Chevron Left
Back to Essentials of Global Health

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Essentials of Global Health by Yale University

4.8
stars
1,626 ratings
378 reviews

About the Course

Essentials of Global Health is a comprehensive introduction to global health. It is meant to introduce you to this topic in well-structured, clear and easy to understand ways. Much of the course will focus on five questions: What do people get sick, disabled and die from; Why do they suffer from these conditions? Which people are most affected? Why should we care about such concerns? What can be done to address key health issues, hopefully at least cost, as fast as possible, and in sustainable ways? The course will be global in coverage but with a focus on low- and middle-income countries, the health of the poor, and health disparities. Particular attention will be paid throughout the course to health systems issues, the linkages between health and development, and health matters related to global interdependence. The course will cover key concepts and frameworks but be practical in orientation. ESSENTIALS OF GLOBAL HEALTH WAS PRODUCED IN PART DUE TO THE GENEROUS FUNDING OF THE DAVID F. SWENSEN FUND FOR INNOVATION IN TEACHING. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Course Learning Objectives By the end of the course, learners should be able to: • Articulate key public health concepts related to global health; • Analyze the key issues in global health from a number of perspectives; • Discuss with confidence the burden of disease in various regions of the world; how it varies by sex, age, and location; key risk factors for this burden; and how the disease burden can be addressed in cost-effective ways; • Assess key health disparities, especially as they relate to the health of low-income and marginalized people in low- and middle-income countries; • Outline the key actors and organizations in global health and the manner in which they cooperate to address critical global health concerns; • Review key global health challenges that are likely to arise in the coming decades. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Value Added of the Course The course seeks to add special value by being comprehensive, by handling each topic in a consistent framework, and by helping learners gain an understanding of well grounded approaches to assessing global health issues and what can be done to address them. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- The Readings and other materials for Essentials of Global Health For almost every session of Essentials of Global Health, you will see: - Required readings - Recommended readings - Recommended videos We have selected a small number of readings for each session that are central to understanding the content of the session. We have put these under “required readings”. For each required reading, we have also indicated how carefully you should read the material and on what parts of the material you should focus your attention. In addition, we have selected some additional readings that would be very helpful to your understanding the content of each session. The first is a textbook, Global Health 101, third edition. This is a comprehensive introductory textbook that closely follows the content of this Essentials of Global Health course. We have indicated for each session what part of the book you should read. Using this textbook can be very valuable to your mastering the content of the course. The second set of “recommended readings” is some additional readings, mostly from journal articles and reports. For these, too, we have indicated how carefully you should read the material and on what parts of the material you should focus your attention. Learners should note that to access articles from The Lancet they will have to register with the Lancet, if they do not have online access to a library that has The Lancet. Once they are registered, they will be able to sign into The Lancet and access all of its free articles. We have also indicated for most sessions one or two videos that relate to the topic of the session. These are meant to help the learner get a better feel for the topic which is being covered. Most learners will find the videos brief, easy and enjoyable to watch, and very enlightening....

Top reviews

MM
Mar 17, 2017

It was one of the best courses I have done on coursera.Also the instructor explains detailed subject matter very well which makes it easier to understand the subject.Certainly a 10\10 for the course !

MK
Jul 4, 2020

A very thoughtful and insightful course that help me to understand the global health, its key concept, challenges and cost effective strategies to address the issue in the global health perspectives.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 379 Reviews for Essentials of Global Health

By Nuno M V M d S d J

Apr 9, 2020

This course needs more, more information, I didn't learn much, a lot of the things that are explained here are very common knowledge

It will look good on the cv, but be much better structured and it could be more interesting

By Marlene S

Jun 4, 2017

Altough the Course was a bit to fundamental for me and my Knowledge, I think it was perfectly outlaid. Everything worked so well - the videos, the reading material, the communication. Thank you very much for that insight.

By Denisse R

Mar 15, 2021

Very interesting and enlightening. Professor Skolnik was engaging and knowledgeable. The course gave a great overview of the Global Health issues around the world and had a good analysis of the future challenges.

