Chevron Left
Back to Teach English Now! Foundational Principles

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Teach English Now! Foundational Principles by Arizona State University

4.9
stars
14,674 ratings

About the Course

Through a series of engaging metaphors and stories, prospective and current EFL/ESL teachers will identify, summarize, and evaluate 7 basic language learning paradigms. Learners will be presented information on such foundational principles as motivation, risk taking, two different modes of learning, and balancing the teacher profession. Learners are also given an understanding of basic techniques founded on those principles, such as teacher talk, looking “ridiculous” in order to lower the affective filter, and networking. With these foundational principles in mind, ESL/EFL teachers will scrutinize common assumptions about language learning by comparing how they stack up to research-based core principles....
Highlights
Engaging instructors

(331 Reviews)

Interactive content

(104 Reviews)

Top reviews

JG

Invalid date

This is a very useful course as I begin my studies to prepare to teach English abroad. ASU is a recognized university and the price is very reasonable. I look forward to the next course in the series.

CR

Invalid date

Simply amazing. Loved every single minute of it. I feel myself a much better teacher, I’ve learnt how to see resources to give a better class as well as offer my students better practices of learning.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 5,044 Reviews for Teach English Now! Foundational Principles

By Judith C

Apr 7, 2021

This has been a fantastic little course and I felt very motivated to keep on doing it once I started, My head is full of the metaphors and snippets of information which made "the fundamentals" so much more memorable than dry theory or the same, old ESL teaching stuff you find online. I spent a month studying intensively for a CELTA qualification a couple of years ago and I can honestly say, I feel I have learned more useful information about actual teaching techniques and the needs of learners than I did in days of in-class time. I just loved the taxonomy summing up at the end which seemed almost poetic and left one with a strong metaphorical structure to start building a personal teaching philosophy on as it was hard to disagree with any of the points.

By Stéphanie S

Mar 5, 2021

This is the second certificate I do in the specialization "Teach English" now and, having completed various types of certificates on Coursera, I can assure you that was one of the best courses I have ever attended (I'm not even a teacher at the moment). I am a medical professional who has a deep interesting in communication, languages, teaching others and helping them understand hard concept so this course and specialization not only helps you in teaching others English but gives you didactic tools in general and tools to understand others. It even has a part on "self-care"/avoiding teacher burnout that anyone could use in any job that demands a high-level of self-investment in others. To all the wonderful teachers who created this course- THANK YOU.

By Alexandra M

Jun 17, 2020

Great course! I've always wanted to shift my career into teaching English language, but I've always been so intimidated (one reason is me being a non-native English speaker). I always felt that I wasn't cut out for the job. But getting through this course gave me the confidence and a push to go after what I really want. I must say, that it successfully enshrined the foundational principles that a teacher needs for teaching language. Even if this is an online course, even if I'm just watching the lessons from a small screen, Dr. Dixon's words really helped me lot in changing my perspective towards teaching profession. I just really hope I get to finish the whole course, and I look forward to where this might take me. Thank you so much!

By Paul O A

Sep 10, 2020

Wow!!!!! This is the most interesting course i have ever been privileged to receive. For me,from what i have experenced in this course,i can say in authority that,pursuing a course online is the most flexible and effective means of studies.I really enjoyed every module of the course.And my knowledge as a professional teacher has been deeply enhanced immensely.

The lecturers are very competent,efficient and effective in their fields.I wholeheartedly thank our affable,hardworking,and dedicated lecturers such as Dr Shane Dixon,Dr Andrea Haraway and the others who selflessly took us through this courrse successfully. It is my greatest wish that i could get privilege to complete the subsequent courses left successfully.

Thank you.

By Hina M

Jun 25, 2020

Hello everyone!

This is an absolutely fantastic course. The way all the basics are tied together makes this very important learning and brought varied aspects of teaching into proper focus. Though as someone who has been teaching English for a long time, I was aware of some of these techniques already, I have learnt a lot more in this course than I have in all those years. Dr. Shane Dixon's delivery is impeccable and so effective. It's motivating to hear that faculty as accomplished as Dr. Dixon and Andrea Haraway face these issues too. Anyone who takes joy and pride in teaching will benefit tremendously from this course. Thank you so much to everyone who has been part of putting together this course. Highly recommend!

By Maria_Samkova

Oct 16, 2017

I recommend this course to people who want to start or have just started the teaching career. The course is very encouraging. The metaphorical language used by professors facilitates understanding of the main teaching concepts and principles. I found metaphors of the week inspiring.

Suggested readings introduce the fundamentals of language learning and acquisition. Dr Krashen’s, Lev Vygotsky’s, and Bloom’s ideas are constantly retrieved thus easily acquired. Other readings contribute to understanding the teaching philosophy as well. At the end of the course I put together a list of effective teacher’s and learner’s techniques which I apply to task designing. I find my classes have more effective student engagement now.

By Volha D

Jun 11, 2023

Dear, Arisona State University and Coursera!

