Chevron Left
Back to Cameras, Exposure, and Photography

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Cameras, Exposure, and Photography by Michigan State University

4.8
stars
5,092 ratings

About the Course

Welcome to Course One of Photography Basics and Beyond: From Smartphone to DSLR! In these first 4 Modules you will gain the knowledge and the confidence that will help you make good choices as you consider qualities of the camera you own, and the qualities of the other types of digital cameras you might be considering. You will learn about the basic functions that most digital cameras have in common. You will also go beyond the "technical" matters and learn about how you can make exciting pictures by emphasizing the aspects of Frame and Vantage Point to interpret old subjects in new ways. Discovering accessories that photographers find useful, and the types of camera bags from mini to carry-on sized, is also in store for you. You will also make your first photographs and, if you are a subscriber to the specialization, upload pictures to the web gallery and start interacting with your fellow learners in our "Gallery." Let's get started with Module One!...

Top reviews

RP

May 31, 2020

It's a very good course for beginners and I got to learn a lot and improve my photography in every way possible! I recommend it to everyone who's interested in Photography and want to do more with it.

R

Dec 22, 2017

This course was very informative and provided just the right amount of challenge for me to stretch my creativity and newly obtained knowledge. I enjoyed it and I am looking forward to the next course.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 1,559 Reviews for Cameras, Exposure, and Photography

By Salma B

Sep 25, 2022

I really learned alot in this course. at first I thought it is a very basic course as I usually shot with my camera since I was a child, but it ended that I learned so much. thank you so much for this amazing course.

By Beatriz B

Nov 11, 2021

Extremamente necessário, com conteúdos bem desenvolvidos e questionamentos que me fizeram refletir em qual tipo de fotografoq uero ser, qual tipo de foto quero tirar, qual mensagem quero passar com a minha fotografia.

By Sierra N

Aug 7, 2020

This course is a wonderful place to start, especially if you are new to photography. I gained a much better understanding of the equipment I have, and what equipment I need to move forward successfully in photography.

By Tracy R

Jun 22, 2016

I am very new to the world of photography and this course was without a doubt geared toward someone like me. I really learned a lot from this course and I have told that my pictures are already starting to improve.

By Ivan D A

Aug 9, 2020

That´s what I was looking for. Very detailed information, with a good methodology, excellent professors, and very didactic. I completely understood the photo basis everyone needs at the start point of photography.

By Jacinta M

Apr 30, 2016

Absolutely Excellent. Tutors delivering this course are so knowledgeable but also present the information very well. They speak clearly and at such a good pace for learners. Thank you Professors Peter and Mark.

By Besiki K

Mar 14, 2016

The course is really interesting, along with lessons, I like the cooperation between students in reviewing each other''s pictures - it's very interesting.

Waiting for the next course with interest.

Best of luck,

Beso.

By Tiffany M

Apr 13, 2016

Introduction course to all the basic camera controls from button functions to memory card formatting to type of camera bag to use. Good place to start if you want to begin with the physical aspects of photography.

By Ken B

Jan 10, 2023

A really good overview and a refresher that I was hoping for in signing up for this course. Not only did it bring back concepts but also taught me some new things about shooting with a DLSR. Well worth my time!

By Silvana P

May 10, 2018

I didn't know what to expect, but it is really well done. The lectures are clear, easy to follow and very, very informative. The peer graded assignments are a good way to focus on what one learns. I recommend it.

By Alexandra P

Sep 3, 2020

These instructors are awesome and incredibly detailed! Each photo assignment is a great challenge and you WILL learn photography if you put in the work. All of the supplemental materials are fascinating as well.

By Junko S

Jun 26, 2017

Great course with both practical and inspirational advice. One of the best courses I've ever taken. Looking forward to following courses in Photography Basics and Beyond: From Smartphone to DSLR Specialization.

By Nayeli A M G

Sep 23, 2022

Me gustó mucha esta unidad, porque se parte desde los conceptos más básicos de la fotografía. Ello permite que sea un curso, incluso, para principiantes, quienes deseen aventurarse en el mundo de la fotografía

By iyad K

Apr 21, 2020

it was good to know what those things on the dial and what do they exactly do.

I have learned how to compose a picture and take on different elements in the foreground and bring with them in with the right lens.

By Birgit M

Mar 6, 2017

I like the course because it puts the emphasis on creating great photos by finding interesting vantage points. A photograph can be technically perfect but still be boring if you do not find the right viewpoint.

By Daria K

Dec 13, 2021

I like the course very much. I like the lectures and the tasks that were given. Especially I like the form in which the professor Peter Glendinning gave the information. I am goint to continue specialization.

By Gisselle M

Sep 28, 2020

I have definitely learned no only to understand more my digital camera, but to critique my own photographs with a professional point the view. Have adquired a new meaning of the photograph world. Thank YOU!!!!

By Lara M L

Feb 28, 2021

Great start for photography lovers. Everything you need to know to understand the camera and start improving your skills. The teachers are great, very didactic and experienced. I highly recommend this course!

By Deleted A

Nov 4, 2017

I was studding photography 4 years a go and I can say that this course is really complete and helpful and it help me to remember many things that I already forgot and discover new things that I didn't know

By Ravneet M

Aug 13, 2017

The order and structure of the lessons make it easier to grasp concepts step-by-step. The reference material is relevant and the assignments really help students start identifying their style of photography.

By Chantelle E

Feb 26, 2016

I loved it. There was a few technical hitches but it didn't take from the course. I learned much more than I ever expected and it has helped me improve my photography. I am looking forward to the next part.

By Kaushik.M

Aug 19, 2020

A very clear and a well scripted course which helps you in understanding the basic of camera as well as the importance of light and the theory behind it

Hats off to professor Peter Glendining for his efforts

By Denny C D

Nov 30, 2020

I am so happy to be able to complete the first course about the basics of photography.. The classes were excellent, The assignments gave a lot of new insights and helped me to get camera control.

Thankyou.

By Saulius K

Sep 29, 2020

Loved it very much, hope in future

Lithuanian Employment Services will sign for full course, not only for one month. Thank you very much even for this virtual opportunity be part of Michigan University.

By Fabian G C

Jun 18, 2020

Muy buen curso, realmente claro y ameno para aprender aspectos básicos de la fotografía y las cámaras. En este punto siento que he podido avanzar en conocimientos fundamentales en relación a la fotografía