By Jason H

Dec 2, 2020

Prof Skolnik is a clear and effective communicator. The course material is wide-ranging and detailed when needed to be. Overall a great primer for anyone embarking on further study in global and public health.

By Saula P M

Apr 30, 2020

Very Informative. I've learned a lot with regards to the key health issues that we have been suffering globally and what had been done to address this health concerns by WHO and other related organisation.

By Maïmouna D S N

Aug 16, 2018

This course was really interesting. It covers different branches of global to give us a big picture of the matter. The professor was good at explaining and giving various exemples for us to follow. Thank you

By Tipack S

Nov 12, 2017

Its really a fascinating course to be met by all age groups and the knowledge acquired made me to think about various global health issues and their present status and further ways to overcome such issues..!

By Pamela M

Jul 2, 2020

Fantastic overview of the essentials of global health. It has what you need to know, and doesn't have what you don't need to know. It's a little long so be prepared to put the time in. You won't regret it.

By Pat R

Aug 23, 2020

Excellent course, well structured, clear and easy to follow, very good graphs, slides and supporting information, and very well organized overall. The tutor is outstanding. I highly recommend this course.

By Tram K

May 3, 2020

This is my first course here and this one actually blows my mind. The professor is so good, he is the main reason why I can keep up with it even though few topics are hard and long. Really recommend it.

By Aaliyah Y

Jun 1, 2021

An excellent course that covers the broad yet important topics surrounding global health. It truly highlights the necessities and simplifies some complex topics. I thoroughly enjoyed this course.

By Trisha L

Dec 29, 2020

Great introductory course from Yale, with a comprehensive curriculum, reliable referenced resources, and well-spaced graded quizzes. The recorded sessions were more engaging than I anticipated!

By Mayara B P

Jul 3, 2020

This is a magnificent and very enriching course. I appreciated every topic that was covered I am very grateful to have had the opportunity to take this course and learn more about global health.

By Romina E E C

Nov 9, 2020

I love love loveeeeeed this course, each chapter was engaging and interesting, so much to learn and a matter that should concern us all. Every student in the health area should do this course!!

By ODIMGBE P C

May 6, 2020

i really had a good time during the duration of this course and i learnt more than i even hoped to learn. Thanks to whoever started this program, it was really helpful and full of information.

By JOHN Q

Feb 19, 2018

GREAT REVIEW OF SOME INTERESTING AND VITAL ASPECTS OF GLOBAL HEALTH. THANKS, SO MUCH TO THE FOLKS WHO WORKED HARD IN PUTTING ON THIS COURSE AND ALLOWING ME TO TAKE IT GRATIS. DR QUINCY

By Nyasha R

Jul 19, 2021

Great Course!Very informative and engaging lectures. The reading material was also relevant and in depth . Would recommend anyone wanting to understand global health to take this course.

By Ritesh k

Jun 1, 2020

Insightful and unique course with diverse range of diseases and health matters covered with their way forward thanks to prof.and Coursera team for providing this type of content as FREe

By Charlotte

Jul 13, 2020

I really I appreciate that I've learned in one of the most prestigious university around the globe and its for free. Its so nice to learning during this pandemic times.Thank you Yale!

By Nway E C

Dec 2, 2020

Firstly, Thank you so much for very informative topics. Every week includes discussion forum which makes us to learn and share our experiences among the peer groups. Great course!!!

By shelly a

Jan 20, 2021

Thank you for giving me the tools to dream big ,learn new things . All the topics were well taught and explained .Thank you YALE UNIVERSITY for such a great learning experience.

By Laura A M

Sep 20, 2020

The course is great for first insights into global health. It's very comprehensive, with good examples and I especially liked the students "participation" in the teaching method.

By Cristina B

Sep 20, 2019

This was an excellent course. It gives a very solid understanding of Global Health. Lectures are interesting and interactive, and readings gave an additional layer of knowledge.

By Kanani T M

Mar 9, 2018

I'm a working physician who has done a decent amount of global medical work, and I found this course thorough but to-the-point course and a great introduction to global health.

By Noam S

Mar 5, 2021

Highly recommended course for all of those who are seeking a career in global health and/or interested in making the world a better and more equitable place for ALL people!