Chevron Left
Back to Cameras, Exposure, and Photography

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Cameras, Exposure, and Photography by Michigan State University

4.8
stars
5,093 ratings

About the Course

Welcome to Course One of Photography Basics and Beyond: From Smartphone to DSLR! In these first 4 Modules you will gain the knowledge and the confidence that will help you make good choices as you consider qualities of the camera you own, and the qualities of the other types of digital cameras you might be considering. You will learn about the basic functions that most digital cameras have in common. You will also go beyond the "technical" matters and learn about how you can make exciting pictures by emphasizing the aspects of Frame and Vantage Point to interpret old subjects in new ways. Discovering accessories that photographers find useful, and the types of camera bags from mini to carry-on sized, is also in store for you. You will also make your first photographs and, if you are a subscriber to the specialization, upload pictures to the web gallery and start interacting with your fellow learners in our "Gallery." Let's get started with Module One!...

Top reviews

RP

May 31, 2020

It's a very good course for beginners and I got to learn a lot and improve my photography in every way possible! I recommend it to everyone who's interested in Photography and want to do more with it.

R

Dec 22, 2017

This course was very informative and provided just the right amount of challenge for me to stretch my creativity and newly obtained knowledge. I enjoyed it and I am looking forward to the next course.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 1,559 Reviews for Cameras, Exposure, and Photography

By Photogram

May 12, 2021

It is so much in detail. Been practicing Photography for so many years but I must there were a few things which I definitely learned new. This course has helped me build my basics even stronger and firm. I totally recommend this course to my peers as well.

By Benjamín P

Dec 4, 2016

It was really awesome, I'm I knew a little bit about photography but after this short course, my perception of the world and the things around me really changed. Also my technique improved and it was clearly visible in my photographs. Thank you very much.

By Marina L

Sep 21, 2016

I enjoyed every minute of the lectures! The professors are really enthusiastic and professional, and they are nice) The information is given in all details, but just enough - and you don't get bored.

Thanks to Michigan State University, thanks to Coursera!

By Sissy T

Oct 3, 2017

I considerably improved my ability to take photographs just with this course, which provides a huge quantity of material to explore. The professors are nice and really efficient. I can't wait to continue with the next courses of photography. Thank you!

By SEPALAMI P

Sep 27, 2020

This is the best I have taken online. I have always looking for course that will provide the fundamentals skills of photography from beginner to professionals. With the knowledge and skills I obtained from this course I will achieve my goals in life.

By Heriberto D

Mar 4, 2016

It's a very interesting and complete course. They show how to use the camera, how to buy a camera according to your needing, and a very extensive list of accesories. Also they teach how to compose pictures properly, concepts of aesthetics, and so on.

By Ron S

Feb 15, 2023

skills, concepts, amd instructors were the best - after putting down the 35mm camera 15 years ago, I needed a refresher on the technical and artist side - rediscovered my joy and first love - Photography Thank You Peter Glendenning and Mark Sullivan

By Eighn S

Nov 21, 2020

Photography is one of my #1 interest and passion, each to appreciate so a lot and it has helped me to learned with taking pictures. I love photography, because it has allowed me the opportunity in people' s most extraordinary minutes consistently.

By Avinash T

Dec 28, 2016

Awesome course with excellent professors, Mark & Peter are the best mentors anyone can ever have. Has given me so much more knowledge about photography and helped me explore new aspects of it. thanks to Coursera and MSU for introducing this course.

By Mariel A

Sep 30, 2020

The lessons are very informative. I learned a lot on the first course. I really appreciate the way the professors explain the lessons and make you understand the technical stuffs. I really recommend it to the aspiring and passionate photographers.

By Katarzyna M

Dec 27, 2020

A huge dose of knowledge regarding photography. I recommend it either for people who are at the beginning of photography or for those who want to know something more. The basic knowledge explained in a very good way by professional photographers!

By Ujjawal S

Jul 20, 2020

I loved this course, its very neat and insightful. The lectures are amazing and have a proper flow to them. Both the instructors are great in the way they explain things, and their level of experience does give us a feel about proper photography.

By Pako M

Oct 15, 2020

This is a wonderful course that i have learnt a lot from. I can say i have gained confidence in holding my camera and going about my photography because of the course. I have also learnt a lot of important concepts that have made me conversant.

By Abhishek T

Apr 24, 2020

The course was really good. It was eye opening experience. I have learnt alot about photography. I know what type of camera I need to use for the photographs I like to shoot. I have learnt how camera's work. Everything is explained really well.

By Naniko G

Mar 28, 2021

I think the course is very useful for beginner photographers and also for the people who are trying to get more information about their cameras. I have just bought the DSLR camera and this course helped me to set up and use my camera properly.

By Oluwaseun O O

Nov 10, 2016

Suddenly after taking this course, I can not imagine any one becoming a photographer without this essential knowledge. These knowledge I now feel is basic to anyone who is serious about making photographs. Funnny how knowledge transforms us

By Richard B

May 20, 2021

Both professors were extremely knowledgeable and aimed their presentations at total armatures. Outstanding course and I look forward to the next. Peer grades were somewhat useless as a lot was “you are awesome, great job, wonderful, Etc.”

By Mako H

May 17, 2020

Very useful course! I bought my camera a few months ago but I did not know any technical words and how to set up my camera. So far I was using only Auto but this course helped me to enjoy with my camera with manual mode and so on! thank you

By Steven C

Sep 21, 2020

The mix of lecture, reading and peer review made this class really enjoyable. The combination of two professors and the extra readings outside of the course gave me good understanding of the basics of Cameras, exposure and photography.

By Paulina M

Nov 2, 2020

A great course for beginners of amateur photographers who wish to start doing business. It helps understand the basics, and as a plus, students must submit their work, involving practice. This is also a way to know other peoples' style.

By Juan A V

Mar 4, 2018

I found this really useful. To be perfectly honest, I already knew about many of the subjects taught here thanks to a small photography course I had in my film bachelor's degree but the extra information was lovely. Totally recommended.

By Tarek M M H

Jun 13, 2022

Awesome course! Great for total beginners on phtotography and the concept of how to be a professional even it is just the first. Will keep going through the remaining courses.

Thank you instructors Peter Glendining and Mark Sullivan!

By Lauren W

Jun 10, 2020

Very easy to follow. Great instructors that speak clearly and easy to understand, I love how there is a script of what they say as well to follow along with. Many practice quizzes to ensure you are understanding and fun assignments

By Vibha R

Aug 4, 2020

I enjoyed all the lectures and I appreciate how nicely the professors explained everything. I am so glad that I learnt this skill and I will now be able to work even better with my camera. I highly recommend this course. Thank you!

By Utpal B

Mar 26, 2017

This is one of the most informative, well researched and philosophical course available online. It deals the technical aspects with such a humane flair that it transcends to more engaging and immersive learning experience each day.