Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Environmental Law and Policy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Environmental Law and Policy by The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

4.9
stars
2,191 ratings
638 reviews

About the Course

Environmental law may be the one institution standing between us and planetary exhaustion. It is also an institution that needs to be reconciled with human liberty and economic aspirations. This course considers these issues and provides a tour though existing legal regimes governing pollution, water law, endangered species, toxic substances, environmental impact analyses, and environmental risk. Note: The Environmental Law & Policy Course will close for new learner enrollment on February 22, 2019. Learners who have already enrolled will continue to see it on their Coursera Dashboard as long as they remain enrolled in the course. If you are currently enrolled in this course, please see the announcement sent on February 19, 2019, for additional details....

Top reviews

FA
Aug 10, 2020

Really great class. Covers all the main topics of environmental law. The Professor is very interesting, informative, and clear. A great introductory class for environmental topics in the legal realm.

MS
Jun 2, 2020

Really great class. Covers all the main topics of environmental law. The Professor is very interesting, informative, and clear. A great introductory class for environmental topics in the legal realm.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 630 Reviews for Introduction to Environmental Law and Policy

By John Z

Dec 19, 2015

I enjoyed the course and especially enjoyed Donald Hornstein's teaching style - upbeat, dynamic, funny at times and interesting always. I actually looked forward to each lesson throughout the course. Thanks...

By angelina c

Apr 19, 2021

Prof. Hornstein was extremely engaging, very knowledgeable and passionate about the topic. Highly recommended for anyone interested in environmental advocacy or further legal education about the environment.

By Sleptsova V N

Sep 27, 2020

Great and informative course. Thank you a lot Donald Hornstein you are a wonderful teacher who give an information clearly and positively. It was a pleasure to listen to you and the material you were sharing!

By Patricio A

Nov 17, 2020

An exceptional course, with good material, didactic.

He has a great professor in charge, as well as a lot of jurisprudence vital to understand the environmental conflict, causes and solutions made by the USA.

By Jessica B

Jun 26, 2020

Very interesting course, I knew nothing about law before doing this course but my studies are focused n the environment and climate change. It was good to get a law based perspective on environmental issues

By Travis C S

Oct 17, 2016

The teacher is so fun and the course was very informative. I actually cared about not only the content, which had me interested in the first place, but how it was presented, and I learned a lot. Thank you.

By Abdul R

Dec 20, 2020

the course content and instructor were both amazing. Professor is an expert in both of his fields. the course definitely improved my understanding of the concept of law and policy in environmental regime.

By Adesh K M

Feb 10, 2019

It was a very nice course which teaches about various environmental laws and policies. Sir Donald Hornstein tells each type of case study very detailed and you as a student get to know various new things.

By Cait W

May 2, 2021

Great introduction to how environmental legislation comes about, and mentalities and common concerns about applying environmental law. Very focused on legislation in the USA, but still a solid overview.

By Elizabeth V

Oct 13, 2017

excellent course. great videos, excellent readings. This was fantastic. It makes me want to change my career path to study environmental law. I loved it. thanks for making this so easy to understand and

By Amanda M

Dec 8, 2015

Great course. Really enjoyed this introduction to environmental law and policy. Many issues and concepts were covered and the professor delivered the content in a interesting and well structured manner.

By Sharon D M

Sep 25, 2015

Excellent overview, interesting presenter (passionate about subject, knowledgeable and entertaining) and well organized in content. I would strongly recommend to anyone interested in environmental law.

By Kim G

Oct 16, 2016

For a $49 course through UNC - the teaching was stellar and very informative! This course is a great supplemental course for anyone with a environmental science or even meteorology degree, like myself!

By Margerie S

Jun 2, 2020

Really great class. Covers all the main topics of environmental law. The Professor is very interesting, informative, and clear. A great introductory class for environmental topics in the legal realm.

By Takayuki U

Nov 7, 2015

I was very satisfied with this course because it described the system and policy regarding Environmental Law in U.S., and provided the relationship between the current law and conventional nuisance.

By Casandra L F

Jun 11, 2017

I really enjoyed this course. The topics discussed were relevant to today and the tutor maintained my interest throughout. I will definitely do other courses with this tutor, once relevant to me.

By Nathan S

Apr 4, 2018

Professor Hornstein made the information clear and relevant to the students. His method of using polls during the videos helped to make the learning more dynamic and interactive, even digitally.

By Katherine S

Oct 22, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and the professor's ability to eloquently describe different aspects in (environmental) law in an understandable way. I'll have to continue to take more courses!

By Harsh M

Jun 12, 2020

This course is a great introduction to positive environmental law. The only area that I think that there could be room for improvement on is that I wish that there were more written assignments.

By Kafando L

May 14, 2021

it is a great course and learning it has broadened my scope about laws governing the environment.

I must also say that I really enjoyed the facilitator throughout the course.

Great job done, Sir.

By Isaac R

Jan 24, 2021

Very interesting and informative course. Professor Hornstein made the course entertaining and at the same time, you see the importance of environmental laws. I definitely recommend this course.

By Lakshman S

Aug 9, 2020

Excellent course! Introduces the learners the wonderful world of environmental law - both conceptually and technically. Very well-paced and excellent compilation of cases from across the world.

By Letsiwe T D

Aug 4, 2020

Prof. Don Hornstein is one of the best professors I've had the priviledge of being taught by. I enjoyed his teaching style and course content immensely. Thank you so much for this opportunity.

By Samir B

May 13, 2020

A very useful course. Although basic, but very very stimulating. I have downloaded a few books on environmental Law and want to go deeper, explore more and probably do a regular course later.

By Irem Y

May 2, 2021

I've learned a lot and enjoyed every case which was discussed during the lectures. I feel privileged to be able to participate in the course and honoured to have completed it. Much obliged!