Chevron Left
Back to Foundations of Everyday Leadership

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Foundations of Everyday Leadership by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.8
stars
4,471 ratings
1,191 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will learn about the “head and heart” of everyday leadership, individual decision making, group decision making, and managing motivation. The objectives are to understand why and how leadership skills are so critical to organizational success, and learn the foundations of effective leadership skills. Learners: • Understand why and how leadership skills are so critical to organizational success • Know how to use leadership skills to work more effectively with others, and are able to organize teams to work more effectively together • Will be able to apply the foundations of effective leadership skills to everyday situations faced by leaders. This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

Top reviews

IR
Dec 16, 2020

I found this course to be very informative. I really enjoyed the Videos and i was very much surprised at the interactive sessions. I am encouraged to complete other courses.\n\nA huge THANK YOU!!!!!!!

IJ
Jul 3, 2020

Honestly, its one of the most effective online foundational course on effective leadership. I'm particularly overwhelmed by the much I have learnt about utilising the group decision making process.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 1,165 Reviews for Foundations of Everyday Leadership

By Jacqueline H

Apr 26, 2017

The videos were very informative and I especially liked the fact that you could view the text and make notes as you watched the lesson. The case study activities were relevant to the material and having written assignments with peers reviewing was a nice change from just interacting with the instruc

By Anthony M

Feb 21, 2017

Professor Northcraft keeps you engaged even while remotely teaching! His stories and curriculum are great from start to finish. The 4 modules that are given provide real life scenarios and teamwork is utilized the whole way through. This course is a definite need for future leaders and managers.

By Emmanuel H S

Sep 13, 2020

I found the course very very useful and informative. Definitely an achievement and another milestone in my layering career. The content is brief and covers all the basics one needs to know about leadership, of course it cant cover everything but is a good overall structure. Highly recommend it!

By parnian H

Nov 1, 2020

Professor Northcraft is amazing. This course has helped me a lot. and this is nice that you are sharing the pdfs. I am a master of Mechanical eng student at Concordia and I have never taken any management or business courses. this course was amazing and so complete and easy to understand.

By K S K

Apr 8, 2021

Excellent Corse and the way it was structured for the students. I am happy to do more courses offered by the university as it gives you in-depth knowledge on each subject. The Case studies were too interesting and had the opportunity to discuss with team my view points.

Overall very happy

By Manuela G

Aug 11, 2018

I truly appreciated the variety of inputs of this course from videos to quizzes to very practical activities as well as the self-paced rhythm that allowed me to manage my own progress while being in a time demanding managerial position. I will recommend this course to all my colleagues!

By Kanav K

Aug 6, 2019

This course is the first course I took for iMBA. It has changed how I lead my team at work and how I try to be leader in situations where I am not the leader. The concepts are very clearly explained. I would recommend this course to everyone who wants to get better at being a leader.

By synthia n

Jul 19, 2018

This is a really good module on leadership. most often i see courses like these with just theory, but this module has case study and writing exercise which help the learner apply what they learn and that way muscle memory is built and you remember the modules for a long time.

By Miguel L

Feb 20, 2016

Excellent information rendered throughout the course; very concise and well explained lectures by Prof. Northcraft; minimum content issues; magnificent level of participation from fellow students. So far the best course I've taken online in Coursera or any other platform.

By Liliane T V

Sep 27, 2020

This is a very good foundational course, with concepts that can be applied in the workplace. The course is well balanced, with content presented via videos, productive discussions of Case Studies, quizzes to check understand of concepts, and discussion boards. Thank you!!

By Nivethitha L

Sep 4, 2020

I got to learn great things, things that I thought at first are basic but eventually realized that they are not really followed among most organizational leadership teams. Great job Professors, the coursera support team and the iMBA support team at UIUC. Cheers to all!

By Hemangi S N

May 18, 2020

This is a great course ti understand the foundation of Everyday leadership. The course content is well designed. The way it is presented/ formed is also great in its unique way. I am rally happy to complete the course and will surely recommend it to others. Thank you.

By Dhinesh A D

May 31, 2020

Great course on leadership skills that can be implemented in the workplace or into your business. The lectures were brief and informative. Highly suggested for those who frequently conducts or attends meeting. Provides strong foundation to improve leadership skills.

By Arvind R

Jun 5, 2020

The course on foundations of leadership is well structured and easy to follow

Thanks to Professor Gregory Northcraft and team of professors I did enjoy the course

The teachings wrt head and heate, motivation, composition, incusion etc was interesting

Thanks

Regards

By Daniel O

Apr 9, 2018

Exceptional by all standard. Nothing could make you not remember its insightful and well presented lectures. Want to outstretch yourself, and bring out the hidden talents in you, then quickly enroll in this course. This case studies will make you a creative giant.

By Martin C

Feb 11, 2016

Nice insights! Good course with actually steps to follow to overcome the issues presented! Really a great course! Teacher's great, I wish he'd loose a little the "army style" speech and grading system but you know, diversity is what makes this world great! Thanks!

By Vishesh G

Oct 10, 2018

This course equips you with the knowledge of exactly what it says in the title. The course met my expectations quite well and was actually quite practical in its teachings as I could relate and think of where I can apply this knowledge in my real life situations.

By Philipp S

Aug 9, 2020

This was my first course on Coursera. I really liked the structure because you learn about the different topics and get the opportunity to apply them in the case studies. Also, I liked that I could finish this in less than 4 weeks, so I can learn at my own pace.

By Helene Y

Feb 12, 2019

The Foundations of Everyday Leadership is a very useful and fun course. I hope that the decision tree and the best decision suggestions can be explained or discussed in more depth. I really like this course, these instructors who have already guided the course.

By Bhaskar S

Aug 15, 2020

it was an interesting course on the link of the leadership with the team and its various aspects, the gains and fallout. how to measure calculated risk and manage uncertainty. a very useful course for ones aspiring to lead a team or are already leading a team

By Nina R Y

Jul 14, 2019

A must for entrepreneurs, if you are looking for the best way to quickly increase your leadership skills, you have to take this course. You will learn so much and it is so engaging that will leave you craving for more.

Your team needs a leader not a boss.

By T. S K

Jul 26, 2020

Very good one. I learnt very important aspects which need to be seen in the leadership. I feel some aspects of communication needs to be added. Overall very great and practical. I could able to identify the leadership elements with my friends. Thanks!

By Fabio C

May 24, 2020

The course is a very useful tool not only for students but also for professionals already occupying leadership roles; it is an entertaining mixture of lectures, articles and case studies providing practical Tools to manage the everyday's Fundamentals

By Robert C

Jan 6, 2020

I learned a lot from this course - more than I expected. The many components of leadership, the psycology behind it and working with others, and understanding what it takes on a truly deep level what it takes to be an effective leader in every sense.

By Puraskar R

Apr 10, 2020

Amazing !! Gives a real perspective about working in a group dynamics and evolving the leadership qualities. It was important for me since i have to engage with large group and my performance is mostly dependent on the effectiveness of the groups...