Chevron Left
Back to Everyday Parenting: The ABCs of Child Rearing

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Everyday Parenting: The ABCs of Child Rearing by Yale University

4.9
stars
2,121 ratings
786 reviews

About the Course

Everyday Parenting gives you access to a toolkit of behavior-change techniques that will make your typical day in the home easier as you develop the behaviors you would like to see in your child. The lessons provide step-by-step instructions and demonstrations to improve your course of action with both children and adolescents. Among many techniques, you will learn how even simple modifications to tone of voice and phrasing can lead to more compliance. The course will also shed light on many parenting misconceptions and ineffective strategies that are routinely used. The key to the course is practice. It is not enough to know the strategies; you have to do them to reap the rewards. Using the techniques on a temporary basis will lead to permanent change. Chances are your parenting is perfectly fine and working the way you would like. But if you have any frustrations with your child or would like improve your effectiveness in changing your child’s behavior, these videos will be a very useful guide. Subtitles available in Chinese and Spanish....

Top reviews

NB
Nov 6, 2019

Such amazing course, it’s useful and joyful to learn all the way through. I love it ! Thank you Coursera make learning easy to learn and share , I see the power of knowledge by E- sharing ! Wonderful!

SB
Oct 12, 2017

This is a must to do course for parents to be, parents and teachers. We need to build physically and mentally strong kids in future for this we need to adapt to these simple steps as per this course.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 780 Reviews for Everyday Parenting: The ABCs of Child Rearing

By Ofeliya L P

Jun 14, 2020

This course helped me in dealing with my very challenging 6yo boy during the COVID pandemic. It provided me with the necessary tools to guide my child's behaviour and to greatly reduce the stress level on our family.

By Haresh P

Mar 10, 2020

This course is truly an experience and perhaps best any parent could ever get. Outright applicable, easy to understand and works really wonder with instant results. Every parent on this planet must take this course.

By Ayelén Z O

Jan 4, 2020

I really enjoyed the course. As a student teacher and as a mom it gave so much tools to work with. Dr Kazdin explanations are very clear and he gives you many opportunities to check what you've learned. Thank you!

By Doreen Z

Oct 3, 2020

This course is perfect for a parent of toddlers and pre-teen. It really touched all the problems that I have encountered and it provided clear techniques and solutions to try out for me to become a better parent.

By C L M

Jun 25, 2020

I AM VERY MUCH GRATEFUL TO Alan E. Kazdin, PhD, ABPP , AS SIR ADDRESSED ALL THE ISSUES CLEARLY WITH POSSIBLE SOLUTIONS THEY ARE VERY HELPFUL MOTIVATING AND INSPIRING ME TO TAKE UP LIFE HANDLING VARIOUS SITUATIONS

By Ronald L C

Jan 8, 2018

The class was fantastic! I am giong through a divorce and I am taking as many classes as possible to improve my parenting skills for help with my children during these difficult times. Thank you for this class!

By Jade C

Oct 29, 2020

I really loved reading the materials and these are ones that I can still apply or use when I have children of my own. Thank you for this course! As an educator, I can also refer other parents to this course.

By Jhonatan A P R

Apr 28, 2020

Realmente es uno de los mejores cursos que tome sobre crianza . La verdad que lo aprendido acá es mucho más de lo que aprendí en los cursos de pre-grado de mi universidad que contaban con similitud temática.

By PIERRE C I

Jan 1, 2021

I would recommend this course to any parent or guardian. The course is well designed and provides essential skills and knowledge we all need in life as we undertake the noble duty of raising our children.

By Kirti D

May 17, 2020

This course is a great step towards learning effective ways to better child-rearing practices. The professor is clear to understand and offers a wonderful insight into encouraging healthy child behaviour.

By Chan W Y

Apr 20, 2020

It's a very fruitful journey and I believe it's a must-take course for each parent to learn how to be a parent! It's good for the family. It's lucky that I meet this course when my child is still young.

By Muthu K M

Nov 28, 2020

Excellent, Practical and Engaging course. I loved the tips and techniques and Dr.Kazdins methodology. The resources and links and references were insightful too. I recommend this course for every parent.

By Virginia K

Jul 1, 2019

Thank you for this course

Very easy to follow and well explained. I'm using the knowledge acquired in this course to raise my 5 year old boy. I'm forever grateful. I have seen much difference from then.

By Kyle W

Jul 10, 2020

Finally, some science-based guidance to help parents get through those inevitable tough times that every child presents. Very well presented, with the right mix of content and speed. Well worth my time.

By Vanja P L

Dec 20, 2018

Dr. Kadzin is an amazing lecturer, interesting and makes everything easy to understand.

This was a fun and VERY useful course, tools given here are doing wonders. If I could give it more stars I would.

By João M M

Oct 9, 2017

Kazdin is a great teacher! He is very clear, specific when talking about the parental tecnics and procedures. He explain in a way very simple for everyone understand. I recommend very much this course

By Merline F

Mar 19, 2021

Extremely informative and interactive. Most of the material submitted was relevant and updated. I Thank Coursera and Dr. Alan for the privilege of such an enlightening and practical experience.

By yamini s

Dec 17, 2020

This course gave me a different perspective on parenting. I was able to implement a few techniques and it worked effortlessly. Thank you to the professor, this course has been designed very well.

By jijia

Jul 16, 2020

The course is truly insipring and shaping me a lot around parenting my kids. I think it's invaluable to the parents and the next generations. Thank you Alan, Yale and Coursera to make it happen!

By Lemuel A A

Aug 21, 2020

The course will give you different mindset from traditional parenting. And give you the best tools for how to change the behavior of the child and how to Implement them. Very helpful. Thank you!

By Minh n

May 22, 2020

I strongly recommend this class to any parent (and I have done so already)! Thank you for such an amazingly effective and kind lecture on parenting! This is how the world can be a better place.

By F W

Jun 1, 2019

More case studies and assignments where we write out solutions would be more helpful for reinforcing what we learned in class. Awesome teacher and very helpful content for a first-time parent.

By augakh@gmail.com

Jun 7, 2020

It is so amazing! Helped me to understand many reasons of my child's behavior. It is totally counterintuitive; the way of our society is built is questionable (prisons and law punishments).

By Verónica P R

May 26, 2020

En el curso aprendí un montón de herramientas para modificar diferentes conductas de mis dos hijos de 5 y 7 años, con los que me había quedado sin herramientas para poder llevar su crianza.

By George N

Sep 3, 2020

Just loved this course. I have already started to implement the learnings from it in our own attempts to change our daughter's behaviour for the better and they have helped substantially.