Chevron Left
Back to Emotions: a Philosophical Introduction

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Emotions: a Philosophical Introduction by Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona

4.3
stars
373 ratings
108 reviews

About the Course

Philosophy is like sex: sure you can get some interesting results, but that's not why we do it. Going one step beyond…why do you FEEL pain or pleasure? Do plants have emotions? How is possible that some people do not understand other’s emotions? Emotions seem to be everywhere, giving meaning to all events of our lives. They are the backbone of social activities as well as they drive the cognitive processes of several living entities. Several animals, including humans, have emotions but…what about machines?...Do machine can have emotions? This course will help you to understand and to identify most important philosophical ideas and debates about emotions, as well as it will provide you a rich source of data about neurological, psychological or anthropological analysis of emotions. In a nutshell: this is a course to feel and think about....

Top reviews

BK
Jun 11, 2020

Great Material! Excellent presentation! Very good use of Coursera technology including Avatars and great summaries in End Remarks on the videos. Highly recommend Bob

TC
Aug 4, 2016

Love this course. Highly recommend to anyone who wants to understand emotions. Jordi, I can't wait to do your next course.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 107 Reviews for Emotions: a Philosophical Introduction

By Laura R D

Oct 31, 2017

The course is interesting and you feel the teacher knows about the topic and wishes to transmit plenty of knowledges, but I would suggest a few improvements of the videos: better organisation, rehearsal of the speech before filming the class (he has a strong accent as a non native english-speaker, and not too much fluency), or maybe reading what he wants to say (as in other Coursera courses) would be better than trying to explain everything with his own spontaneous words. Nonetheless, I do appreciate all the effort put on the course and on sharing this interesting topic!

By Walter M M Q

Jul 12, 2020

This course is really great, it gives a ton of info about emotions and the philosophical perspective of them, it also gives amazing sources of investigations, despite all of this the English speaking of the teacher is way too bad and it becomes hard to fully understand everything, even with subtitles. I really don't know why he hasn't made new videos where he fixed his language faults because the course is fantastic, well-structured and complete.

By Ivanka D

Jan 8, 2018

Great course to learn more about emotions. The only thing was that it was sometimes difficult to follow the professor because of the language. But besides that it was verry interessting. And you can tell that the professor loves his work. He tells the theory with humor and allot of examples.

By Victor G d O S

Sep 9, 2016

It was a fairly good course, the professor is funny and the slideshow itself is well made, but the content sometimes got boring and my mind stepped away from the course, something that did not happen even with other more difficult courses.

By Laura V D L P

Jul 18, 2020

Very interesting and inspiring, but it was hard to follow the teacher sometimes due to his English language skills

By reneryu

Dec 20, 2016

The lecturer and his avatar are funny, the course content is structured but the delivery is a bit loose...

By Deleted A

Mar 7, 2020

If I could give no stars, I probably would. The professor misrepresents St. Augustine's work and calls it a paraphrase when it is not. When asked about it, at first there is a tangential reference to Kant by a mentor (?) and then eventually the professor responds also with no acknowledgement of the misrepresentation that is not a paraphrase and only responds with more tangents that are off topic and takes no responsibility for the lack of academic integrity of his work. It's frustrating and not worth my time. I trust investing the time to read the original sources, and I have no respect for the professor for his lack of academic honesty and integrity. Not surprisingly, there are others also complaining about this on the same course discussion board. When I asked for Help with Coursera, the best I was given was to add a rating for a course that should be dropped entirely to stop the spread of misinformation and to keep the academic reputation of the courses high. Given that doesn't seem to be happening. I have no need to bother with courses from here as my time is better spent elsewhere with higher levels of academic integrity.

By Dulce M H

Dec 3, 2020

Lo disfruté muchísimo! Es una excelente herramienta para quienes buscan iniciar el conocimiento y reconocimiento de las emociones en busca de una mejor calidad de vida. Jordi es lo mejor!

By Fisico R B

Sep 8, 2017

Yo estudio las Emociones de las MujeresMexicanas de la Ciudad de Mexico y este curso ha siido Magnifico de Gran Ayuda, Felicitaciones al Profesor Jordi!!!

By Traore A M

May 8, 2020

Le professeur a su bien dispensé le cours. j'apprécie beaucoup le cours c'est très important et j'a beaucoup .

By Fernanda G

Sep 26, 2020

Curso excelente! O Professor traz vários conceitos interessantes para aula e sempre prende a atenção!

By Vivianne O

Oct 25, 2020

I learned a lot, a great teacher and with a very simple format for understanding. I recommend !

By Paloma R M

Dec 23, 2020

This course was fantastic!! I truly enjoyed learning and being a part of this. Thank you.

By César A G A

Nov 20, 2017

Interesante y diverso. Buen material complementario. Enfoque multidisciplinar.

By Isidro L

Jul 26, 2017

Lots of very interesting topics, I highly recommend it! :-)

By Victor M

May 7, 2020

Maravilloso trabajo. Muy bueno el curso. Saludos

By Alice Z

May 21, 2019

well done. So much more than feelings.

By Karynne N R

Jul 25, 2020

This Is The Greatest Course, Ever!

By Marian V

Jun 14, 2020

Learned a lot, not boring at all.

By Prashant S S

Jul 31, 2019

Very Good and informative course

By Hemilene M G

May 16, 2020

It was an amazing experience!

By 遙 傅

Jun 6, 2019

Thank you for the courses.

By Eme R

May 10, 2019

Thanks Jordi.....!!!!

By Kleber L d S

Oct 1, 2019

Novos conhecimentos.

By Anshira K K

Jun 14, 2020

Very good course.