Chevron Left
Back to Excel Skills for Business: Essentials

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Excel Skills for Business: Essentials by Macquarie University

4.9
stars
38,517 ratings
10,419 reviews

About the Course

In this first course of the specialization Excel Skills for Business, you will learn the essentials of Microsoft Excel. Within six weeks, you will be able to expertly navigate the Excel user interface, perform basic calculations with formulas and functions, professionally format spreadsheets, and create visualizations of data through charts and graphs. Whether you are self-taught and want to fill in the gaps for better efficiency and productivity, or whether you have never used Excel before, this course will set you up with a solid foundation to become a confident user and develop more advanced skills in later courses. The best way to learn Excel is to use Excel. In this course, learners will solve a broad range of business problems as they apply the Excel skills and techniques they learn along the way. This course uses downloadable Excel workbooks and full data sets with applied examples and practical challenge exercises. This provides learners with countless opportunities to practice their Excel skills while discovering new and useful productivity features of Excel for a variety of business contexts. Spreadsheet software is one of the most ubiquitous pieces of software used in workplaces across the world. Learning to confidently operate this software means adding a highly valuable asset to your employability portfolio. At a time when digital skills jobs are growing much faster than non-digital jobs, make sure to position yourself ahead of the rest by adding Excel skills to your employment portfolio....

Top reviews

VJ
Nov 10, 2020

With this course you learn how to use Excel in your daily life. I recommend it to everyone that starts using excel and the ones that want to become better in understanding how it works and be quicker.

DT
Feb 8, 2021

Really well done! You kept me interested and motivated, and that's not easy to do!\n\nI enjoyed the balance of instructional videos and hands-on exercises, and I'm excited to try the Intermediate now.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 10,000 Reviews for Excel Skills for Business: Essentials

By Ivan I

May 2, 2021

This course has an excellent format. It is 100% online and there are videos that to show you exactly what to do. And if you miss anything, you just have to rewind. There are workbooks to follow while watching the videos and the quiz after each video is an excellent way of remembering what you just learnt. The speakers were very clear and easily understood. One of the best online courses ever made.

By Muhammad S Q

Sep 10, 2020

It was amazing experience. Teaching method is excellent. I'll recommend this course that everyone should try this course. Now-a-days Excel is essential now, instead of using notebook and calculator for writing and calculations we can use Excel. It was a amazing experience to learn this course. I learnt a lot from this course. The main thing i learnt from this course is " Practice Makes Permanent".

By Isha G

Oct 7, 2019

I loved how detailed yet easy to understand this course was. The instructors were great at articulately explaining everything. The practice workbooks were extremely helpful as I could side by side do the same as what I was being taught.

There were some differences on the Mac version of Excel though that were not acknowledged by the course, and I would really appreciate it if they were.

Thank you.

By Mary F

Mar 30, 2021

I enjoyed the process of learning the intricacies of MS Excel and my appreciation for this software has grown. The presenters were clear and gave plenty of opportunities to apply what you've learned. The final exam was a bit challenging since you had to remember all the details of six weeks but you can always go back and review any of the material if you forget. Thank you, Macquarie University!

By Dhanush B

Jul 6, 2020

This was a great opportunity for me to get such a quality online education for a renowned university. The way of teaching is just very simple to understand. Keeping Shawn as an virtual example "Sir Prashan and Madam Nikki " has just made the path simple. Practice video and simultaneous test makes the course most beneficial. End of the day the famous quote stands out "Practice makes permanent".

By Abdulsalam J Q M

Mar 5, 2020

This course was terrific even though I knew the basics of excel and used it. Still, this course provided the information in such an organized method that it has been so helpful and provided me to sink in the essentials very well can't wait for the intermediate. Although the only complaint I would have is that the charts section was too simplified felt very annoying uninformative, unfortunately.

By Worraporn P

May 23, 2021

I enjoyed the class so much but not the quiz part. lol It will be nice to add the explanation of what I had done wrong or what the correction should be so I could understand my mistake better. It was quite frustrated that I did not know what I did wrong and trying to fiqure it out. But don't get me wrong besides of that, I absolutely enjoyed the class and learned a lot. Thank you both of you!

By Muhammad H J

Jun 5, 2020

If you are a person who just knows how to scroll between cells of excel and nothing else. This course is for you. Imparts all essentials skills. The best part is you will not be able to copy from anywhere and will do all stuff solely yourself so it's a huge learning experience. You will not be able to find the answers to the assessments of this course. So it's a very good learning experience.

By Trey

Dec 25, 2017

This was a great course to make sure that you understand the basics of Excel. The video explanations were definitely helpful in completing the course. The only issue I had was during the final assessment the worksheet to download for some reason was not set right and when trying to autofill it would only go down 10 rows instead of the whole worksheet other than that it was a great course!

By Chelsea L F

Nov 1, 2020

Honestly, I did not know I was going to enjoy this course as much as I did. The videos are very easy to follow and the features that Excel provides are now used in my everyday life. The investment in this course was well worth it and I highly recommend it to everyone. Disregard whatever may be holding you back from taking this course and gaining access to an immense wealth of knowledge.

