Chevron Left
Back to Epidemiology in Public Health Practice

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Epidemiology in Public Health Practice by Johns Hopkins University

4.6
422 ratings
99 reviews

About the Course

Epidemiology is often described as the cornerstone science in public health. Epidemiology in public health practice uses study design and analyses to identify causes in an outbreak situation, guides interventions to improve population health, and evaluates programs and policies. In this course, we'll define the role of the professional epidemiologist as it relates to public health services, functions, and competencies. With that foundation in mind, we'll introduce you to the problem solving methodology and demonstrate how it can be used in a wide variety of settings to identify problems, propose solutions, and evaluate interventions. This methodology depends on the use of reliable data, so we'll take a deep dive into the routine and public health data systems that lie at the heart of epidemiology and then conclude with how you can use that data to calculate measures of disease burden in populations....

Top reviews

CJ

Feb 25, 2019

This was an excellent short course providing valuable resources and practice components to become more familiar with the calculations\n\nI would definitely recommend this course. Thank you

MW

Sep 13, 2017

Great course! I learned a lot about epidemiology in public health practice. The examples and exercises were really helpful in understanding how to apply what you learn.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 96 Reviews for Epidemiology in Public Health Practice

By Zhikuan Q

May 11, 2019

This course is an excellent intro-course to epidemiology in public health practice.

By chidi c I

May 13, 2019

just want to thank John Hopkins university/coursera for the opportunity given to me to study.

By Martina J

May 07, 2019

Excellent!!!

By Annabelle W

May 09, 2019

Relevant and incredibly useful, well presented too. A little US-specific but nonetheless applicable elsewhere.

By Ankita J

Feb 04, 2019

simple and understandable

By alejandro i

Dec 14, 2018

Excelente

By Manvendra S R

Feb 11, 2019

Excellent Course for those who wants to work in Public Health

By dominico o

Feb 12, 2019

a

By VARDHIPARTHI S S

Feb 23, 2019

Thank you

By Christine J

Feb 25, 2019

This was an excellent short course providing valuable resources and practice components to become more familiar with the calculations

I would definitely recommend this course. Thank you

By Marina B M

Feb 27, 2019

Me encantó, es un buen curso introductorio a la salud pública. Te permite comprender los conceptos básicos con excelentes ejemplos. Es muy rápido pero te brinda material por si quieres profundizar.

By MUHAMMAD U A

Mar 13, 2019

good very informative system

By Marvellous O E

Mar 14, 2019

Excellent

By Julia S

Mar 20, 2019

This course helped me to understand the complexity of the role of the epidemiologist in society and specifically public health.

By Esraa E E M A

Mar 01, 2019

it was a great experience, i gained a lot of information and techniques in epidemiology

By Asmaa M

Mar 25, 2019

great course very informative and I really enjoyed the course .

By Carla C

Nov 28, 2018

It was nice to learn more about epidemiology and how to apply it in public health. Thank your for the learning and each activity. It was really nice.

By Ahmed A T A

Apr 09, 2019

thank you for all things i learnt all things about Epidemiology.

By Inegbedion L O

Jan 25, 2019

great course with a fantastic instructor

By FRAL O O

Jul 13, 2018

This course is an eye opener to public health experts who operate as jack-of-all-trade,especially on the department od disease surveillance. so wonderful.

By Wahid Y

Jul 23, 2018

Great Course

By Uchenna O

Jul 30, 2018

Great course, if you are Pub health aspirant or worker

By Eleanor G

Mar 03, 2018

Helpful intro class