Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Environmental Law and Policy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Environmental Law and Policy by The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

4.8
stars
2,738 ratings

About the Course

Environmental law may be the one institution standing between us and planetary exhaustion. It is also an institution that needs to be reconciled with human liberty and economic aspirations. This course considers these issues and provides a tour though existing legal regimes governing pollution, water law, endangered species, toxic substances, environmental impact analyses, and environmental risk. Note: The Environmental Law & Policy Course will close for new learner enrollment on February 22, 2019. Learners who have already enrolled will continue to see it on their Coursera Dashboard as long as they remain enrolled in the course. If you are currently enrolled in this course, please see the announcement sent on February 19, 2019, for additional details....

Top reviews

LT

Mar 26, 2022

Fantastic teacher and great content - loved the legal and policy discussions, as well as the international context. Would highly recommend for those interested in dipping their toes into the subject.

FA

Aug 10, 2020

Really great class. Covers all the main topics of environmental law. The Professor is very interesting, informative, and clear. A great introductory class for environmental topics in the legal realm.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 737 Reviews for Introduction to Environmental Law and Policy

By karthikeyan

Jan 12, 2016

The enthusiasm of Don was making it so easy to sit through any long lectures. And the interactive Q&A was helpful to understand concepts. Though I am not from the United States, this forms a very nice platform to understand legal systems. Thanks a lot

By Neps U

Dec 7, 2020

I am from the Philippines and I thank Prof. Hornstein for this meaningful opportunity. I learned many things from this course. I really appreciate it. I listened to all video lectures and this has been such an enjoyable journey. Thank you very much.

By Jezabel P

Jun 5, 2017

This is a great introductory class to Environmental Law and Policy. The professor is able to explain in great detail and in a digested format some of the most important rules and statues. The professor's passion for the law is fresh and contagious.

By Amin M a K a A M G

Sep 20, 2022

The course was very informative and I learned a lot from this course on Environmental Law and Policy. The professor kept us engaged and he was very informative. I would recommend this course to anyone interested in Environmental Law and Policy.

By Gracie C

Mar 5, 2021

This was one of the best courses I've taken on coursera. I'm a PhD student in material science with little knowledge of policy or law. These lectures were understandable yet detailed enough to very interesting. Keep making videos Dr. Hornstein!

By Helena H

Feb 16, 2021

Really interesting course and very engaging lecturer. Worth noting that the course is focused on a US Environmental Law perspective and is also slightly outdated (2015) but nevertheless, a really good introduction to environmental law and theory.

By Ezequiel G

Dec 5, 2015

It is a very good course, specially for people who wants to know more about, of course enviromental law, and comonn law system too. The teacher gives you a practical and interesting focus about cases and precedents dictaded by the US law system.

By Swetha

May 30, 2020

a very useful course as it concentrates on better understanding for beginners who have not learnt environmental law in law school. this surely gave me a very clear picture on what environment law is and explains all the laws so well. thank you.

By Sameh H

Dec 4, 2015

This course is a great resource in understanding the foundation of environmental law. It is a must for anyone who is interested in the incidents and reasons that led to the inception of many of the laws and Acts that govern today's operations.

By matias s

Apr 27, 2017

Un excelente curso, las lecciones muy bien explicadas por el profesor, el cual logra otorgar al alumno una excelente y detallada visión del sistema legal actual que rige sobre el medio ambiente. Altamente recomendado como curso introductorio.

By Eleanor C

Aug 14, 2016

Wonderful primer for activists, journalists, or anyone else needing to know a little more about the law and policy shaping our environmental stewardship in the U.S. Shows you the complexity of these things and adds depth to many news reports.

By Kari B

Jan 13, 2016

I really liked the structure of the lesson plan and the individual lectures. It is told almost like a story with parts for you to test your recall and understanding of the unfolding adventure. Really good course and very much worth the time.

By Mahima N

Jul 29, 2020

One of the very informative courses of Coursera. This course enhanced my knowledge on most of the environmental aspects as well as on common nuisance. I'm very grateful and privileged to have Mr. Don Hornstein as the teacher of this course.

By Paolo P A

Jan 7, 2018

Un excelente curso. Es tal como lo indica el profesor al final del curso. La objetivo de este no es enseñar artículo por artículo la normativa ambiental, sino como esta se aplica y opera actualmente. Un curso espectacular. Recomendado 100%

By Dipesh J

Sep 15, 2021

Professor Donald is outstanding. The way he explained the issues and the cases referred by him, made it very easy to understand the nuances of the environmental law. I would certainly recommend that the students of law take this course.

By Maria J I A

May 14, 2020

This course is very nice!! I enjoyed the fact that it presents real cases. The professor is energetic and I can feel how in love with his profession is, which makes the student feel interested in what he has to say in each video. Thanks!

By Beatriz B

Aug 4, 2020

Very well structured course, with a high level of theoretical explanations and excellent practical examples brought by Professor Donald Hornstein. Very didactic and cute. Thank you very much for the teachings, teacher! Hugs from Brazil

By Rosa E R M

Sep 18, 2017

I enjoyed this course very much. The teacher is great! Even though I'm in Mexico much of the information given will be helpful to try protect our natural resources against the predatory projects that increase on daily basis. Thank you.

By Oduor K K

Jan 25, 2019

Very interesting cases in this course. Being a lawyer I enjoyed reading the cases a lot. I was also able to learn the development of environmental jurisprudence in the US and I am sure the knowledge will assist me in future endeavors.

By Dr M S

Jun 24, 2020

Its excellent course to learn about environmental laws.Thank for coursera.

Special thenka for course Instructors.Their teaching is excellent

Dr.M.Sujatha

Associate Professor

KLUniversity.Andhra Pradesh,India

Email.id:sujatha7klu@gmail.com

By Virginia N C

Sep 11, 2020

Great course! It really gives you a view of the fundamental frameworks that design environmental law , from a complete National perspective (common law, statutes and policy) but also from an international view. Highly recommended.

By RICHA S

Jun 15, 2020

The Course was enlightening in light of the circumstances that we live in and the scenarios worldwide and learning them from a learned professor who managed to make it as interesting and easy as possible was an additional benefit.

By SURABHI A P

Mar 11, 2021

Beautiful and easy explanation of all topics. Loved the way it was taught and presented. It was a completely new topic for me, but now I feel nice to know so much more and in-depth information about Environmental Law and Policy.

By Marianne

Sep 25, 2020

This is the BEST Coursera (or any other free online class) class I've taken. The instructor is fabulous, interesting videos and challenging quizzes, plus a neat research assignment at the end. Wish I could take more like this!

By Romilola A

Jul 16, 2020

I really enjoyed my journey in this course because of the large amount of real and practical examples that he gave, the lecturers definitely brought this otherwise perceived difficult course and broke it down to simpler bits