Chevron Left
Back to Everyday Parenting: The ABCs of Child Rearing

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Everyday Parenting: The ABCs of Child Rearing by Yale University

4.9
stars
2,142 ratings
794 reviews

About the Course

Everyday Parenting gives you access to a toolkit of behavior-change techniques that will make your typical day in the home easier as you develop the behaviors you would like to see in your child. The lessons provide step-by-step instructions and demonstrations to improve your course of action with both children and adolescents. Among many techniques, you will learn how even simple modifications to tone of voice and phrasing can lead to more compliance. The course will also shed light on many parenting misconceptions and ineffective strategies that are routinely used. The key to the course is practice. It is not enough to know the strategies; you have to do them to reap the rewards. Using the techniques on a temporary basis will lead to permanent change. Chances are your parenting is perfectly fine and working the way you would like. But if you have any frustrations with your child or would like improve your effectiveness in changing your child’s behavior, these videos will be a very useful guide. Subtitles available in Chinese and Spanish....

Top reviews

NB
Nov 6, 2019

Such amazing course, it’s useful and joyful to learn all the way through. I love it ! Thank you Coursera make learning easy to learn and share , I see the power of knowledge by E- sharing ! Wonderful!

SJ
Nov 5, 2020

Thank you for the engaging and educational course! I gained really great knowledge that I will definitely use in my work with children and with my children at home. The course leader is fantastic! :)

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 790 Reviews for Everyday Parenting: The ABCs of Child Rearing

By NADIA C C C

Aug 30, 2020

As a mother, it is the help I was looking for. Very well explained videos, well designed questions. Really a valuable and interesting course. All parents should take this course! my home has been more harmonious since then. Eternally grateful for this course!

By Elizabeth W

Sep 18, 2017

This was such a helpful and practical course on parenting. I learned a lot and had things I could implement in my life immediately. There was a good balance between explaining the psychology while also making it approachable. Highly recommend for all parents!

By Shelyn H

May 30, 2018

I'm a 1st time mom myself and this course was an eye opener on so many levels for me personally. I learned a great deal about myself as a parent and how I needed the training rather than trying to train my kids to act or behave in a certain desirable manner.

By Tori B

Dec 2, 2020

This course was very helpful and great. I learned so many new techinques to help with chilf behavior, other than the simple techniques that my parents used that looking back really did not work for my siblings or I. Thank you for the great informal course!

By María G R B

Jul 28, 2020

Excelente curso, me encanto. Aprendí muchas cosas útiles para el cambio conductual en los niños y sobre todo lograr cambios duraderos y positivos. Es un curso que creo que TODO padre debería hacer y también psicólogos que trabajen con niños y adolescentes.

By Migle K

Nov 16, 2020

I have started many courses in coursera and have not finished any of them, this is the first one that I finished. Great course, very nice lecturer. I learned a lot of useful things and I wish myself good luck in applying those new strategies practically.

By Sau H P T

Aug 6, 2020

I am so glad I did enroll in Everday Parenting: The ABCs of Child Rearing. From the course, I could use a different perspective to see in the children. I also learned some new techniques which can develop positive behavior in them. Thank you, Dr.Kazdin!

By Tya K

Jan 1, 2018

Wonderful course, really engaging professor - I loved every single lecture. Not just filled with lots of useful information, but also presented in a great way. Really well-organized lectures, definitely one of the most effective courses I've ever taken.

By Tawny M

Feb 5, 2021

Wonderful course and so helpful from the very first lecture. Get to see the difference in kids right away by using what the course teaches you. Children cooperate and smile so much more after implementing course practices into our household. Priceless!

By Sarah M

Feb 3, 2021

Very engaging instructor, makes watching lectures a breeze. Appreciated the structure of the course, concrete techniques (rather than vague advice), multiple examples, and frequent reinforcement of take-home points. Would highly recommend to others.

By Jasmine E

Jun 22, 2020

Thank you so much for this amazing course! It was well organized and super interesting with great examples that one can relate to. The professor is very friendly, explains everything very well and I’m a big fan of his approach! Absolutely worth it!

By Leah N

Dec 25, 2017

This is a very informative course, and I would recommend it to anyone who interacts with children on a regular basis! While it is designed for parents, it is a great resource for teachers, step parents, day care workers, and grandparents as well!

By Srividya V

Jul 20, 2020

it was really informative and quite easy to understand through the videos. Simple English is used and the quizzes were really good and interactive. Highly recommend this course. Thoroughly enjoyed my journey during the entire tenure of learning.

By José J C

Feb 25, 2018

Sometimes we took parenting as granted, as something natural. But as other skills, parenting is something we can learn and take advantage of existing research. If we invest a lot in our careers we should invest even more in our parenting skills.

By Jean G R

Jul 8, 2020

I learned a lot from this course, especially on how to effectively encourage my child to exhibit the behaviors we expect of her. Prof. Kazdin was very effective in imparting his expertise. He made me understand a lot from the course. Thank you!

By Gabriela M C

Apr 8, 2020

ha sido un enorme placer, el haber tomado este curso me llevo grandes aprendizajes y también grandes responsabilidades de replicar en mi vida profesional como psicóloga infantil y como madre de un niño de un ano y dos meses. gracias infinitas

By Nguyen T L H

May 31, 2021

The course is holistic helpful for parenting. The tests are too easy, it should be more challenge. Maybe course started long time ago so the forum is not active. However, it is a well-structured and hands-on course. Thanks Professor and teams.

By Kelli R

Jan 10, 2021

This class has a lot of beneficial information and graphics. I learned a lot and the info was repeated throughout the course with plenty of examples of each to ensure comprehension. I feel more prepared as a parent to tackle everyday problems.

By Γιαμαλίδης Ν

Dec 29, 2020

By haven't any experience in courses like this, i didn't knew what to expect. The stracture of the course was very helpfull, the topics were set understandably, but Dr. Kazdin transmissibility is the one that makes it wonderfull. Thank you!!

By Olga Y

Nov 29, 2020

It is a very interesting course, useful for any parent and for people providing services for children and teenagers. It is engaging, clear and delived in simple way accessible for professionals and non professionals. Thank you very much!

By Md A U I

Oct 16, 2020

It was really helpful and insightful course on our parenting techniques and real help to those who need the help they always wanted. I hope Dr.Kazdin continues to develop more effective techniques for all child to have a great childhood

By Neil S

Jul 21, 2020

I liked this course as I learned more than expected and thought some of it useful for daily life with adults as well as children. I really think schools should teach children how to be good parents, paving the way for a better society.

By Gayathri B

Jun 8, 2020

A course worth enrolling for! The ABC techniques were described in a very detailed manner. It gives us the confidence that any child with behaviour problems could be dealt with easily using structured strategies. Dr Alan is remarkable!

By Geri W

Jan 17, 2019

I found this course most helpful with my 11 year old grandchild. I am using the strategies learned from the class. It is taking lot of changes from everyone who she is surrounded by, but to see her transition is worth it. Thank you.

By Nickie T

Feb 5, 2021

This was a very good course. I have learnt so much and applied it at home and guess what,? the techniques really work. As parents, we need to have more patients with our kids. I highly recommend this course to all parents and teachers