Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel by Rice University

4.7
stars
3,588 ratings
797 reviews

About the Course

The use of Excel is widespread in the industry. It is a very powerful data analysis tool and almost all big and small businesses use Excel in their day to day functioning. This is an introductory course in the use of Excel and is designed to give you a working knowledge of Excel with the aim of getting to use it for more advance topics in Business Statistics later. The course is designed keeping in mind two kinds of learners - those who have very little functional knowledge of Excel and those who use Excel regularly but at a peripheral level and wish to enhance their skills. The course takes you from basic operations such as reading data into excel using various data formats, organizing and manipulating data, to some of the more advanced functionality of Excel. All along, Excel functionality is introduced using easy to understand examples which are demonstrated in a way that learners can become comfortable in understanding and applying them. To successfully complete course assignments, students must have access to a Windows version of Microsoft Excel 2010 or later. ________________________________________ WEEK 1 Module 1: Introduction to Spreadsheets In this module, you will be introduced to the use of Excel spreadsheets and various basic data functions of Excel. Topics covered include: • Reading data into Excel using various formats • Basic functions in Excel, arithmetic as well as various logical functions • Formatting rows and columns • Using formulas in Excel and their copy and paste using absolute and relative referencing ________________________________________ WEEK 2 Module 2: Spreadsheet Functions to Organize Data This module introduces various Excel functions to organize and query data. Learners are introduced to the IF, nested IF, VLOOKUP and the HLOOKUP functions of Excel. Topics covered include: • IF and the nested IF functions • VLOOKUP and HLOOKUP • The RANDBETWEEN function ________________________________________ WEEK 3 Module 3: Introduction to Filtering, Pivot Tables, and Charts This module introduces various data filtering capabilities of Excel. You’ll learn how to set filters in data to selectively access data. A very powerful data summarizing tool, the Pivot Table, is also explained and we begin to introduce the charting feature of Excel. Topics covered include: • VLOOKUP across worksheets • Data filtering in Excel • Use of Pivot tables with categorical as well as numerical data • Introduction to the charting capability of Excel ________________________________________ WEEK 4 Module 4: Advanced Graphing and Charting This module explores various advanced graphing and charting techniques available in Excel. Starting with various line, bar and pie charts we introduce pivot charts, scatter plots and histograms. You will get to understand these various charts and get to build them on your own. Topics covered include • Line, Bar and Pie charts • Pivot charts • Scatter plots • Histograms...

Top reviews

SS

Apr 28, 2017

good course gives a basic foundation for data analytics ! Excellent for beginners who have no idea how to use excel for want to learn systematically excel files given at every lecture are very useful.

LC

May 18, 2018

Excellent class, well-written and presented with real-world examples that are challenging but not impossible to complete if you follow the small quizzes and stay on top of the deadlines. Great job!

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 777 Reviews for Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel

By Paritosh D

Aug 31, 2018

This course opens your eyes to the potential which Excel offers! A highly recommended introductory course to "see" the big data picture. Many thanks to the Rice University team!

By Sofia L

Jun 06, 2018

I'm using excel for a while but it's good this course refresh you knowledge to ensure you will successfully succeed and accomplish the whole specialization. Thumbs up Coursera.

By beata

Dec 30, 2016

Excellent introduction to Excel. I could revise my knowledge and I learned some new formulas. Videos are very helpful and explanation is clear. I strognly recommend this course!

By Victor I A

Mar 04, 2020

This course opened my eyes to the working of Excel as it concerns data analysis. I am glad I took this course and a big thank you to Dr Borle for making the course interesting.

By Sudhan B

Feb 07, 2020

Extremely beautiful course. I was pleased to get learned from the professor. The teaching was efficient. Detailed learning within a short period with excellent teaching method.

By Saurabh P

Dec 15, 2018

A great course! Would recommend this course to anyone who is willing to explore the field of Datascience or data analytics. All the topics in this course are covered very well.

By Zin W W H

Jan 01, 2020

Tutor can explain the lessons thoroughly to understand easily. So, I got high grades in all tutorials and got a high understanding of excel and data analysis. Thanks a lot.

By Lin Y

Jul 19, 2019

A very basic introductory course, however, arranged in a way that presents course content in a informative and interesting manner. Looking forward to the next few courses.

By Deepak N

Jan 31, 2019

I really learnt a lot in this course, I was a newbie with excel spreadsheets, now I feel comfortable handling data files and extracting valuable information from raw data.

By Pulkit B

May 24, 2018

A great course overall specially for those who haven't had much experience with MS Excel before. It was very insightful. A special thanks to the instructor Sharad Borle.

By Mohil J

Dec 04, 2018

This course us really helpful in learniong various excel analysis tools. I would recommend it to people who wanted to learn data analysis using excel.

Happy Learning !!!

By Noppol W

May 30, 2018

Very useful and easy to understand. Although I wish some of the content were more challenging, the quiz did a good job for soliciting good understanding of the material

By Rajat V

May 07, 2017

The step by step process that this course takes has helped me to completely understand what it offers. Also the evaluations has helped me to gain further understanding.

By JinHee L

Nov 28, 2016

Great pace, all very useful materials. Only thing is I wish the instructor gave the excel data files that he uses to demonstrate with so that students can follow along.

By Arya

Sep 14, 2018

I just finished this lesson, and it's a really good resource for beginners even for every body start to work for a company. It can give you a fundamental about Excel.

By Colleen P

Sep 18, 2018

Excellent introduction to Excel for beginners! The instructor explains everything very clearly and I was able to master so many new skills because of this course.

By Eunice Y

Dec 04, 2016

Very useful with lots of practical cases for learning.

Both knowledge and skills mentioned in the course could assist to uplift productivity and efficiency at work.

By Bilal M

Feb 16, 2017

I truly enjoyed the whole course. It is perfect for brushing analysis and presentation skills before moving on to advanced level. Thank you for this platform!

By Charles E

Oct 24, 2019

Course well planned and easily understandable, tutors really teach to your understanding. Course structured properly and interspersed with test and practise

By Jess A

Apr 13, 2019

Course was structured very well and the lectures and instructions were clear. Quizzes and practice questions were thought out and added value to the class.

By Aigerim M

Mar 23, 2020

This course is an excellent example of learning by doing. All the theory is explained in practical tasks. No boring lectures! Highly recommend the course.

By Prasang S

Jun 16, 2018

One of the best online course I have ever taken yet. That nice and descent explanation , practice quizzes really helped me to pass all the graded quizzes.

By John D I

Aug 20, 2018

Great refresher course on Excel. In addition, I learned a number of new things about charting and Histograms. The shortcuts were appreciated as well.

By Veekshit U A

Jul 03, 2018

Wonderful course.It started from scratch and helped me reach an intermediate level.After finishing this course we learn more advanced concepts of excel.

By DingDang S

Aug 22, 2017

a great course! very suitable for those who have been using Excel to only a superficial extent and wish to deepen the knowledge of functions and charts.