Chevron Left
Back to Epidemiology: The Basic Science of Public Health

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Epidemiology: The Basic Science of Public Health by The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

4.6
stars
3,586 ratings
979 reviews

About the Course

Often called “the cornerstone” of public health, epidemiology is the study of the distribution and determinants of diseases, health conditions, or events among populations and the application of that study to control health problems. By applying the concepts learned in this course to current public health problems and issues, students will understand the practice of epidemiology as it relates to real life and makes for a better appreciation of public health programs and policies. This course explores public health issues like cardiovascular and infectious diseases – both locally and globally – through the lens of epidemiology....

Top reviews

N
Apr 11, 2020

Very clear teaching strategies from the instructors. Some quizzes though are a little bit hard on my part because of the type of questions and answers. But overall it is a great course to take with.

A
May 30, 2020

I just completed my course and I would like to appreciate the tutors for doing a great job, yeah! Also, I recommend Coursera for anyone who wants to experience advancement in knowledge and career.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 963 Reviews for Epidemiology: The Basic Science of Public Health

By vivek s

Sep 29, 2019

I liked the course very much. Within no time I was able to add epidemilogy skills to my list of skills. Thank you very much professors for your time.

Best,

Vivek

By Fran B

Feb 7, 2016

This covers a lot but in a clear and manageable fashion. Really impressed to find this available, just wish there were more public health courses on Coursera!

By Lina E P S

Oct 19, 2015

Excelente curso, en ocasiones el material puede ser un poco denso pero para eso se puede detener el video y retomar. Es muy bueno que dejen material adicional.

By Victor C

Jun 24, 2020

Excellent Tutorial, Video , Presentation and reading Material. Could never get this kind of training elsewhere . Thanks to the Presenters for an excellent job

By Rhoda K

Jun 2, 2020

I appreciate the idea of this course. I found it's usefulness and relevance with Nutrition. Public health Nutrition is Definitely what i would love to explore

By Marco M

Mar 2, 2016

Amazing and simple introduction to epidemiology! The additional resources resume the information very well and facilitate reviewing the content of the course

By Prerna C H

Jul 7, 2020

The course covered the epidemiology concepts with examples. The explanation was lucid . Very good 👍 course for getting introduced to public health domain.

By OGINNI T I

Jun 19, 2017

It is an eye opener. It is worth the while. I am so happy i took the course and i recommend it for starters in the field of epidemiology and public health.

By ezgi t

Apr 28, 2020

This course gave me a great basic knowledge before entering this area. lessons are really clear and additional documents perfectly summarize the subjects.

By Ada A

Mar 16, 2019

Very interesting and educative. Well done to the two beautiful tutors, you sure made it interesting. Looking forward to more interesting courses with you.

By Dr. B K

Sep 9, 2020

Though I have studied this course in my master course, this course really increased the insight on epidemiology. I learned many things and enjoyed a lot

By Catherine L

Apr 14, 2020

Very challenging introduction to Epidemiology. The tests were very thought provoking but fair. I am interested in completing more courses in this field.

By Tyana M

Oct 12, 2020

Thank you so much for this opportunity! As a current student, studying towards a BS degree in Public Health at ECU, this curriculum was very rewarding.

By deepa d s

May 10, 2020

First of all i would like to thank our course instructors i have learnt more things from this course and it is very useful to me thank you so much mam.

By VICTOR M B P

Jun 7, 2020

Excellent.If Epidemiology is not your main field,this is the point to begin.It teaches precisely the basics needed to understand Epidemiology science.

By Yudi P

Apr 11, 2020

I love this course about their explanation about epidemiology, but the quiz is very hard! If you love a challenge, this course may be perfect for you.

By Jared C

Oct 22, 2020

This was a good and comprehensive introduction to epidemiology and has absolutely provided a good knowledge base for further learning in the field.

By Feyikemi L A

May 29, 2020

The course is a wonderful opportunity to learn at your own convenience, it requires some determination and tenacity but it is worth all the effort.

By Kathryn R

Sep 28, 2019

This course provided a very clear and helpful introduction to epidemiology. I particularly liked the explanation about how to establish causality.

By Christine Z G

May 30, 2020

I'm here for a refresher on epidemiology during this COVID-19 pandemic and this course tackled almost everything we discussed in class. Thank you!

By Lucas d L S e S

May 10, 2021

A great course for those who wants to know more about epidemiology and for those who wants to test or revise something that might have forgotten.

By Mary J A

May 6, 2020

I have to admit that this course is quite difficult especially the first two weeks. However, I can't deny that I really learned a lot. Thank you!

By Carly S

Aug 28, 2015

Thank very much for all the information and lectures shared. It was a very helpful course to get into public health.

Best regards!

Karina Vázquez.

By Shaoni S

Sep 5, 2020

The explanations in this course were excellent. Nothing was difficult to understand and the quizzes were especially good for critical thinking.

By Roque B P

May 20, 2020

Enrolling in this online course not only adds to my knowledge but also equipped me with the right mindset and preparation for my future career.