Chevron Left
Back to Teach English Now! Foundational Principles

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Teach English Now! Foundational Principles by Arizona State University

4.9
stars
9,972 ratings
3,571 reviews

About the Course

Through a series of engaging metaphors and stories, prospective and current EFL/ESL teachers will identify, summarize, and evaluate 7 basic language learning paradigms. Learners will be presented information on such foundational principles as motivation, risk taking, two different modes of learning, and balancing the teacher profession. Learners are also given an understanding of basic techniques founded on those principles, such as teacher talk, looking “ridiculous” in order to lower the affective filter, and networking. With these foundational principles in mind, ESL/EFL teachers will scrutinize common assumptions about language learning by comparing how they stack up to research-based core principles....
Highlights
Engaging instructors
(331 Reviews)
Interactive content
(104 Reviews)

Top reviews

CR
May 12, 2020

Simply amazing. Loved every single minute of it. I feel myself a much better teacher, I’ve learnt how to see resources to give a better class as well as offer my students better practices of learning.

LA
Jan 7, 2021

I really love this trainibng, since it helps me to refresh my knowledge about my professional teaching.I also learned and related a lot from this. You inspire me to teach more effectively . God bless!

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 3,539 Reviews for Teach English Now! Foundational Principles

By Donna N D

Nov 29, 2016

I really did enjoy taking this course. The information that I received helped me to implement new ideas and concepts into my language classroom. It also made me stop to think "Why do I teach?" I think looking at your own personal motivation helps you to remember and develop a better strategy to use inside your language classroom.

By Derya G

Jul 16, 2020

Thanks for everything. All teachers around the world haven't same conditions especially advantage for developing themselves . But with this course all of us can have a lot of opportunity for improving and developing ourselves. You can be a teacher more than 20 years but there are lots of new things you can learn in this course.

By Christine L

Aug 15, 2016

This is an excellent course as an introduction to language teaching. Loved how the entire course was scaffolded and built upon very important language teaching techniques. I highly recommend this course for those interested in becoming a TESOL Instructor or as a review for teachers who are already teaching. I am very satisfied!!

By Irina S

May 8, 2021

Thank you, Dr. Shane Dixon, for the providing such fruitful and and inspirational materials and guidelines for the practicing teachers! I liked the metaphors that you employed for the language, the students and the teachers. I will use language taxonomy in the future. I’m looking forward to other courses of this specialization!

By Bhuvani G

Nov 13, 2019

Consistency is clearly visible in the way the lecture is structured and delivered. Use of Metaphor helped in understanding the terms even better. Peer-graded assignment challenges the learner in bringing out the best in them. Congratulations to the entire team for the effort and wishing them to keep doing in future. Thank you.

By Anna K

Sep 4, 2016

Thank you so much for this course! It was a wonderful path! Hope, I'll finish all the courses for TESOL certificate and will communicate with mentors not only as guides in teaching, but with experienced colleguages! As well as with classmates, it's great that we can create a network of ESL professionals! Thank you, Coursera!

By Irangi E

May 5, 2021

One of the best courses I have taken in my life! This course is concise, cohesive, engaging, and motivating. The instructors did exactly what they taught me: inspired learning with accessible, comprehensible, and usable knowledge. I wish I had these instructors when I started learning English as a second language! Thank you!

By lei c

Jul 17, 2017

I truly appreciate the comprehensive course . When I discovered this great online course and the convenience of it, I like to learn and teach the English language.I actually had fun taking this course.I especially appreciated the video lectures and written assignments. They helped me prepare for my future teaching endeavors

By Mart J

Aug 12, 2020

Great course! I loved every minute of it. The videos were great and I learned a lot about teaching that I didn't know before, or rather that I might have known but not paid much attention to. The passages and the videos made me more aware of my own teaching techniques and skills, especially where improvement is required.

By Noorzada K

Nov 17, 2020

I am so grateful for this course! I learn so much! All the video materials were short yet so useful, interesting, and enjoyable to study. All the quizzes and exercises helped me to check my progress and revise all the materials. Thanks to all the teachers and Arizona University for creating such an amazing online course!

