Chevron Left
Back to Epigenetic Control of Gene Expression

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Epigenetic Control of Gene Expression by The University of Melbourne

4.8
stars
752 ratings

About the Course

While the human genome sequence has transformed our understanding of human biology, it isn’t just the sequence of your DNA that matters, but also how you use it! How are some genes activated and others are silenced? How is this controlled? The answer is epigenetics. Epigenetics has been a hot topic for research over the past decade as it has become clear that aberrant epigenetic control contributes to disease (particularly to cancer). Epigenetic alterations are heritable through cell division, and in some instances are able to behave similarly to mutations in terms of their stability. Importantly, unlike genetic mutations, epigenetic modifications are reversible and therefore have the potential to be manipulated therapeutically. It has also become clear in recent years that epigenetic modifications are sensitive to the environment (for example diet), which has sparked a large amount of public debate and research. This course will give an introduction to the fundamentals of epigenetic control. We will examine epigenetic phenomena that are manifestations of epigenetic control in several organisms, with a focus on mammals. We will examine the interplay between epigenetic control and the environment and finally the role of aberrant epigenetic control in disease. All necessary information will be covered in the lectures, and recommended and required readings will be provided. There are no additional required texts for this course. For those interested, additional information can be obtained in the following textbook. Epigenetics. Allis, Jenuwein, Reinberg and Caparros. Cold Spring Harbour Laboratory Press. ISBN-13: 978-0879697242 | Edition: 1 The course will re-open in 2022....

Top reviews

MM

Oct 1, 2018

This was an excellent course. All the material was well presented and the explanation of the sometimes complex subject matter was clear and understandable. Thank you for an great learning experience.

NN

Aug 1, 2021

This is the best course on coursera, 10/10. I wish it was longer and I could take it all over again. you will need background knowledge for this course but it is an amazing course and I will miss it.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 205 Reviews for Epigenetic Control of Gene Expression

By Mukund K

May 10, 2016

Absolutely amazing experience! Every week was very captivating . Focus is on concepts and assignments test the understanding of them. Thank you Dr. Blewitt!!

By Bettina H

May 2, 2017

The course was great! I did not know much about epigenetics beforehand and now I feel like I could have an informed conversation. My curiosity was awakend

By Anshit S

May 24, 2020

Wonderful course. Dr. Marnie Blewitt has marvelously explained Epigenetics as a concept to every student. Will definitely help me in my future research!

By Lorenzo T I

May 19, 2020

A knowledge-packed course highly recommended for those who want to deepen his/her knowledge of the epigenetic machinery in eukaryotic cells.

By Muhammad F N

Feb 23, 2020

A great course for students of biotechnology and bioinformatics. I wish i could study in such university by the great respectable teachers.

By Luca B

Oct 25, 2021

Great course and great teacher! Highly recommended to whom is interested to understand more about the machanisms behind gene expression!

By Ignacio S

Sep 17, 2018

If somebody bilieves tis course is gonna be an easy one, is wrong. Very detailed, well organized, clever questions. It makes you think.

By Kasturika S

Dec 24, 2017

This is an awesome course which provides intriguing yet interesting insights in epigenetics and gene regulation as well as expression!!

By Todor G

Aug 7, 2017

One of the best course on Coursera on this topic for experts and not so. Thanks a lot and I'll be glad to see follow up on the subject.

By Julia S S d S

May 22, 2020

This course is perfect! The teacher makes epigenetics seem easy, the lectures are very clarifying. I would recommend it to everyone!

By Marija R

Dec 24, 2016

An interesting course delivered in an excellent manner, with a challenging material being explained in a way that is easy to grasp.

By Susana V L

Oct 25, 2021

High quality course with cutting edge content. Well explained and assessments are the right level of difficulty. Recommended.

By elsa r

Nov 26, 2020

very well taught course! Dr Marnie definitely masters this subject and passes her knowledge on in such a simple and fun way!

By BCM R

Jul 8, 2019

This is one of the best courses in terms of science. The depth and breadth of epigenetics are well illustrated and explained.

By Mohamed A S

Aug 25, 2016

Excellent course and i can say one of the best courses when it comes gene expression and i wanna thank to Dr. Marnie Blewitt

By Cristy T B

May 15, 2020

The teaching system used is very complete and all the time keep your interest. You are satisfied with what you have learn.

By VIVEK G

Jul 4, 2018

One of the best courses I have been through. I have only one suggestion to include retrotransposons in cancer in details.

By Graciela E C A

May 6, 2020

The classes were easy to understand and the information was well-provided. I enjoyed this course and learnt a lot.

By Kuanysh S

Sep 20, 2017

In my opinion, everyone who really wish to understand the most steps of gene regulation should take this course.

By Barbara F

May 13, 2020

Excellent course. Interesting topic amazingly explained by Dr. Blewitt! I would definitely recommend it!

By Deleted A

May 25, 2017

Very well explained. Those working on epigenetics or have interest in the subject should do this course.

By Aminta H M

Nov 22, 2020

I love it. The explanation of the topics is clear and I learned details more precise about the process.

By Bryan E

Jun 22, 2020

The content is good, but the teacher and its way of teaching are in another level! Totally recommended!

By Erin F

Sep 19, 2019

Incredibly challenging but equally rewarding. A must for any and all interested in health and biology!

By Narendra v

Feb 23, 2019

Its really a fascinating course to learn epigenetics, all classes and materials were really helpful