Thank you for that course Teach English now! Fundamental principles. That course provides

lots of most important information about both teaching and learning the language. I’ve known and understood the ways of motivation and engaging students. I’ve learned how to maintain control of a classroom and avoid teacher burnout. That course described me the distinction between learning and acquisition. I’ve learned how use technology to teachers’ advantage in the classroom. As an English teacher myself, I sincereLy hope that course help me to build my own work successfully. And I am looking forward to the next course to develop my own skills and experience. Thank you so much!

By Şükrü O Ç

Apr 24, 2020

Hi I am Onur and I just finished my first courseon the way to have ASU TESOL Professional certificate. Frankly speaking the content of the course is one of the best among the other related courses yet it has some pros and cons.

Pros:

Great metaphors that you can use in your class,

Everything was explained in a very friendly way,

You don't have to spend lots of time by studying,

You surely will find great paragraphs about language learning issues,

Cons:

Feedback system for assignments was not as I thought, so do not wait for any kind of authoritive feedback,

Questions in the quiz part should have been more difficult , many of them can be answered with a little information

You can be a fan of Mr. Dixon :)

By Gwen R

Jul 1, 2020

I very much enjoyed my first Teach English Now! course, and intend to continue with the next 7 courses to complete my TESOL Certificate. I think that, although I don't generally enjoy watching videos, the videos were short enough to keep my interest, and the content was excellent. I did not become bored or tune out, it felt like all of the content was relevant, and the sequencing of the material worked well for me. My general feeling was that I was learning a lot in a short time, and I felt quite motivated to continue making progress. I attribute part of that to my level of interest in the topic, and part to the presentation and delivery of the course. Excited to continue. Thanks very much!

By Robert D D

Aug 14, 2018

For weeks, I scoured the internet trying to find an online TESOL/TEFL certificate that met my needs and it felt overwhelming. Some of them were extremely cheap, some were fairly expensive, but very few were offered fully online and endorsed by an accredited university. I graduated college last year and the memory of how those online courses were structured was still fresh in my mind. I was overjoyed to feel right at home with not only the format but the quality of content. Dr. Dixon reminds of professors I had in college and seems so approachable with his silliness and yet you can tell he has so much to offer. This is only the first course but I feel very confident going forward.

By Kristen Y W

Mar 31, 2017

Dr. Shane Dixon, Jessica Cinco, and Dr. Justin Shewell make the course so fun and engaging that you almost feel that you are doing no work at all. They used metaphors and skits which made material which could have been boring and tedious, exciting and easy to remember. Non-native English speakers will find this course easy to follow, as the instructors do not speak too fast nor use advanced vocabulary where unnecessary. They present theory, but this course teaches on another level as you can see how the instructors themselves implement these theories in the way they teach you the course. It says that the course takes six weeks, but if you work hard you can finish it in one.

By Inna Z

Aug 16, 2018

I'm so grateful to the team of the Teach English Now! Foundational Principles. In fact I went through trial and error before I finally get an opportunity to study at the best structured and presented course ever! I had some really frustrating experience of studying in the teaching courses, which in fact didn't add anything to my teaching skills and they didn't motivate me to continue my development as a teacher. This course had a strong impact on my attitude towards this profession. And especially I would like to highlight the inspired style of presentation and a tremendous performance of Dr. Shane Dixon. Thank you very much for your contagious zest towards the profession!

By Theerapong K

Jun 11, 2023

This course is essential for teachers as it explores techniques to motivate and engage learners effectively. By presenting language in an enjoyable manner, using the metaphor of language as cake, teachers can increase student motivation. Through skits and practical examples, the course emphasizes the significance of improving teacher talk, scaffolding language, and utilizing body language to clarify meaning. These skills are crucial from the outset and play a pivotal role in helping learners understand and stay engaged. Strong presentation skills are vital for language teachers, making a significant difference in student comprehension and overall learning experience.

By John B

Sep 5, 2020

I found this an interesting course. I've been a language student myself for a number of years and very much this has taught me that knowing how to speak English and knowing how to teach English are two very different things. This has been a great "taster" to see whether teaching English to speakers of other languages could be something I am interested in pursuing professionally. I was initially a little scared regarding the peer review assignments, however I think this is a valuable way to consider aspects of an issue that I did not consider myself. Lastly, I also wonder if this course will help me become a better student myself - a definite unexpected benefit!

By M. C

Aug 19, 2018

This is a wonderful course that is clearly presented to help people who might already work as English Language Acquisition teachers or who are new to the field. Information is clearly presented through videos with supporting documents, as needed. There are regular checkpoints, peer-reviewed writing assignments that involve critically analyzing various teaching ideas, and quizzes that directly mirror any notes you have been taking from the course videos. The professors are fantastic and set a perfect tone for English Language Acquisition teachers to model. I was able to complete the first course in under a week and have moved on to the others in the series!

