Chevron Left
Back to Personal & Family Financial Planning

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Personal & Family Financial Planning by University of Florida

4.6
stars
771 ratings
260 reviews

About the Course

Personal and Family Financial Planning will address many critical personal financial management topics in order to help you learn prudent habits both while in school and throughout your lifetime....

Top reviews

AA

May 26, 2018

The course was very accessible and very at ease when it came to completing the various assignments for evaluation. Was very satisfied with the video presentations and the various tutorials as well.

V

Apr 17, 2020

This course opened my eyes to the wonderful and excellent world of family planning and finance, made me grasp the fundamentals of mutual funds, tax planning and investments. I recommend 100%

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 262 Reviews for Personal & Family Financial Planning

By Brittany B

Apr 06, 2020

There are a number of reasons I'm quitting this course. 1) Lack of research and understanding of the subject material. This professor assumes that those without savings have spent recklessly in the past, and doesn't address the needs of some 50% of possible learners taking this course. In fact, I'd go far enough to say that the majority of people who would be taking a course on personal and family financial planning, are likely the sort of folks who would not have previously held financial stability. You can make an argument for why this might be, but evidence is that the majority of Americans are living paycheck to paycheck not by choice, but by economic design. As such, this content is dismissive, offensive, hurtful, and above all else, unhelpful to those who are looking to learn and strategize in spite of their financial situation. I'm totally disappointed. 2) Unprofessional attire and dress. The way this professor presents himself is distracting from a video-based learning environment.

By Ralph M

Aug 02, 2018

Quite interesting, but the assignment and quiz questions for the verified certificate and very easy (there are some more complex assignment tasks mentioned in the course, but they aren't actually included in the grading). The content is also *very* parochial (US-centric), which is good if non-US students want to learn a bit about the foibles of the US version of retirement savings, medical insurance and mutual fund fees... A good introduction to the core areas of financial planning if you are just starting out.

The lecturer does emphasize actively managed mutual funds a lot - I'd suggest reading up on the research that shows that most of these actually underperform the relevant market index once fees (and survivor bias - poorly performing funds tend to be closed down and disappear from the performance tables) are taken into account, so a mix of low-cost index funds may be worth checking out.

By Jennifer B V

Feb 11, 2019

The discussion is very informative and helpful. I've learned a lot and my perspective in personal and family financial planning has widen and deepened. Thank you to Coursera and sir Michael!

By Tatiana M

Feb 21, 2020

A nice course: a lot of useful information for beginners.,

There are some major drawbacks though:

1. Some links to material are broken.

2. Some videos have poor quality of audio.

3. Debatable structure of the course: I've taken it with some knowledge on this topic and still it was hard to follow. I can't imagine, how it would be for complete beginner.

By DHRUV P

Apr 15, 2018

The course is well designed for a beginner who wish to understand Personal & Family Financial Planning and wants a kick start getting hold of his finances. The course takes you step by step and provide sufficient material as tools to manage your finances. Though more suited for residents of United States, the basic structure is still useful in carving out if you are looking for requisite understanding in family financial planning.

By Ali A

May 26, 2018

The course was very accessible and very at ease when it came to completing the various assignments for evaluation. Was very satisfied with the video presentations and the various tutorials as well.

By MK

Apr 20, 2020

I am discontinuing this course, the lectures are poorly written and appear to have never been introduced to editing, the mathematics are horribly taught, and so far, all examples are from a "get out of debt" point of view.

If you are good with your finances and/or practice healthy financial habits, this course is not for you. If you want to learn subjects of accounting, this is a great topic but badly taught. Do not waste your time.

By Vincent A J

Apr 17, 2020

This course opened my eyes to the wonderful and excellent world of family planning and finance, made me grasp the fundamentals of mutual funds, tax planning and investments. I recommend 100%

By Saroj Y

May 26, 2020

It was a very interested and informative course .I thoroughly enjoyed this course. I have gained lots of knowledge regarding financial planning through this course.

