Chevron Left
Back to Excel Skills for Business: Essentials

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Excel Skills for Business: Essentials by Macquarie University

4.9
stars
39,191 ratings
10,559 reviews

About the Course

In this first course of the specialization Excel Skills for Business, you will learn the essentials of Microsoft Excel. Within six weeks, you will be able to expertly navigate the Excel user interface, perform basic calculations with formulas and functions, professionally format spreadsheets, and create visualizations of data through charts and graphs. Whether you are self-taught and want to fill in the gaps for better efficiency and productivity, or whether you have never used Excel before, this course will set you up with a solid foundation to become a confident user and develop more advanced skills in later courses. The best way to learn Excel is to use Excel. In this course, learners will solve a broad range of business problems as they apply the Excel skills and techniques they learn along the way. This course uses downloadable Excel workbooks and full data sets with applied examples and practical challenge exercises. This provides learners with countless opportunities to practice their Excel skills while discovering new and useful productivity features of Excel for a variety of business contexts. Spreadsheet software is one of the most ubiquitous pieces of software used in workplaces across the world. Learning to confidently operate this software means adding a highly valuable asset to your employability portfolio. At a time when digital skills jobs are growing much faster than non-digital jobs, make sure to position yourself ahead of the rest by adding Excel skills to your employment portfolio....

Top reviews

DT
Feb 8, 2021

Really well done! You kept me interested and motivated, and that's not easy to do!\n\nI enjoyed the balance of instructional videos and hands-on exercises, and I'm excited to try the Intermediate now.

RB
Aug 28, 2019

The course was defiantly more than I expected. It not only strengthened what I did know about Excel but it showed me several options that I was not using or haven't found. I would highly recommend it.

Filter by:

401 - 425 of 10,000 Reviews for Excel Skills for Business: Essentials

By Gabriela G O

Dec 5, 2019

Recomiendo ampliamente este curso. La estrategia didáctica es pertinente y oportuna. Se cumple el propósito de cada semana mediante materiales didácticos y actividades de aprendizaje correctos. Sugiero para los estudiantes que tienen la versión de Excel en español, verificar la combinación de teclas porque no es la misma que en inglés.

By Moza A A

Jul 23, 2020

A perfect course to start kicking out the world of Excel. I have started with a little knowledge and now I feel awesome for achieving a lot. I am no longer afraid of excel and I never thought that it is going to be as a piece of cake !! if you really want to start excelling excel, this course is the perfect match for you. Good Luck !!

By Germán L B L

Mar 15, 2020

I can see the effort of trying to stablish a methodology that fit on the different excel versions and format worldwide in order to make a standardized exam, great job! Also, tips, exams questions and extra material encourage you to find different ways and explore more all excel option...

Thanks i have learned a lot.

By tofu T

Oct 4, 2020

I was skeptical about this course teaching me anything new, but I was pleasantly proven wrong. As Nicky said, most of us are self-taught and that leaves us with a lot of unknown blind spots. Everything was explained in detail, and whatever was left for us to figure out on our own was solvable. This course has left me very satisfied.

By Ellen K

Aug 29, 2020

Excellent class very challenging but feel more confident about my skills in excel. Liked working on the graphs mostly. Liked how I could go back and review what I missed on the test. The instructors were excellent very engaging! The tech department got back to me right away on what I thought might be a tech issue. I would recommend!

By Arfaz A M

Jun 28, 2020

I often felt learning Excel is complicated due to the numerous resources available online and various books. This course is a must do- Although its important that you begin from the Excel essentials course as you end up being surprised with a whole lot of excel functionalities that exist. A must do course i would say. All the best !

By Pragyan S

May 7, 2020

This course was amazing. Hadn't expected all these skills could be learned so fluidly. Loved the ninja tricks and keyboard shortcuts! Now, I am determined to complete all the upcoming parts of this course up to the advanced :)

<3 Thanks Prasant and Nicky; you are great teachers <3

<3 Thanks Macquarie University <3

<3 Thanks Coursera <3

By ANA T

Sep 16, 2019

I find this class very motivating and extremelly helpful! I recently graduated with a degree in Business Administration and I see the importance of having very good excel skills. I'm planning to continue taking these classes until I'm able to master Excel! Thank you for setting up such an exciting and important class for business!

By Md. A H M

Mar 17, 2021

Excellent course to start learning Excel. The instructors explained stuffs in a way so that absolute beginners can grasp the content very easily. I became very confident at handling excel workbooks after taking one or two weeks of class and continued to get more comfortable as i went along with the course.

!...HIGHLY RECOMMENDED...!

