Chevron Left
Back to Cameras, Exposure, and Photography

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Cameras, Exposure, and Photography by Michigan State University

4.8
stars
5,093 ratings

About the Course

Welcome to Course One of Photography Basics and Beyond: From Smartphone to DSLR! In these first 4 Modules you will gain the knowledge and the confidence that will help you make good choices as you consider qualities of the camera you own, and the qualities of the other types of digital cameras you might be considering. You will learn about the basic functions that most digital cameras have in common. You will also go beyond the "technical" matters and learn about how you can make exciting pictures by emphasizing the aspects of Frame and Vantage Point to interpret old subjects in new ways. Discovering accessories that photographers find useful, and the types of camera bags from mini to carry-on sized, is also in store for you. You will also make your first photographs and, if you are a subscriber to the specialization, upload pictures to the web gallery and start interacting with your fellow learners in our "Gallery." Let's get started with Module One!...

Top reviews

R

Dec 22, 2017

This course was very informative and provided just the right amount of challenge for me to stretch my creativity and newly obtained knowledge. I enjoyed it and I am looking forward to the next course.

RP

May 31, 2020

It's a very good course for beginners and I got to learn a lot and improve my photography in every way possible! I recommend it to everyone who's interested in Photography and want to do more with it.

Filter by:

1551 - 1560 of 1,560 Reviews for Cameras, Exposure, and Photography

By Dawn A

May 30, 2016

I wish I could at least read the assignments if not get reviews on them in the audited version.

By Anubhav S

Aug 25, 2020

i thought its for smartphone as well. you should specify.

By Sudheer M

Apr 18, 2018

Very light weight. Technicalities are not covered enough.

By Nikki D

Oct 2, 2021

It was to much off topic discussion for me

By Judith C

Oct 23, 2022

This course is unmonitored and extremely outdated. There is rarely any real participation because no one checks. It's easy to cheat and 75% of what I see is just that - cheating. It's unfortunate, because some information is timeless (composition will always be composition), but it's so outweighed by the three weeks spent learning an app which no longer exists. It's a real shame. Six years ago this was probably fantastic, but now? Barely worth the effort for the most part.

By Katie G

Feb 15, 2021

This course spends far too much time expounding on how wonderful the professors are. I took this course to learn about photography, not to learn about the professors. Honestly, I don't care who you are, as long as you teach me in an engaging way, but I could never get to that point because they wouldn't stop talking about themselves.

By Meschefske

Jul 11, 2021

On the extreme side of basic. The course information makes it seem like you are going to learn more about the camera and settings vs just getting some terms and a hodge podge of videos. If you are serious about advancing your skills, I would not recommend this course.

By Nafis F T

Aug 14, 2023

Very old and low level course. Never ever recommended.

By Kevin H

Jan 26, 2023

Outdated material, several technical issues.

By RAGHURAM D R

Aug 28, 2022

idiotic submission issues