Chevron Left
Back to Cameras, Exposure, and Photography

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Cameras, Exposure, and Photography by Michigan State University

4.8
stars
5,097 ratings

About the Course

Welcome to Course One of Photography Basics and Beyond: From Smartphone to DSLR! In these first 4 Modules you will gain the knowledge and the confidence that will help you make good choices as you consider qualities of the camera you own, and the qualities of the other types of digital cameras you might be considering. You will learn about the basic functions that most digital cameras have in common. You will also go beyond the "technical" matters and learn about how you can make exciting pictures by emphasizing the aspects of Frame and Vantage Point to interpret old subjects in new ways. Discovering accessories that photographers find useful, and the types of camera bags from mini to carry-on sized, is also in store for you. You will also make your first photographs and, if you are a subscriber to the specialization, upload pictures to the web gallery and start interacting with your fellow learners in our "Gallery." Let's get started with Module One!...

Top reviews

LB

Invalid date

it definitely increases our enthusiasm and passion for photography, this course gives us the basics of photography and camera settings. thank you professors for your encouragement and efforts.

DA

Invalid date

One of the nice things about this course, is that it challenges one to DO something - take photos. My trusty old point-and-shoot doesn't know what has hit it - it has never worked so hard before.

Filter by:

276 - 300 of 1,560 Reviews for Cameras, Exposure, and Photography

By Atheer M

May 26, 2016

As a professional photographer , I can say , this course was amazing

I am teaching in art academy , and this course very useful for me in teaching

Thank you for this great job

By Martin G

Mar 22, 2022

It is a good course to take. I would personally recommend this to get the abilitly to take pictures as a bussines or if you just want to take better pictures of yourself.

By sara j

Jan 3, 2024

thank you so much for this great course, I'm looking forward to take the other courses . I recommend everyone to take this course! it gave me so many skills and knowledge..

By Elizabeth C

Oct 29, 2020

Enjoyed learning and exploring the area of photography and becoming more proficient with my camera. Very supportive environment of professors and peer reviews is excellent.

By undefined a

Apr 29, 2020

I was very happy to take this course, perfect for someone interested in photography who wants to learn a little more about camera functions and basic techniques. Thank you!

By Jessel C

Nov 26, 2020

I really loved the peer review. I get to see the wonderful works of my fellow learners. The mentors really are passionate with their field and their passion is contagious!

By Alina G C

Jul 4, 2020

Me gustó demasiado el curso, me encanta que sean casi puros videos, ya que se me hace mas dinámico, los profesores se nota que les gusta demasiado enseñar. Muy buen curso.

By Jonathan V

Jan 16, 2017

This course did everything I wanted it to do : it has made me a better photographer, it has raised my game by improving my practical knowledge and the way I see the world.

By Qiwei D (

Aug 19, 2016

not only knowledge of photography, but also creative thinking for the way you take photo.

which is critical for you to taking the next step to reach the professional level.

By Nikhil N

May 4, 2020

Amazing Introduction course with a lot of incredible techniques, history of photography, different camera operations, the equipment and a lot more of skills and training.

By pratik k

Mar 29, 2020

This course really helped me yo understand all the camera related concepts. This also increased my intrest in this field. Also thanks to professor for teaching so nicely.

By Jonathan H D A

Sep 17, 2019

Very satisfied, happy and grateful for the amount of information acquired, the modality facilitates learning, with the desire to continue with the other four courses. ;)

By Thamires P

Jun 26, 2018

The course was really helpful and I learned a lot! It was more than I expected. I feel that after this course I understand a lot more about photography than I did before.

By Ali A

Apr 10, 2018

for someone who has a tough time understanding concepts, i found this course very useful and have learned things in photography, which i have struggled with, in the past

By Gihan V T

Aug 1, 2020

Great experience to a beginner to start with. The professors are explaining well, and the peer graded assignments have tested the lessons taught in a productive manner.

By Ann M S

Apr 13, 2019

Love photography and I have taken alot of photos in my 64 years but this course has given me a new look at how to make them better. Thank you for providing this class

By Natalie F

Oct 28, 2019

As a self-taught photographer, I learned valuable information that will help me in the field of photography. Excellent course for the new and experienced photographer.

By Roberto G

Nov 3, 2023

I had no idea how much there was to learn about photography until I took this class. it is very essential learning if you want to get the results you want to achieve.

By Ani C

Jul 31, 2017

Es genial, los profesores explican bien. Los temas son dinámicos y sencillos en la manera en que están encarados.

Lo único que a veces no funciona bien el subtitulado.

By Bruno d S A X

Mar 7, 2016

Very nice course, lots of information, well structured. Tries to take you out of the "common" and visualize distinct aspects of your photos, new angles, perspectives!

By Amy E H

Aug 2, 2020

Wonderful course. Fully engaging. Permits hands on experience. Loved the clear and precise instruction. Professors were easy to learn from and experts in the field.

By GUDE P

May 27, 2020

the course given by Sir Peter Glendinning was very useful and knowledge based. Every episode was much interesting and made my mind sharp.Thank you for the coursera.

By Benelyn B

Nov 18, 2020

Learned a lot about the Technical terms of a DSLR that I didn't know existed, from its history to the tiniest details and how to use it. THANK YOU FOR THIS COURSE!

By Agusto A G L

Jul 1, 2020

Great course to have an introduction to photography and start with the first steps in the right direction. I really found all of the information very interesting.

By Akhil K

Sep 7, 2020

Excellent and easy to understand. I got a good foundation and clarified many doubts on the photography basics from this course. Thank you professors and Coursera