Chevron Left
Back to Epigenetic Control of Gene Expression

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Epigenetic Control of Gene Expression by The University of Melbourne

4.8
stars
733 ratings
205 reviews

About the Course

While the human genome sequence has transformed our understanding of human biology, it isn’t just the sequence of your DNA that matters, but also how you use it! How are some genes activated and others are silenced? How is this controlled? The answer is epigenetics. Epigenetics has been a hot topic for research over the past decade as it has become clear that aberrant epigenetic control contributes to disease (particularly to cancer). Epigenetic alterations are heritable through cell division, and in some instances are able to behave similarly to mutations in terms of their stability. Importantly, unlike genetic mutations, epigenetic modifications are reversible and therefore have the potential to be manipulated therapeutically. It has also become clear in recent years that epigenetic modifications are sensitive to the environment (for example diet), which has sparked a large amount of public debate and research. This course will give an introduction to the fundamentals of epigenetic control. We will examine epigenetic phenomena that are manifestations of epigenetic control in several organisms, with a focus on mammals. We will examine the interplay between epigenetic control and the environment and finally the role of aberrant epigenetic control in disease. All necessary information will be covered in the lectures, and recommended and required readings will be provided. There are no additional required texts for this course. For those interested, additional information can be obtained in the following textbook. Epigenetics. Allis, Jenuwein, Reinberg and Caparros. Cold Spring Harbour Laboratory Press. ISBN-13: 978-0879697242 | Edition: 1 The course will re-open in 2022....

Top reviews

NN
Aug 1, 2021

This is the best course on coursera, 10/10. I wish it was longer and I could take it all over again. you will need background knowledge for this course but it is an amazing course and I will miss it.

MM
Oct 1, 2018

This was an excellent course. All the material was well presented and the explanation of the sometimes complex subject matter was clear and understandable. Thank you for an great learning experience.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 201 Reviews for Epigenetic Control of Gene Expression

By Julia S S d S

May 22, 2020

This course is perfect! The teacher makes epigenetics seem easy, the lectures are very clarifying. I would recommend it to everyone!

By Marija R

Dec 24, 2016

An interesting course delivered in an excellent manner, with a challenging material being explained in a way that is easy to grasp.

By Susana V L

Oct 25, 2021

High quality course with cutting edge content. Well explained and assessments are the right level of difficulty. Recommended.

By elsa r

Nov 26, 2020

very well taught course! Dr Marnie definitely masters this subject and passes her knowledge on in such a simple and fun way!

By BCM R

Jul 8, 2019

This is one of the best courses in terms of science. The depth and breadth of epigenetics are well illustrated and explained.

By Mohamed A S

Aug 25, 2016

Excellent course and i can say one of the best courses when it comes gene expression and i wanna thank to Dr. Marnie Blewitt

By Cristy T B

May 15, 2020

The teaching system used is very complete and all the time keep your interest. You are satisfied with what you have learn.

By VIVEK G

Jul 4, 2018

One of the best courses I have been through. I have only one suggestion to include retrotransposons in cancer in details.

By Graciela E C A

May 6, 2020

The classes were easy to understand and the information was well-provided. I enjoyed this course and learnt a lot.

By Kuanysh S

Sep 20, 2017

In my opinion, everyone who really wish to understand the most steps of gene regulation should take this course.

By Barbara F

May 13, 2020

Excellent course. Interesting topic amazingly explained by Dr. Blewitt! I would definitely recommend it!

By Ritesh K

May 25, 2017

Very well explained. Those working on epigenetics or have interest in the subject should do this course.

By Aminta H M

Nov 22, 2020

I love it. The explanation of the topics is clear and I learned details more precise about the process.

By Bryan E

Jun 22, 2020

The content is good, but the teacher and its way of teaching are in another level! Totally recommended!

By Erin F

Sep 19, 2019

Incredibly challenging but equally rewarding. A must for any and all interested in health and biology!

By Narendra v

Feb 23, 2019

Its really a fascinating course to learn epigenetics, all classes and materials were really helpful

By Inês D R

Dec 20, 2017

Great course! The contents were extremely interesting and all the lectures were wonderfully taught.

By Peter C

May 25, 2020

Very thorough and comprehensive course. Lots of details, complex subject matter clearly explained.

By Коткова М А

Nov 23, 2020

A well-structured course that provides reasonably deep information. It takes time and commitment.

By Priscilla O

May 3, 2016

Love this course. I don't have enough time to devote to it but I still get a lot out of it.

By adel

Apr 6, 2017

it's very interesting and very helpful to provide at least a database of the epigentics

By Niharika B

Mar 27, 2016

very well planned course. It makes the student want to pursue epigenetics for a career

By Susan C M

Jan 5, 2018

Fantastic! Incredibly informative.

I have been so busy- but i am always drawn back!

By Barbara J

Nov 27, 2019

This is one of the most difficult and the most helpful courses I have ever taken.

By Liz

Jul 19, 2019

Fantastic! Genes are a whole other universe of their own. I want to learn more.