Thankyou so much

By Narayan M

Apr 14, 2020

Really good course every one who want to manage his finance must do this course. i have learned lot from this course.

Thanks UF.

with Regards.

Narayan Mohite,

By Alejandro C R

Feb 13, 2019

Excellent and charismatic professor Michael Gutter provides useful personal finances hints and explanations along the course.

By ELSA G

Sep 14, 2017

This is the course I needed to adequately plan my financial security. Excellent course. Thanks!

By Kenneth d L

Aug 06, 2019

EXCELLENT LEARNING EXPERIENCE. KUDOS TO PROFESSOR GUTTER! :)

By Scott Z

Aug 08, 2016

Great overview of personal financial planning!

By Dongwon L

Oct 28, 2016

Practical information you can put to use right away. This class was fun and easy. It's an 8 week long course, but finished within 2 weeks. It's not really time consuming, so I definitely recommend anyone who's not too financially savvy to give this course a go!

By Joaquín V B

Oct 30, 2016

Good Course and Professor very clear. But a lot of content (40%) is for USA.

By Sathida P

May 16, 2020

The sound is inconsistent, it's really hard to hear.

By Ritik K

Jul 05, 2020

I'm Ritik Khaitan and am pursuing baccalaureate in Business Finance from NTU Singapore. I took this course to enhance my financial skills. Well, my parents had urged me to take this course so that I could better manage my finances; having been an adult.

The course helped me a lot about understanding a plethora of domains in handling one's finances like credit score, mutual funds, etc. Certainly, the credit score topic was fun and interesting and was full of actionable insights to better manage one's credit.

By Benjamin M

Apr 22, 2020

Though the material is somewhat dated (if I recall- the most recent info discusses 2016 tax law) the subject is timeless and just as important now. Dr. G does an amazing job of presenting information in a manner that is able to be understood while doing so in a fun manner by seamlessly weaving in subtle jokes and personal stories to make the material relevant. Whether you have experience or need some guidance in how to direct yourself regarding your financial future this course will teach you something.

By Maryam Y

May 30, 2020

This course has been so helpful in understanding finances. For a person , who has started her professional career, I have always been confused of savings and taxes and never really knew where and how to begin with. Today, with this course, I am able to do my own taxes and look forward to having a savings plan without relying on anyone's assistance.

Many thanks!

Special thanks to the Dr. G for making this a delightful learning experience.

By Marilou E B

Jul 11, 2020

By financial plan it will help you by creating a timeline for you to follow for your goals. It may helps you to focus the way you manage your money and your time on reaching your financial goals, so that you can do the things you want to in your life. So an important part of your financial plan is your budget. So your goals and objectives that is including their priority and desired time frame for achievement, where applicable.

By Adrianne C

May 26, 2020

Incredibly helpful resource for everyone. A crash course in all things finances and investing with helpful external resources for more information on all units. Very accessible (no extra purchases needed to pass). Presentations are clear and well thought out with useful powerpoint presentations for note taking. Expect to do some extra researching to understand some of the points better.

By Santosh A

Apr 23, 2020

Truly Speaking I will be remembering the resource person and this course at every step of my life as this course is not only necessary for a particular person but to all the individuals in the world so that they can get sound knowledge of managing their financial part of life which at the end will manage all other parts. Proud to be one of the students of this course. Thank You.

By Fathima F J

Jun 01, 2020

very informative

Investing in Gold is also a great option, especially while loosing hope on Government

Shares are other sort of great investment (Blue chip companies especially, going to try)

from indian context, the agencies services available in US is of not much use, but gives an idea that there are certain agencies available in all the countries to support the investors

By ABDUL H

Apr 19, 2020

It was really informative and interesting course. I have learnt many new things that I will use in my daily life especially for investment purpose. And the most important thing is that the Instructor had good teaching methodology and he had enough knowledge about the course. Thank you so much Coursera and my Instructor for providing me such a wonderful opportunity.