Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel by Rice University

4.7
stars
7,412 ratings
1,695 reviews

About the Course

The use of Excel is widespread in the industry. It is a very powerful data analysis tool and almost all big and small businesses use Excel in their day to day functioning. This is an introductory course in the use of Excel and is designed to give you a working knowledge of Excel with the aim of getting to use it for more advance topics in Business Statistics later. The course is designed keeping in mind two kinds of learners - those who have very little functional knowledge of Excel and those who use Excel regularly but at a peripheral level and wish to enhance their skills. The course takes you from basic operations such as reading data into excel using various data formats, organizing and manipulating data, to some of the more advanced functionality of Excel. All along, Excel functionality is introduced using easy to understand examples which are demonstrated in a way that learners can become comfortable in understanding and applying them. To successfully complete course assignments, students must have access to a Windows version of Microsoft Excel 2010 or later. ________________________________________ WEEK 1 Module 1: Introduction to Spreadsheets In this module, you will be introduced to the use of Excel spreadsheets and various basic data functions of Excel. Topics covered include: • Reading data into Excel using various formats • Basic functions in Excel, arithmetic as well as various logical functions • Formatting rows and columns • Using formulas in Excel and their copy and paste using absolute and relative referencing ________________________________________ WEEK 2 Module 2: Spreadsheet Functions to Organize Data This module introduces various Excel functions to organize and query data. Learners are introduced to the IF, nested IF, VLOOKUP and the HLOOKUP functions of Excel. Topics covered include: • IF and the nested IF functions • VLOOKUP and HLOOKUP • The RANDBETWEEN function ________________________________________ WEEK 3 Module 3: Introduction to Filtering, Pivot Tables, and Charts This module introduces various data filtering capabilities of Excel. You’ll learn how to set filters in data to selectively access data. A very powerful data summarizing tool, the Pivot Table, is also explained and we begin to introduce the charting feature of Excel. Topics covered include: • VLOOKUP across worksheets • Data filtering in Excel • Use of Pivot tables with categorical as well as numerical data • Introduction to the charting capability of Excel ________________________________________ WEEK 4 Module 4: Advanced Graphing and Charting This module explores various advanced graphing and charting techniques available in Excel. Starting with various line, bar and pie charts we introduce pivot charts, scatter plots and histograms. You will get to understand these various charts and get to build them on your own. Topics covered include • Line, Bar and Pie charts • Pivot charts • Scatter plots • Histograms...

Top reviews

SW
May 25, 2020

The training provided by Dr. Sharad is easy to follow and learn. Bravo and Thank you.\n\nThe level of difficulty from the quiz and the final task is just right and it is making us to think creatively.

SS
Apr 27, 2017

good course gives a basic foundation for data analytics ! Excellent for beginners who have no idea how to use excel for want to learn systematically excel files given at every lecture are very useful.

Filter by:

1351 - 1375 of 1,680 Reviews for Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel

By José M N

Jul 11, 2017

The course is very well explained by the teacher, but it is too introductory to deserve the name "course 1". It could be week 1 of a bigger course.

By Avadhesh Y

Jun 25, 2020

Really helpful for those who want to learn how to use excel as a professional. This will really teach you many simple but effective use of excel.

By Rachel G

Oct 12, 2016

A good course for consolidating essential Excel skills, may be a little basic for some but a good introduction and lead in to the specialisation.

By Roosha

Apr 17, 2020

This is very helpful course for one beginner. I have learned a lot from this course.but the sound quality is not so good. But overall its good.

By Aafiyah D

Mar 4, 2020

This part of the course helps one re-visit the basics of excel. It is extremely helpful and keeps one upto date with the workings of the same.

By ANUGAMINI P

Sep 25, 2020

Its an excellent course to update your knowledge of statistics through excel. Prof Sharad has used simple yet effective ways to teach. Thanks

By Daniel J K

Sep 23, 2018

Could use harder examples in problems and I feel if you pass quizzes maybe you should see what you did wrong on the questions you got wrong.

By Patrice J

Sep 26, 2020

The course was fairly easy to follow. Enjoyed it. Still a bit shaky with pivot tables but I expect to understand as I keep using it more.

By Sergio

Aug 13, 2018

Course is great, it is an overview of useful commands, formulas and so on. I gave it 4 stars because quiz questions sometimes are unclear

By Hitesh G

Aug 23, 2020

this course is so much helpful for me and know more about excel function more and add a new skill by doing this course through coursera.

By Tashi D

Sep 18, 2020

This course helped me to understand how Excel can be used to visualize data. It is helpful. Thank you for creating such useful course.

By Prachi A

May 10, 2020

This course is even ideal for people who have worked in Excel before since it revisits some of the important everyday Excel functions.

By DRUVA K G

Mar 9, 2019

Very helpful to learn excel especially for beginners.

Usage of key board shortcuts can be added to make this course much more fruitful.

By Adriano F d F J

Jul 30, 2017

Pretty good. I recomend, specially for those who does not know well the capabilities, the functions and the advantages of using Excel.

By Claudio Z

Mar 3, 2019

Very useful and ehlpful and quizzes not so easy as they seam. I recommend a lot this course if your are interested in learning Excel.

By Ivan A B

Oct 29, 2020

Good course for beginners and for reviewing knowledge. It introduces to the basic data analysis tools that any Excel user must know.

By Kumari y

Sep 20, 2020

its a very useful and effective course in this digital era ... i feel privillaged to get the opportunity of learning . thankyou

By Abhishek K M

Nov 14, 2019

A very good and exhaustive course on Microsoft Excel, data analysis and visualization using excel. A good learning experience.

By Sarah P

Dec 13, 2017

When I got to the charts section, the software used in the video was a little out of date. Otherwise, this video is fantastic!

By Karen F

Apr 3, 2018

Great introduction course into Excel. I took it as my first step into business, and it covered many basic topics in my work.

By Arielle B

Aug 7, 2017

Explanations of why answers are wrong would be helpful. Otherwise this was a good course and really useful for a beginner.

By Ibtida I

Nov 24, 2020

It was a great journey.Increase your helping system so that we can solve questions and come to know what are the mistakes

By Gopi

Jul 25, 2020

Quiz's are easy to understand, but Graded quiz's are very difficult to attend because need more clarity on questions

By manish R

Jul 13, 2020

BASICS OF EXCEL SKILLS AND ANALYZING THE DATA ACCORDING TO THE BUSINESS NEEDS

THANK YOU

MANISH RUPANI

+91-7974098903

By Donna M

Sep 9, 2020

Some questions were so hard with no real teacher to ask but I figured them all out. Was a channeling experience.