By Sanju D

Jan 23, 2021

It was a great course. I have learned important and essential skills in Microsoft Excel. As I am an undergraduate in Quantity Surveying (in Sri Lankan University), this course will definitely help me to grow up in skills during my academic as well as a professional career.

Thank you very much for providing us such a valuable course!

By Priyanshu S

Jun 28, 2020

Starting with another course in this specialization, so it is easily understandable how good this course is, to have a strong foundation, this course is highly recommended. I am going to enroll in the whole specialization as the whole course is structured in a good manner, and made for everyone, also with the one with no knowledge.

By Veronica K

May 1, 2020

Very helpful in learning basic functions of Excel & proper names of things. As an experienced user, I found the videos and practice challenges were extremely useful in teaching more in-depth knowledge, useful shortcuts and detailed descriptions of functions within Excel. I'm excited to move on to the other sections of this course!

By Maria T

Nov 20, 2019

This course is simply amazing. All instructions are provided in a clear manner by both instructors, and the skills i've gained over such a short period of time are simply amazing. It has already made my work much more easier. I didn't know Excel was so much fun! I plan to enroll for the next parts of the course as well. Thank you!

By Charissa B

Nov 23, 2020

Excellent introductory course, even for someone like me who's been using Excel for some time now but had gaps in my knowledge. This was a great course to fill in the gaps in my knowledge and help me move towards become a more proficient user of Excel. Love the worksheets where I could just do the work and follow along as I do it.

By Yogesh D J

May 20, 2020

excellent course before starting this course i dont know much about Excel.Now i know excel really well as practice makes permanent.Thanks to Teacher Nicky and Prashan who made this course and explain it very perfectly."WOW' experience for me.those who dont know much about excel dont think just enroll to this course.Happy learning

By Seif H H E

Apr 29, 2020

THIS course add many information to me. this course is excellent. i have learned in this course how to sum -subtraction-division-multi ply - how to make table- print -furmoula - filter-sort-find and replace - and many many other skills ---- this course is above my expectations - i apprciate and thankful for macquarie university

By ANALY B M

Aug 16, 2020

¡Excelente Curso! Es mi favorito de todos los que he tomado. Los profesores explican claramente y todo el material que te proporcionan para practicar esta muy completo, además los test que ponen al final de cada semana ayuda a que refuerces y notes si algún tema no te quedo claro. Muchas gracias por brindar tan increíble curso.

By Carl D

Apr 12, 2020

Even though i have used excel in my job for many years and basically been self taught - this course has opened my eyes up to lots of functions, short cuts that i was not aware of with save me an excessive amount of time moving forward. I highly recommend doing this cause before trying to do any other more advanced excel courses.

By Hafsah B A

Mar 10, 2021

I really appreciate having all the video tutorials with many hands-on experiences which allows me to practice, practice and practice. I also love that I can attempt my assessments over and over again until I get a better passing rate. The explanations were clear and worksheets were so helpful. Tips and shortcuts are handy too.

By Rashmi R R

Jun 1, 2020

This course is beneficial, and the instructors have explained the course very nicely. It was helpful for me to learn new things and also some tricks in excel. I will suggest this course to everyone interested in excel. Also, the practice exercises given in the course module were beneficial in brush-up our ideas regarding excel.

By Sze M D H

Aug 24, 2020

I learned Excel SKILLS for business, now i am able to perform basic calculations with formulas and functions, format spreadsheets, create visualizations of data through charts and graphs and Printing .I have more confidence and building up my skills and knowledge. Thank you all the instructors -- Macquarie Business School

By Jeremy L S

Jul 10, 2020

Course is well done for Excel Introduction. All the practice videos and assessments are helpful, but there were some typos on the final assessment for the course. Please revise as the columns are mislabeled on a few questions. Outside of that flawless course and would recommend to anybody looking to hone their Excel skills.

By Sajjadul I

May 12, 2020

This course is tremendous if you expect to start from fundamental of excel learning. However, I believe this program is better favourable for Microsoft Windows users. You will discover some unique ninja techniques as well as crucial learning. Moreover, both instructors created the teaching system more extraordinary & cheerful.

By Abdullah A R

Apr 17, 2020

The assessments were one of the most challenging I had in Coursera. They took basic quizzes after every video to reap the ideas. Also, weekly graded quizzes were there too. Lastly, the final with the limited time was initially very daunting without practice. MUST DO course, as everyone should have the basic knowledge of Excel.

By Santhosh M

Mar 5, 2021

Exceptional Instructors. They make you feel ease at your work, yet give you the rigor needed to excel this Excel course through their well designed assignments and quizzes.

I loved it. I am looking forward for the other intermediate and advanced courses in this specialization. Can't wait more.

Kudos to Nicky Mam and Mr. Prashan