices including interviewing people out there, which at times can be a bit challenging. On the other hand, I really appreciated those parts too, getting out of my comfort zone, asking others, etc. I highly recommend this course! Thank you for making it so interesting.

By Oliver F

Nov 18, 2019

This course was an evidence supported exploration of the different components of supporting change at an individual or organisational level and considered the contributions that emotional intelligence, cognitive intelligence and social intelligence play in this. Aspects of coaching related to coaching with compassion and invoking a state that promotes learning through activating the parasympathetic nervous system by engaging PEA were really useful techniques for improving my man management.

By Deepti S

Jul 26, 2019

Thank you very much Professor. Richard Boyatzis and Case Western Reserve University for putting together such a wonderful course. It had all the necessary information, insights, latest research papers, and effective coaching on the subject. I thoroughly enjoyed being a part of all the sessions, activities and discussions. You have instigated a great sense of understanding and motivated me to learn and practice more about Inspiring Leadership through Emotional Intelligence.

By JOEL C

Nov 10, 2020

This course will teach you how to create and sutain resonant relationships and how to be a resonant leader to be a contagious source for positive change. Heavy focus on the presenter's Intentional Change Theory. This course will help you become the change you want in your life and help you in helping others get what they want out of life as well. I recommend this course to anyone interested in leadership and Emotional Intelligence.

By Asha P

Mar 20, 2017

I found this course intensely thought-provoking. I wish to revisit it again just to reflect over the conversations that were part of the active learning assessments. It helped me rethink the methods that I used as part of coaching conversations with my clients and mentees. The course has inspired me to strongly reconsider my social identity group and evaluate the relationship with my inner circle of partners and friends.

By Lakshan M B

Aug 24, 2023

I've been working in the Hospitality industry for 9 years. I started from scratch and today I'm an assistant revenue manager, in the world's largest hospitality group. I wish I had known this course a few years back which definitely would have helped me to grow my career much faster. I have learned so much about leadership in this course which is not only applicable to my career but also to my personal and social life.

By Dmytro K

Jul 28, 2020

I have really enjoyed this course, and do believe that Emotional Intelligence is underestimated. Also I think that Prof. Boyatzis has underestimated his effect by saying that 'he is not changing lives', I do believe that information, practices, methods, etc. I learned from this course definitely helped me to improve and spark interest in investing more time on learning emotional intelligence and related topics.

By HANEENA P M

May 26, 2020

Interesting and useful course.it is very effective in all part of our life and Every person should focus this theory. it is help us in every field.This course is more attaching with our daily life and every day we are facing some situations..All stories,incidens,examples are very close to our environment. Pro.Richard Boyatzis Presentation and his language Very simple and clear for all community.I salute him.

By Merrill C

Oct 22, 2016

Really great; I learned a ton! I especially appreciated the neuroscience data that backs up the overall philosophy/theories. Prof. Boyatzis is really really great. His lectures are very engaging and never too long. I was able to fit this course into my busy schedule, and I took away a lot of relevant knowledge as well as new skills, both of which I used in my work immediately and still 6 months later.

By Ruth P

Dec 15, 2016

I thought the recorded lectures, the reading and the assignments were well designed and really helped me to get a lot out of the course. The tone and pace of the lectures was great and even though they are recorded, it felt almost as though Richard Boyatzis was lecturing live. The frequent reflections and assignments really helped to build a good foundation of understanding of inspiring leadership.

By Carlos S

Mar 8, 2023

This course helped me to increse my self awareness, and look at the possibilities to practice and enhance my emotional and social competences . The examples that Dr. Botatzis gave in the course are very clear, the exercises are useful to know better myself and others. Practicing the proposed strategies I have incresased my connection with others and also increased my effectiveness at work

By Paula H

Apr 3, 2016

This course is very complete, the readings are understandable and also the classes. It does require some more time comparing to other courses, but it's definitely worth it. I've learned so much i can't even believe it.

The only thing i'd maybe change is in one of the modules (week 5) it's kind of confusing how to submit the results of a review of some essays. that's it.

By Ogunkoya d

May 6, 2020

An excellent beginner course in merging Emotions with leadership & teaching one how to be effective and develop one's self. Although some of the lecture readings were quite long it was worth it and i suggest to anyone taking this course to read a book on emotional intelligence while taking or after this course it will help broaden your understanding & knowledge.