By Alfredo M L

May 1, 2020

Comparing this to other TESOL programs, you're going to learn a lot! Watch the videos and do the work, they're only going to add towards your learning experience. What I absolutely like about this is that it really does take an effort to succeed in these courses, unlike the other websites with cheaper options. Thank you!

By Серова М М

Sep 22, 2019

It's a wonderful course for English teachers and people who want to become an English teacher. This course has a logical and understandable structure, interesting tasks. I've got a lot of interesting and useful information. I can apply the acquired knowledge in my work. It's sVery inspiring course. I like it very much.

By Kaye M

Sep 29, 2019

Very enlightening, and easy to follow. I've taught English to non-English speakers, and wish I'd had a course like this beforehand! Learned many helpful principles.

Was also quite encouraged to learn that (research shows!) that one can learn a new language at any age, provided you use effective acquisition techniques.

By Jessica I

Jan 2, 2019

Great course! The videos were done in such a way that made the information interesting to learn and easy to grasp. I really enjoyed how Dr. Dixon wasn't afraid to make himself look ridiculous to make meaning clear, as he teaches us to to. I also enjoyed the supplemental literature on the theories we were introduced to.

By Fan X

Feb 6, 2021

Thank you very much for the TESOL course provided by the University of Arizona, from which I have learned a lot of English knowledge. Moreover, I think I have made rapid progress in teaching, American pronunciation and spoken English in the past half month. I believe I will make more progresses in the following time.

By Sonia R A A

Jul 28, 2019

This was, hands down, the most motivating course I've ever taken! Its structure was clear, the assumptions made me reflect on many aspects of language teaching and the videos with the metaphors were simply delighting! I’m looking forward to start the second one of the series. I recommend it to all language teachers.

By Lhane A L G J

Dec 13, 2020

This course is excellent. It helped me learn, re-learn, and realize a multitude of things about teaching the English Language as an English Teacher here in the Philippines. I am excited to pursue the other three courses for this TESOL course with Arizona State University. Thank you so much. May God bless everyone!

By Marium A M

Apr 16, 2020

It is an amazing course that will provide a learner different strategies and ways to be a qualified teacher. All the instructors are so friendly in their teaching and use different metaphores to make the learning more interesting. I learned a lot of things. This course is really effective for the future teacher.

By David S B

Mar 7, 2016

I found the information presented in a very orderly fashion. The presenters communicated their ideas in a clear and fun fashion. It was good learning new techniques as well as being affirmed in what I have done in the way of teaching so far. I would highly recommend this course to anyone who is teaching language.

By Melike B C

May 27, 2021

This course gives a bright perspective for educational life. The instructors are fabulously sincere that you feel like in a classroom atmosphere and want to share your ideas with him/her. I have brushed up what I already knew and learnt new things. Thanks for all who provides this opportunity to me. Kind Regards.

By Luis D Q M

Oct 11, 2020

First of all, thank you very much for the course, it was very interesting, it made me reflect on many things, the scaffolding, it caught my attention, and how you can get help and experience from other colleagues, both in years and different techniques in addition to their points of view.

really language is fire.

By Konstantin U

Oct 10, 2018

Great! Thank you for creating this course. It's just what I needed at a time when I needed it. It's nice to see a high quality, engaging, substantial, fun and sincere TESOL/TEFL course, and I have already learned valuable information that I believe has made me a better instructor. Thank you! You guys are awesome!

By N N S R

Aug 7, 2016

I really enjoyed this course. The way Dr. Shane Dixon explained the subject is amazing. I learnt from him just like a child. Secondly, the course content is designed to the needs of English teachers. I would like to thank the course designers and teachers Dr. Shane Dixon, Ms.Jessica Sinco and Dr . Justin Shewell.

By Yulia N

Jun 17, 2017

Basic but extremely useful - this course help you to get the whole understanding of construction, organizational side of whole chain of 8 courses for Specialization and certificate. Also, it helps me to get used to it, distribute resources carefully. I like it very much, and this course motivates me to continue!

By Cindy E R

Feb 19, 2019

Vry happy to have signed up to this course, I found it to be very complete: I updated concepts I was already familiar with, learned new ones, shared input with other students taking the course, and enjoyed the positive, enthusiastic approach of the teachers. Looking forward to taking other coursework from them.