By Oriana B G G

Sep 27, 2020

The moment you enter the course, you think you have the idea of how to work in Excel, but you don't. Thanks to this course I have more knowledge about Excel, not only what buttons to use, but what those buttons mean, the different ways to search the tool and use it quickly and efficiently. Thanks for every week to put us in practice, because effectively with practice you get the knowledge.

By Martensite

Jun 20, 2020

Though I had prior understanding with little basics of excel, it was so hard for me to work with numerous tools of excel. After taking passing this course successfully I am pretty confident with excel now. Feels like I am able to play with excel. Thanks goes to the instructors. Specially Miki, She is so cute. I really love her chitchat words gestures. Much recommended course for beginners.

By Paul J B

Dec 14, 2018

This course offers exactly what it claims to. I took it as part of the Excel Skills for Business specialization, and even though I consider myself experienced with Excel, I still learned a few things in this course nobody had ever shown me before. It is a great introduction to Excel for novices as well as a good course to fill any gaps in your knowledge of Excel for more experienced users.

By Jazeela A

Mar 29, 2021

I'm very happy to be able to complete this course. It is an added advantage to my career . The course is well presented and learner friendly with good notes, videos, practice tests, quizzes, and not to mention the note making section . Thank you Coursera and Macquarie University for providing this course! I would highly recommend this course for those wanted to learn the basics of excel.

By Chloe J

Jan 28, 2021

This course is thorough and clear. I quickly started learning new functions of excel which I was using in day to day work, even though my job doesn't require highly specific excel capabilities. So I would recommend this course to any people who use excel, even if they think they only need to know the basics. This course was a great introduction to the most useful and quick tools in excel.

By AYMEN W

Jul 12, 2020

I am a french Excel user for more than 20 years. Tips and informations I learned from this "BASIC" course are really awsome and very useful very useful even for experienced Excel users.

It was an occasion for me to refresh my English !

I highly recommend this course for those who want to learn Excel professionally and methodically. Teachers are also very educational. Big thanks for them.

By Sabbir B

May 26, 2020

As a self-taught excel user I have known some basic, intermediate, and advanced excel functions. But, I am still stuck sometimes while performing my tasks for some basic functions and tricks, I got to learn all the basic necessities of excel in this course. I highly recommend everyone take this course to uplift their basic excel skill as we ignore these skills but they are very important.

By Randall G

Mar 10, 2018

Well structured course with great explanations and tips for getting the most out of Excel. Plenty of examples and case studies are provided for you to practice on and understand the various features of Excel. I would recommend this course to everyone, including those people who are self taught in Excel and want to polish their skills. Excel is a critical skill to have in almost every job

By Sarvesh M

Oct 27, 2020

I loved this course. This course was very interesting. I learned a lot of new skills and a lot of new concepts from this course. I am sure that I am going to take the next part of this course in a few weeks. I will complete this entire specialization so that my excel skills will be really inevitable. Thanks a lot to Maquarie University, Instructors and Coursera for providing this course.

By Mario C

Oct 2, 2020

Despite already being quite familiar with Excel and having worked with it previously, I found this course to be really helpful. It introduced me to some basic tools that I had never used. In addition to that, it taught me some new concepts about tools which I was already familiar with. The material included is quite sufficient to have a confident grasp of Excel's most essential features.

By AMOL G

May 19, 2020

about this i would have really apprecited if you had kept some revision session at the end of week 6 as its a weekly course so as to just brush up the knowledge of week 1 before giving the finall assesement paper one would have been eased to attend the exam sooner.

its really good course i am its really about practice and details which we should pay more attention.

thanks for the course.

By Gobinda C S

May 1, 2020

Thank you so much for such a beautiful course. The course structure is pretty much well planned and the course instructors are too good. Although I had the basic working knowledge of MS Excel, this course gave me proper structured knowledge of using the tools. I will be doing other courses soon. Stay safe, Stay Healthy.

Regards

Gobinda Chandra Sahu

Tata Institute of Social Sciences Mumbai

By Victoria C

Jan 25, 2021

It is a great course that provides the necessary tools to understand and navigate easily through excel; everything is explained really well and also has activities to reinforce the learned content. Some details are different in Mac or newer versions, but they give a lot of useful information so that both Windows and iOS users can complete the course harmoniously and learn excel skills!

By Md. H R

Jun 20, 2020

In one word, Fabulous. I have learned a lot from this course and my confidence is increasing. It's an effective introduction for the beginners of Microsoft excel. Most importantly I have enjoyed this course a lot. The lectures and practice challenges are pretty interesting. Moreover, it compels you to learn. So, why late! Start learning and you know, "Practice makes permanent." Cheers!

By Saee K

Jun 6, 2020

Yes, This course is very useful to all, especially for commerce students. Teaching style is excellent with simple English. Many practice workbooks are provided to practice and to play with excel. Most amazing part that I learned is to run excel without using mouse. That is awesome!!! .. I highly recommend to all of you to join this course for developing essential basic skills of excel.