Chevron Left
Back to Econometrics: Methods and Applications

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Econometrics: Methods and Applications by Erasmus University Rotterdam

4.6
stars
1,057 ratings
233 reviews

About the Course

Welcome! Do you wish to know how to analyze and solve business and economic questions with data analysis tools? Then Econometrics by Erasmus University Rotterdam is the right course for you, as you learn how to translate data into models to make forecasts and to support decision making. * What do I learn? When you know econometrics, you are able to translate data into models to make forecasts and to support decision making in a wide variety of fields, ranging from macroeconomics to finance and marketing. Our course starts with introductory lectures on simple and multiple regression, followed by topics of special interest to deal with model specification, endogenous variables, binary choice data, and time series data. You learn these key topics in econometrics by watching the videos with in-video quizzes and by making post-video training exercises. * Do I need prior knowledge? The course is suitable for (advanced undergraduate) students in economics, finance, business, engineering, and data analysis, as well as for those who work in these fields. The course requires some basics of matrices, probability, and statistics, which are reviewed in the Building Blocks module. If you are searching for a MOOC on econometrics of a more introductory nature that needs less background in mathematics, you may be interested in the Coursera course “Enjoyable Econometrics” that is also from Erasmus University Rotterdam. * What literature can I consult to support my studies? You can follow the MOOC without studying additional sources. Further reading of the discussed topics (including the Building Blocks) is provided in the textbook that we wrote and on which the MOOC is based: Econometric Methods with Applications in Business and Economics, Oxford University Press. The connection between the MOOC modules and the book chapters is shown in the Course Guide – Further Information – How can I continue my studies. * Will there be teaching assistants active to guide me through the course? Staff and PhD students of our Econometric Institute will provide guidance in January and February of each year. In other periods, we provide only elementary guidance. We always advise you to connect with fellow learners of this course to discuss topics and exercises. * How will I get a certificate? To gain the certificate of this course, you are asked to make six Test Exercises (one per module) and a Case Project. Further, you perform peer-reviewing activities of the work of three of your fellow learners of this MOOC. You gain the certificate if you pass all seven assignments. Have a nice journey into the world of Econometrics! The Econometrics team...

Top reviews

DT
Feb 13, 2020

Course was very well structured, pacing was very pleasant (albeit a little fast for the chapter about time series). Teachers were top notch! I had lots of fun while learning . Thank you!

JJ
Nov 15, 2015

The design of the course is very Helpful and efficient. The course is well explained. The instructors are very clear and master the subject. They very detailed and well organized.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 226 Reviews for Econometrics: Methods and Applications

By quangngu

Jan 21, 2019

There was a drastic increase in difficulty in week 6 and 7 from the rest of the course.

By James Z

Feb 10, 2017

Lecture materials are very rich and well organized.

By Christian H

Nov 19, 2016

It is a good course, but a bit short in my opinion

By Upmanyu B

Feb 22, 2016

Awesome, helped me alot! Thanks MOOC cordinatiors.

By gao f

Nov 23, 2016

many mistakes in the exercise solutions

By Alfonso B M

May 20, 2019

Great. Applied knowledge focus.

By Nikhil K

Apr 5, 2020

Less practicals involved

By Anh N

May 20, 2016

Excellent Course!

By ayushman g

Dec 8, 2015

nicely explained.

By Mooraha U

Feb 20, 2020

With this course, I have definitely expanded my horizon of knowledge. Having completed it, I feel accomplished. At the same time, looking back, there was not clue that more than probability and statistics knowledge is needed - one has to be already familiar with econometrics and modeling. The learning curve is very steep and lectures are describing on the high-level scope of the further reading to be done to be able to solve assignments. Having technical background, I felt very much behind - just until the time when I found some relevant information in the lecture notes on Advanced Econometrics for PhD students. There should be a warning about such prerequisites!

By Murray S

Oct 5, 2020

I was somewhat disappointed with the quality of the solutions to the test exercises and the case project, which were handwritten and provided little in the way of further guidance about the solutions. I would have expected a more polished product. I think the course might also benefit from providing suggestions for further reading on certain subject or links to online resources that the student could refer to.

By Xuetao H

Jan 24, 2016

This course will be a good revision if you have known the models before taking it. But if you are new to the models, you may not really understand them. This course tells you which models to use and how to implement, but does not tell you the rationale behind (maybe the theories are too difficult).

The teaching staff are really helpful and answer every question you raise in the discussion forum.

By Ambarish A

Aug 12, 2020

The content is above average but the instructors are below average. Content is delivered in boring monologues. Also, as the presentations of the course contain little information, advice the instructors to create course lecture notes (documents) to help learners review the contents.

By Tommy L

Dec 16, 2019

The proofs aren't as clear as I wish they were. Lacks a lot of explanation and a lot of practice questions in between are from those proofs which gets hard

By Wadia A

Oct 5, 2017

Generally speaking , I have to say that it is good course , I learned many things. More explanation should be provided for some concepts.

By Sarah R

Jan 5, 2016

Some of the terminology doesn't seem congruent with what we use in North America

By David E R A

Sep 27, 2019

Realmente se necesita la traducción de los cursos

By Adam M

Dec 21, 2019

Grading of assignments takes WAY too long.

By Stan M

Feb 15, 2021

dropped

By Paolo M

Dec 12, 2017

The members of faculty participating in this MOOC seem to be knowledgeable of the material, but the presentation lack content. The whole course seems as an outline , rather than a actual course by itself. Needs more core material, not suitable for someone looking to complement or starting fresh in the topic.

By nishant

Jul 9, 2017

I noticed that during video , professor ask test questions and that test question is asked before the professor explains that part. This is irrelevant. How a student can answer that question without any prior knowledge.

By Filipe F

May 17, 2021

Wasn't great. the content was loosely and poorly explained. The suggested textbook isn't spectacular either. The assignment solutions have awful handwritten slides.

By gregio d

Feb 4, 2021

the explanations are not clear.

The solution of assignments almost absent.

It is fine only if you already know the matter and need to obtain a certification

By Abdulaziz A

Feb 25, 2021

excel has a lot of equations already implemented , the course doens't show how we use it. i don't need to memorize the formulas.

By Dean V

Feb 12, 2021

Very disappointing because really a class in mathematical proofs.