Chevron Left
Back to Cameras, Exposure, and Photography

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Cameras, Exposure, and Photography by Michigan State University

4.7
stars
4,167 ratings
1,288 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to Course One of Photography Basics and Beyond: From Smartphone to DSLR! In these first 4 Modules you will gain the knowledge and the confidence that will help you make good choices as you consider qualities of the camera you own, and the qualities of the other types of digital cameras you might be considering. You will learn about the basic functions that most digital cameras have in common. You will also go beyond the "technical" matters and learn about how you can make exciting pictures by emphasizing the aspects of Frame and Vantage Point to interpret old subjects in new ways. Discovering accessories that photographers find useful, and the types of camera bags from mini to carry-on sized, is also in store for you. You will also make your first photographs and, if you are a subscriber to the specialization, upload pictures to the web gallery and start interacting with your fellow learners in our "Gallery." Let's get started with Module One!...

Top reviews

RP
May 31, 2020

It's a very good course for beginners and I got to learn a lot and improve my photography in every way possible! I recommend it to everyone who's interested in Photography and want to do more with it.

R
Dec 22, 2017

This course was very informative and provided just the right amount of challenge for me to stretch my creativity and newly obtained knowledge. I enjoyed it and I am looking forward to the next course.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 1,262 Reviews for Cameras, Exposure, and Photography

By Chaitanya K

May 15, 2018

A great course which not only provided the students with an opportunity to learn but also required them to submit timely projects so as to ensure that practical learning is also happening.

By Suneha S

Dec 3, 2016

Very enriching. I got to learn a lot about camera and photography. Professor Peter Glendinning is such an amazing teacher. He makes learning a fun process. I am glad i joined the course!

By Julia B

Nov 26, 2020

I have learned so much and I cannot wait to learn more. From learning I know that I will stand out in my photography club. The professors take it nice and slow and explain it very clearly

By Pasan M

Aug 21, 2020

I love photography but lack the basic principles of photography. I learned a lot about camera controls, frames and vantage point here. So happy about the content i learned in this course.

By Kerem K

Feb 20, 2019

The course is a good introduction for beginners to photography. The teaching style is clear and easy to follow. The material is a bit too basic, but still proves as fundamental knowledge.

By HARIPREETH R

May 21, 2020

very good course I like it .

very hearty thanks to Michigan state university and coursera for providing this course.

very hearty thanks to Prof. Peter Glendinning and Prof. Mark Suvillian.

By Claudio N

Dec 21, 2019

Overall great introductory, slow paced course. I love the instructors, very nice to listen to them. Maybe some tiny imperfection in the assignments, but I'm an obsessive perfectionist ;)

By Karima S

Feb 17, 2018

Enjoyed this course very much. Gave me a lot of confidence to have fun and not be ashamed to be out and about just trying things out. Really good solid foundation on which I am building.

By crystal j l

Jul 25, 2016

This course content was brilliant. It is a good course for everyone, from beginner to the well seasoned photographer.I think Mark & Peter will find a way to enlighten you in this course.

By Nivedita M

Jun 16, 2020

It was a very fun experience, and I got to learn many new things. It was a very flexible and easy to understand course. Overall it was very fun to be a part of the course. Thank You :)

By Nycolle D

Feb 22, 2019

I'm learning so much more than I expected. Not only technical aspects of a camera, but also how to think like a photographer and better consider what I include/not include in my frame.

By Ahmed I

Jan 7, 2021

It feels great after completing the first course in this Specialization provided by the Michigan State University. Professor Glendinning and Professor Sullivan were fun to learn from.

By Kang C

Oct 9, 2016

Good for both inexperienced and experienced photographer. Gives you a better understanding of photography as a creative expression, and will definitely make you a better photographer.

By Sathorn P

Jun 10, 2020

Thanks for this lovely course. As a person who has some background on photography, I would recommend this as a course that you will learn about the theory of basic photography that w

By Arko G

May 15, 2020

Amazing! Learnt many aspects of photography! Prof. Glendinning's splendid delivery and an added touch of great humor was a major catch! Highly recommended for beginner photographers.

By Osvaldo A F

Sep 28, 2019

The course is WONDERFUL, very complete with teachers who have dedicated their whole lives to the world of photography, all are renowned, experienced and professional. Congratulations

By Jagat k

Apr 2, 2020

Thanks for offering such an organised course. I really learnt a lot of things in this course like different features of the digital camera, a different principle of photography etc.

By Suryanarayana T V N B

Oct 18, 2017

Excellent Introduction to Photography. I had some experience in this are earlier . But I learnt a lot after this first course in this series. Thank you Professors and U of Michigan.

By Dennisse P

Feb 23, 2021

The professors explain very careful and every detail of a variety of cameras. Recommended for anyone that's interesting on photography and don't know where to start, very helpful.

By Diana M L

Dec 23, 2020

I learned so much from this course, from the technical terms to actual taking of photos. Thank you so much to Coursera, DOST and the professors. This course is highly recommended!

By Luis L d V R

Apr 15, 2019

Very time convenient, well taught, Peter and Mark are clear an to the point on what to do and not to do in the world of photography. Easy to understand and full of great examples.

By yaa3roub E

Nov 10, 2018

it was wonderful, fun,and very useful,and it learns us very much things that we didn't know it yet

thanks for professors and for every person help us to learn this course

greetings

By Gleen P I G

Nov 24, 2020

This course has help me develop and improve my skills and knowledge in photography. Well done Prof. Peter Glendinning and Prof. Mark Sullivan. Thank You both! Thank you Coursera!

By Houssam E H

Jan 16, 2018

im an artist, i needed to learn how to take pictures of my paintings, this course helped me not onely with that, but also how to do better frame and compositions in my paintings.

By prateeksingh

Feb 5, 2017

The professors are really good. They explained how even the simple things can make a significant changes in the photographs we take. This course is as good as the python course.