Chevron Left
Back to Cameras, Exposure, and Photography

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Cameras, Exposure, and Photography by Michigan State University

4.8
stars
5,093 ratings

About the Course

Welcome to Course One of Photography Basics and Beyond: From Smartphone to DSLR! In these first 4 Modules you will gain the knowledge and the confidence that will help you make good choices as you consider qualities of the camera you own, and the qualities of the other types of digital cameras you might be considering. You will learn about the basic functions that most digital cameras have in common. You will also go beyond the "technical" matters and learn about how you can make exciting pictures by emphasizing the aspects of Frame and Vantage Point to interpret old subjects in new ways. Discovering accessories that photographers find useful, and the types of camera bags from mini to carry-on sized, is also in store for you. You will also make your first photographs and, if you are a subscriber to the specialization, upload pictures to the web gallery and start interacting with your fellow learners in our "Gallery." Let's get started with Module One!...

Top reviews

R

Dec 22, 2017

This course was very informative and provided just the right amount of challenge for me to stretch my creativity and newly obtained knowledge. I enjoyed it and I am looking forward to the next course.

RP

May 31, 2020

It's a very good course for beginners and I got to learn a lot and improve my photography in every way possible! I recommend it to everyone who's interested in Photography and want to do more with it.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 1,560 Reviews for Cameras, Exposure, and Photography

By Anand K D

Nov 2, 2017

I just completed week 1 of this course and i am already in love with it. This is the best course on Coursera for photography....if you really wanna advance in photography world you are at the right place.

By HECTOR S H

Jun 4, 2016

Me encanta el curso, esta bien organizado y el contenido es muy bueno. Estoy muy feliz por la gran oportunidad que me han dado de pertenecer a este maravilloso curso. Les agradezco infinitamente su apoyo.

By Renata V G D R

Dec 14, 2020

Great introductory info. Professor Glendining is very thorough explaining every detail.

Peer assignment feedbacks are useless, so I wish there were also instructors or their assistants reviewing our work.

By Moshiur R T

Mar 30, 2021

Informative, helpful & beginner-friendly course. Speeches & the texts are easy to understand. Also, the practical assignments are the most useful things in this course for developing photography skills!

By Prasun K

Dec 28, 2017

I was expecting that in this course, the photography techniques will be taught so that I can use my DSLR more efficiently. But, the course is all about buying a new camera and about general photography.

By Sara H A

Jan 16, 2022

The course is very dynamic. I learned important information that will help to improve my skills. The photography projects were my favourite part of the course, because I could apply what I learned.

By VALERIA P M

Jun 14, 2020

Realmente me gustó lo aprendido, reforcé conocimientos olvidados y los profesores son muy buenos y directos a la hora de transmitir la información y el conocimiento. Espero pronto seguir aprediendo

By Poon J

Mar 17, 2016

I am a beginner in photography and find this course of great help. It's much easier to take control of the camera when I get to know how it works. And I believe I could learn more from the course.

By Esther A

Nov 8, 2021

This is a great introduction to your camera and compsing photos. There are some aspects that are very basic, but that is needed so they can build on that knowledge. I am glad I took this course.

By Deana D F

Jan 19, 2023

Great way to reach many learning styles: video, with the dialog typed and the ability to copy the dialog to create notes. I really enjoyed your teach style breaking down every step. Thank you

By Minh A G T

Feb 6, 2022

I really love this course. It lets me know a plenty aspects of photography that I didn't have chance to know before. Thanks to Coursera and Professors for this useful course. Thank you so much!

By Martin C

Dec 4, 2020

Much learning, much knowledge. Eternally grateful to professors Mark and Peter for the dedication, intelligence, disposition and quality of teaching that they gave me. I am very excited indeed.

By Lahiru B

Sep 26, 2020

it definitely increases our enthusiasm and passion for photography, this course gives us the basics of photography and camera settings. thank you professors for your encouragement and efforts.

By İlayda A

Dec 27, 2020

Prof. Glendinning was a tremendous mentor in this course. Loved his teaching, very thankful for that! Plus, the content was just enough so that it was not too much and boring or insufficient.

By TAHMEED M

Apr 23, 2020

A very wonderful course and beautiful explanations. Prof. Peter and Mark's experience have helped a lot to make this course significant. Specially for those who really want to do photography.

By Glaucia F B

Apr 25, 2022

Excellent course for those who have no basic knowledge of photography and cameras. It was useful for me and I hope to continue taking the other courses for better development in photography.

By Abdul S

Feb 25, 2023

I've learned the basic concepts of Photography. How to hold the camera and how to view the scenes from different angles. Taking Symmetric and Asymmetric shots. I really ejoyed this course.

By Ali N E

May 4, 2022

It was a perfect photography course that I learned the camera and adjusting the light correctly And I realized that photography helps us to see differently And write our words with light.

By Jairo E T C

Jul 5, 2020

Better impossible, excellent teachers, very complete and clear explanations, adequate exercises, they touch all the subjects involved with much property and knowledge, congratulations !!!!

By Chaitanya K

May 15, 2018

A great course which not only provided the students with an opportunity to learn but also required them to submit timely projects so as to ensure that practical learning is also happening.

By Suneha S

Dec 3, 2016

Very enriching. I got to learn a lot about camera and photography. Professor Peter Glendinning is such an amazing teacher. He makes learning a fun process. I am glad i joined the course!

By Julia B

Nov 26, 2020

I have learned so much and I cannot wait to learn more. From learning I know that I will stand out in my photography club. The professors take it nice and slow and explain it very clearly

By Pasan M

Aug 21, 2020

I love photography but lack the basic principles of photography. I learned a lot about camera controls, frames and vantage point here. So happy about the content i learned in this course.

By Kerem K

Feb 20, 2019

The course is a good introduction for beginners to photography. The teaching style is clear and easy to follow. The material is a bit too basic, but still proves as fundamental knowledge.

By HARIPREETH R

May 21, 2020

very good course I like it .

very hearty thanks to Michigan state university and coursera for providing this course.

very hearty thanks to Prof. Peter Glendinning and Prof. Mark Suvillian.