Chevron Left
Back to Everyday Chinese Medicine

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Everyday Chinese Medicine by The Chinese University of Hong Kong

4.7
stars
602 ratings
227 reviews

About the Course

This course aims to serve as an education platform on Chinese medicine (CM) for the general public. Our primary goal is to empower healthcare choices by promoting awareness and practical application on CM diagnostic and therapeutic approaches, as well as regulation on CM services and herbal products using international examples. In the first part of this course, learners will develop skills in applying basic theory of Chinese medicine (CM) for understanding health and illnesses, and be able to compare and contrast views from Chinese and western medicine perspectives. In the second part, learners will be able to diagnose their own CM body constitution, and to apply appropriate CM self-care practice including food therapy, acupressure, Baduanjin and meditation. Learners will also be able to identify commonly used Chinese herbs, and to describe the core principle of acupuncture. Specific competencies include: 1. State the basic theory of Chinese medicine and compare it with the principle of western medicine. 2. Apply the diagnostic approach of Chinese medicine and describe one’s body constitution. 3. Describe the core principle of Chinese herbs and acupuncture, and to understand their role in promoting health and wellness. 4. Develop self-care plan according to body constitution, using the practice of food therapy, acupressure, and Baduanjin....

Top reviews

AA
Feb 19, 2019

My interest in herbalism and alternate medicine brought me to this course. It was very informative indeed and I made notes often. The tests are also to the point. Thank you, professors and Coursera!

AP
Dec 28, 2020

A very nice program for understanding the diagnosis and treatment of diseases. Quite analogous to the Ayurvedic Medicine that deals with imbalance of vata (air), pittha (fire) and kapha (cold).

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 227 Reviews for Everyday Chinese Medicine

By Agniya

Jul 18, 2019

Well-delivered course. Easier to comprehend thirst through transcripts and then through watching video.

By Gözde D

Apr 29, 2020

I found this course very interesting and looking forward to learn more things about Chinese Medicine.

By Aloysius A

Mar 27, 2020

If answers and explanation are provided as feedback after quiz, it would help in our learning as well

By Gloria C

Jul 6, 2018

I learned a lot from this basic course. The information is presented in an easy to understand format.

By Hoi L W

Jun 16, 2020

Clear to understand. Great for beginner. If can present with more Chinese wording would be better.

By Néstor E B M

Oct 30, 2020

MARAVILLOSO CURSO, Y MARAVILLOSA ESTA FORMA MILENARIA Y SABIA DE ENTENDER LA ENFERMEDAD Y LA SALUD

By Li, W

Jan 11, 2018

Very interesting but somehow cannot so easy to understand, hope can learn more ! Thank all of you

By Noelle G

Apr 12, 2020

Really clearly explained and provides a great synopsis for people who have started learning TCM.

By Zarinah A

Mar 26, 2021

Is there a way to gain a certificate of completion for having completed this course? Thank you.

By Eugene W

May 18, 2020

detailed enoughf or beginner and interesting. recommended to learn if you are interested in TCM

By Mary A

Sep 10, 2018

great course, provides a thorough and informative introduction to traditional Chinese medicine.

By SUHAIL C

Aug 17, 2018

excelente, cualquier persona puede entenderlo, conceptos complicados explicados de forma simple

By Ricardo L P

Mar 2, 2018

Awesome content and extremely well explained. Worth every second spent watching the videos!

By Lingjun K

Mar 31, 2020

a very clear introduction to the practice of Chinese medicine. Well prepared and lectured!

By Keith M

Feb 25, 2019

Outstanding course on the very basics of Chinese Medicine - now for research and reading.

By Estefania S M

Apr 24, 2021

es desafiante pero si aprendes, lo recomiendo para gente que ya sepa algo sobre medicina

By Dr V S m

Feb 26, 2020

Wonderful experience. I got my knowledge about TCM brushed up and rekindled.

Thanks team

By Stesha T

Oct 1, 2017

It would be great if the correct answers are shown for the fill-in-the-blanks options.

By Omar P R

Feb 14, 2021

The information is concise and easy to understand, I appreciate this kind of courses.

By Laure d T

Nov 6, 2020

EXCELLENT! I learned a lot.

Too bad it does not continue further in a second module!

By ROHIT K G

Mar 30, 2020

It was highly informative course for the beginners like me and properly designed .

By Ting Y C

Sep 4, 2018

Simple and comprehensive overview of TCM. Easy to follow, not hard to understand

By Tammam H

Apr 3, 2020

للأصدقاء العرب .. الكورس رائع ويعطي أساسيات الطب الصيني من حيث التشخيص والفلسفة

By Hannah P

Jun 8, 2020

Interesting course! Concise and to the point. Good intro to chinese medicine.

By Nadia B

Jun 3, 2020

Great course! Thanks for sharing this knowlege with us! I tottally recomend.