Chevron Left
Back to Everyday Chinese Medicine

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Everyday Chinese Medicine by The Chinese University of Hong Kong

4.7
stars
645 ratings
245 reviews

About the Course

This course aims to serve as an education platform on Chinese medicine (CM) for the general public. Our primary goal is to empower healthcare choices by promoting awareness and practical application on CM diagnostic and therapeutic approaches, as well as regulation on CM services and herbal products using international examples. In the first part of this course, learners will develop skills in applying basic theory of Chinese medicine (CM) for understanding health and illnesses, and be able to compare and contrast views from Chinese and western medicine perspectives. In the second part, learners will be able to diagnose their own CM body constitution, and to apply appropriate CM self-care practice including food therapy, acupressure, Baduanjin and meditation. Learners will also be able to identify commonly used Chinese herbs, and to describe the core principle of acupuncture. Specific competencies include: 1. State the basic theory of Chinese medicine and compare it with the principle of western medicine. 2. Apply the diagnostic approach of Chinese medicine and describe one’s body constitution. 3. Describe the core principle of Chinese herbs and acupuncture, and to understand their role in promoting health and wellness. 4. Develop self-care plan according to body constitution, using the practice of food therapy, acupressure, and Baduanjin....

Top reviews

AA
Feb 19, 2019

My interest in herbalism and alternate medicine brought me to this course. It was very informative indeed and I made notes often. The tests are also to the point. Thank you, professors and Coursera!

AP
Dec 28, 2020

A very nice program for understanding the diagnosis and treatment of diseases. Quite analogous to the Ayurvedic Medicine that deals with imbalance of vata (air), pittha (fire) and kapha (cold).

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 246 Reviews for Everyday Chinese Medicine

By Fabrice P

Mar 18, 2019

Great intro or revision of the basics of Chinese Medicine. Would love to have a more complete course in this format.

By Tatiana M

Jun 27, 2020

Very useful and interesting course. For any western practitioner and for any who are interested in Chinese Medicine

By Deleted A

Mar 11, 2019

This was a great course! I hope they offer a follow up course to it soon. Perhaps with emphasis on herbal remedies.

By Hagen K

Apr 24, 2020

I have a degree in Traditional Chinese Acupuncture, and this was a nice way of refreshing some basic knowledge!

By Christine G

Apr 30, 2021

The course was very east to navigate except for a few technical difficulties. it was very easy to understand.

By Rodrigo B

Aug 23, 2020

great information, gave me great basis in chinese medicine, to compare with my occidental medical formation.

By Janet K

Jun 1, 2020

Excellent course very easy to follow, thank you for making this instruction available, I highly recommend it

By Zoe S

Mar 4, 2021

Excelente curso, gracias por el conocimiento impartido y el aporte a mi crecimiento personal y profesional.

By Chuah H

Dec 5, 2020

Course is very informative and easy to follow and understand. Learned a lot. Thanks for the great materials

By llomisha c

May 9, 2020

This is such a great course! The videos were wonderfully created. It was well organized, easy to digest.

By Estêvão E d C A G

Jan 29, 2019

I think it's a good course for someone who is curious about the principles of TCM and wants to know more

By Agniya

Jul 18, 2019

Well-delivered course. Easier to comprehend thirst through transcripts and then through watching video.

By Gözde D

Apr 29, 2020

I found this course very interesting and looking forward to learn more things about Chinese Medicine.

By Aloysius A

Mar 27, 2020

If answers and explanation are provided as feedback after quiz, it would help in our learning as well

By Gloria C

Jul 6, 2018

I learned a lot from this basic course. The information is presented in an easy to understand format.

By Hoi L W

Jun 16, 2020

Clear to understand. Great for beginner. If can present with more Chinese wording would be better.

By Néstor E B M

Oct 30, 2020

MARAVILLOSO CURSO, Y MARAVILLOSA ESTA FORMA MILENARIA Y SABIA DE ENTENDER LA ENFERMEDAD Y LA SALUD

By Li, W

Jan 11, 2018

Very interesting but somehow cannot so easy to understand, hope can learn more ! Thank all of you

By Noelle G

Apr 12, 2020

Really clearly explained and provides a great synopsis for people who have started learning TCM.

By Zarinah A

Mar 26, 2021

Is there a way to gain a certificate of completion for having completed this course? Thank you.

By Eugene W

May 18, 2020

detailed enoughf or beginner and interesting. recommended to learn if you are interested in TCM

By Mary A

Sep 10, 2018

great course, provides a thorough and informative introduction to traditional Chinese medicine.

By SUHAIL C

Aug 17, 2018

excelente, cualquier persona puede entenderlo, conceptos complicados explicados de forma simple

By Ricardo L P

Mar 2, 2018

Awesome content and extremely well explained. Worth every second spent watching the videos!

By Lingjun K

Mar 31, 2020

a very clear introduction to the practice of Chinese medicine. Well prepared and lectured!