By Diana J K

Feb 19, 2018

I liked this course a lot. Dr. Shane does a great job of breaking down concepts with metaphors and stories from his own life as well as essays from his students. You can tell he genuinely loves teaching and his personality comes out in these lectures. He addresses not only how to teach effectively, but takes time to talk about you (the teacher), and the importance of a good work life balance. If I have one criticism of the course, it is that the weekly Essential Questions (mini essays or video responses) are graded on extremely loose criterion. However I understand that not everyone who takes this course is a native speaker. Thank you Coursera!

By Lanhui L

Jan 8, 2020

Really hands on course with great and unforgettable metaphors. Help to struct a picture of being a good teacher by introducing fundamental but crucial rules, e.g.being a camera to provide both focus mode and diffuse mode for learners, so that they can spend time in words and grammar while practicing what's being learnt in outside world. Taking learners' sentimental factors seriously to help build confidence etc.

Most of the time, we were only thinking about what to teach. With theories in this course, we got our own diffuse mode of teaching how to teach (how to stimulate) and how to teach them to be good with language learning strategies (LLS).

By Mason W

Jan 21, 2017

This is a wonderful and friendly course that, at any moment, seems relatively easy yet conveys a smart and sensible pedagogy to help students acquire a language. Each week's coursework lays out a simple metaphor, yet that chain of ideas leads to some very sensible ideas like how one shouldn't feed English to students the way one feeds corn to geese for paté, but, rather, that students should be motivated to teach themselves by immersing themselves in language communities. So this course was a lot of fun, yet in only a few weeks I've learned more about pedagogy than I did on a five-year English-teaching trip around the world.

By Christyn C

Oct 22, 2017

I have never enjoyed a course as much as I am this course! I am incredibly grateful for the opportunity to learn from professors that are so passionate about this field. I was expecting your typical college course where it's boring and non inclusive. This is seriously the best experience and I am having the time of my life! I've never felt so involved and inspired by a college course. This is not a passing feeling. It's taking root within me and something I will carry with me as I continue on my journey. Thank you so much for this course and....just the opportunity to be exposed to such amazing Drs./Professors!

By Merve T

Mar 10, 2022

First of all, thank you very much for giving me this excellent opportunity. This training is not only for those who want to teach English, but I think it is an education that everyone should receive. I learned a lot of things that I can use in my social life as well as my career life. Moreover, although we have received an education on language teaching, we can apply all these things we have learned on ourselves. I was really satisfied and I liked the trainers too. I wish we had the opportunity to meet face to face! Thanks ASU Team and Thanks Coursera. I hope I can get this opportunity for other trainings as well.

By Shaimaa E

May 7, 2020

I learnt a lot of things from This Course, It was very useful for me, Thanks to everyone who participated in preparing and presenting this course.

I'm grateful for everything that I learnt in this amazing course, no matter how hard I try to say how am I very thankful for everyone of you it won't be enough to describe how I feel, So thank you so much.

Special Thanks to Dr. Dixson you are the best teacher I ever have and I wish one day I could attend a live lecture with you, I learnt a lot from you and from first lesson to the last one of this course, there's a huge difference in my level as a teacher :) thank You

By Keena G

Jan 20, 2024

I want to extend my sincere appreciation for your assistance in enabling my participation in this course through the approval of my financial aid request. The learning journey has been incredibly enlightening, offering me valuable insights. Thank you as well to Dr. Shane for imparting his knowledge to us all. Beyond acquiring language skills, the course has underscored the importance of empathy and patience in the language learning process. Your support has played a crucial role in expanding my outlook, and I am genuinely grateful for the chance to embark on this significant educational experience.

By sharagim s

Dec 15, 2022

I never thought to take an online course... deep inside I didn't believe in online education... Prior to this course, I took a 2 months English course which I got to the realization that I had an unreasonable guard towards online learning.

This course has opened new doors to me and put me on the right track of learning and education. although it is online, but has pushed me and made me 24/7. I have been back on a great discipline life track.. not only I'm on the learning track, but also on a much better learning and discipline quality.

Thanks to Dr.Shane and Andrea.... hope to see you in person on day.

By Sruthi V

Aug 11, 2021

I am thoroughly grateful for this course. It has opened up different techniques and methods that I can adopt in my classes. It also helped me to understand what I could do to instill confidence and enhance learning in my students. I was also able to analyze few of the methods I adopt and make required changes. Wonderful presentations from Prof. Shane Dixon and Prof, Jessica Cinco. I really enjoyed Professor Shane's presentation on Audio Lingual Approach and Comprehension Approach and all the "Ängel" - "Devil" debates. Thanks to all working hands behind this course. You all indeed do a great service!

By Omar T

Feb 14, 2020

First of all, I would like to express my full gratitude to the professors who made this course. It was very insightful and interesting. I would recommend it to everyone who is willing to expand his or her knowledge about the profession of teaching a English. Second, I want to thank all of my classmates who helped me with a lot of ideas and didn't hesistate to share everything they know. Also, for reviewing my assignments. Finally, I want to say that I am very happy for completing this course, and I can't wait to complete the other courses related to the specialization of teaching English. Thank you!