Chevron Left
Back to Emotions: a Philosophical Introduction

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Emotions: a Philosophical Introduction by Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona

4.3
stars
403 ratings
116 reviews

About the Course

Philosophy is like sex: sure you can get some interesting results, but that's not why we do it. Going one step beyond…why do you FEEL pain or pleasure? Do plants have emotions? How is possible that some people do not understand other’s emotions? Emotions seem to be everywhere, giving meaning to all events of our lives. They are the backbone of social activities as well as they drive the cognitive processes of several living entities. Several animals, including humans, have emotions but…what about machines?...Do machine can have emotions? This course will help you to understand and to identify most important philosophical ideas and debates about emotions, as well as it will provide you a rich source of data about neurological, psychological or anthropological analysis of emotions. In a nutshell: this is a course to feel and think about....

Top reviews

BK
Jun 11, 2020

Great Material! Excellent presentation! Very good use of Coursera technology including Avatars and great summaries in End Remarks on the videos. Highly recommend Bob

JB
May 26, 2020

This course is very well put together with lots of emotions. It is very interesting on how are emotions come about. Thanks to the Professor.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 115 Reviews for Emotions: a Philosophical Introduction

By Sheena B

Jul 6, 2017

Very interesting approach to understand the Philosophical dimension of Emotions. I did face a a little difficult with the accent which was predominantly Spanish, but the subtitles and transcripts provided filled that gap too.!

CHEERS!

PS: I also loved the Avatar!

By Cliff S

Oct 22, 2016

This was a very interesting course. It presented a new way of looking at emotions I had not thought of before and the lectures were fun and interesting. The quizzes could have been a bit more challenging. Excellent forum participation from the mentors/staff.

By Emiliano B

Jun 2, 2020

it was interesting and funny at the same time , maybe some part should be a litle mor edeveloped for my personal interested for example the part of cultural aspect of emotion, But as introduction to the field was very nice

By Berenice J S V

Jan 5, 2017

Really enjoyable! A lot of information clearly unified and in consideration of different points of view. A little bit hard for the accent at the beginning, but fastly overcome.

By Estefania R B

Mar 24, 2018

Interesting Course with a lot of information not only from a philosopical perspective but also from different scientific approaches!! Nice and very usefull bibliography !!

By Murilo F P

Nov 23, 2019

Gostei muito, porém em determinados momentos me senti meio perdido, não sei se foi a dificuldade de traduzir alguns conceitos... Mas o tema é muito pertinente e atual.

By Nathalia M C H

May 10, 2020

Me ayudo a tener una idea más consolidada sobre las emociones, las lecturas contribuyeron mucho a mi aprendizaje. El profesor tiene carisma para explicar.

By Gayathri D P

May 18, 2021

This is such a valuable and informatic course. The lecturer also explains everything clearly. References those provided are very useful and relevant.

By Juan P V

Mar 25, 2021

Thrilled to have finished this very complete and interesting course. It was very well done and explained. Congrats to Jordi and the team.

By Joy S

Jul 10, 2017

Pretty good course. Instructor is entertaining in a goofy way. Final week, about robots and emotions, kind of fascinating

By MARYAM H

Nov 9, 2020

It is a good introductory course. However I feel a more elaborate description of the content would be even more helpful

By Aarya M

Apr 16, 2020

The professor is super fun and you will surely learn alot. for better understanding id suggest you to make notes.

By mauricio m

Jun 24, 2017

excellent content, a little difficult to understand because the pronunciation in english, great course anyway!

By Linda W

Aug 2, 2020

An interesting and thought provoking course. The instructor presents information in an engaging manner.

By Egon W

Feb 25, 2019

A Philosophical introcuction with a huge knowledge of different domains. I liked the course very much.

By EUBER L D C

Apr 6, 2020

The course is good. The teacher know about the subject and he transmits clearly his knowledge to us.

By Gema A

Nov 25, 2020

How can I ask for my certificate? I can't find that option. Thank you. gemaalava@gmail.com

By Chan R J

Jan 29, 2017

Thanks for the course. I've learned a lot and will share my experiences to my friends :)

By Jenna B

Jan 12, 2020

Jordi did a great job making such a daunting subject fun and interesting!

By ARJUN S

May 23, 2020

it was a little boring, but i've learnt quite a lot from this course.

By Claudia C

Nov 17, 2019

Awesome quality of the course/ poor pronunciation and translation.

By Matheus A F C

Apr 22, 2018

A good introductory course.

By Djana R

Jun 1, 2018

Good course!

By Simeon P

Feb 28, 2017

The material covered in the course is adequate and relevant to various aspects to our social lives. The course's purpose is to get you acquainted with the broad field of emotion study, to pique curiosity and fuel further research and deep dives into the multiple topics that are presented. It does this very well by offering lots of references to research papers, articles and videos. The course doesn't aim to dig deep into its topics. This remains as your task depending on your interests. As a final note, and this is critique I've already submitted, the presenter doesn't add too much to the slides in the videos. He basically reiterates what is written on the slides and doesn't expand on it much or at all. You're basically given links and references to what to learn by yourself. Hopefully this will change in future reiterations of the course.

By shriyansi

Aug 24, 2019

A lot of the reading material was far too dense for a course of this nature. Maybe a little more video content, especially hitting the high points of the reading material.

Also, the estimations for the amount of time needed to digest these materials was grossly underestimated. The 6th week for instance, reading was estimated at 1 hour, for an academic paper on the mathematical models for neural computing (a 30 page PDF full of jargon). These things need to be improved as Coursera is used by professionals like me, who need to have an idea beforehand, on how much work and time something is going to take.

The rest was just great. Thank you!