Chevron Left
Back to Finance for Non-Financial Professionals

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Finance for Non-Financial Professionals by University of California, Irvine

4.6
stars
3,844 ratings
802 reviews

About the Course

Impact your financial decisions and learn how to affect the performance of your unit's profitability and of your organization. In this course gain a basic understanding of finance and accounting concepts to drive your organization's growth. Upon completion of this course, you will have gained general financial knowledge and an in-depth understanding of the impact of your decisions outside your functional area. Content of the course includes selected aspects of finance from a non-financial specialist perspective. Specific topics include: financial analysis; planning, forecasting, and budgeting; cash flow, and strategic financing. This class will be interactive and will require the active involvement of the participants in finance related activities. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Explain the importance of finance and interpretation of financial information 2. Apply the concepts of accounting and finance to analyze financials 3. Learn about key accounting and finance terms 4. Examine financial statements by using key ratios 5. Explain the importance of budgeting process 6. Learn about key components needed to improve profitability...

Top reviews

AC
Dec 14, 2017

I've enjoyed this course. Prof. Standen gives a very basic but clear overview of the most common financial topics, wished I had this course a couple of years ago it would have made my life way easier.

EM
Feb 21, 2019

An excellent well-rounded course and perfect for anyone who would like to gain some insight into financial practices. I would highly recommend this course, "Finance for Non-Financial Professionals."

Filter by:

551 - 575 of 792 Reviews for Finance for Non-Financial Professionals

By Matt P

Jan 8, 2016

This course was a good, quick introduction to finance for those of us who haven't been really exposed. My only reason for not giving 5 stars is that there were not enough examples of actually calculating ratios to understand what exactly needs to go into getting the numbers required.

By Abhijit S

Oct 22, 2015

Very good for dummies in finance or pure techies. Can add a bit more content in IRR, ROI topics as we come across those quite often. Also these topics will help engineers with technical knowledge to understand the bigger picture of financial viability of the projects they handle.

By Rachita C

Aug 14, 2015

A very nicely addressed course for the non-financial professions to apprehend. Short and to-the-point. However, if the course provided a non-paid certificate, just for keeping purposes, it would have attracted a wider audience. But overall, worth putting efforts and time into !

By pawan m

Feb 10, 2016

Good course for Non-finance people or people who interact too much with the financial chaps. With this course, One will not sit as a duck from the next time he / she sit in the business plan or other meetings, where price, cost, revenue, profit, performance, etc are disuccsed.

By Ahmad R

Aug 20, 2015

Highlight: The concept of the course itself is great and the course is well structured that makes it easy to follow. It was very basic yet had a lot of new information that will help advance in more detailed programs.

Lowlights: Need more focus and details on the Cost module.

By Laura J

Mar 2, 2016

I found the course really useful and informative and the teacher was very enigmatic and engaging. My only comment would be that perhaps the teacher goes through the slides slightly too quickly at times,as I found myself often pausing to read them. Excellent course though.

By HILARY H

Oct 26, 2020

Thanks to David Standen for conducting this Freat course especially for person who don't have a basic finance background in learning about basic financial and accounting procedure. What a great course that conducted by UCI and Mr David Standen. Thank you very much.

By Ariel K

Jan 9, 2018

Complex financial terminology is sometimes glossed over and not thoroughly explained (for a purely non-finance professional this was hard to keep up). The information was useful and will be helpful in understanding future financial discussions in my role.

By Vishesh A

Jun 23, 2020

The lecture videos are short and to-the-point. The instructor's insights are very helpful to understand the concepts better. The course touches upon basic concepts of finance without getting into too much detail. A good place for beginners to start from.

By Mohammed F A

Feb 5, 2016

A quick and very rich course, it is highly recommended for both:

1- non-financial people who are interested in finance and accounting to understand basics and;

2- instructors "like me" who wanted to help their friends who want to help people from number 1

By Raoul G

Sep 19, 2015

Very nice concise bird's eye view of the subject, which introduces important concepts, principles and practices. Highly useful for the non-financial professional who wants to get a basic understanding of what finance professionals are gabbling about!

By Michelle B

Feb 23, 2017

Although I am NOT a financial person, I did enjoy gaining a deeper understanding of the financial aspects of the business that I will eventually have to utilize. The instructor made a subject that I usually loath a bit less intimidating. Thank you

By Bart V

Nov 29, 2015

I very concise overview. The teacher is excellent. I would have liked more real life examples,e.g. looking at the numbers for real life companies and comparing them to others and seeing what we could learn from these numbers about these companies.

By Subash K R

Apr 12, 2016

As I am from science background, each and every terminology were completely new for me. After completing this course, I not only become familiar with terminologies but also understand their proper applications. Thank you for offering this course.

By Kartikeya D

May 2, 2020

Professor David has a nice way of teaching things and delve deeper into concepts but I think the course lectures could be a bit longer. They can include more real life examples and numerical problems in topics like DuPont's Pyramid, NPV and IRR.

By Sergio C

Nov 16, 2015

Really digested and simplified for people unfamiliar with financial terms or without an strong background on economics.

Strongly recommended to grasp basic, as well as, complex terms and definitions explained in a very simple way

By Niraj K

Aug 15, 2015

This course is good for basics for Non finance professionals. Topics should have bee covered more in detail and totality. For examples Accounting principles coverd only 6 or 7 principles, while there are more principles.

By Rishi A

Jan 25, 2016

Simple and important concepts that everyone should know. Took this self paced course and understood all the videos. I wish the course could have more information on Finance which is useful for entrepreneurs.

By Mostafa Y I A

Mar 30, 2019

A good introduction the basic financial language . Helps you understand what are those finance people are talking about.

More in depth studying is needed to go a little bit further with this.

By Raquel S M

Apr 19, 2020

A really useful course, with easy to understand examples and a huge amount of interesting and direct use in normal life, and of course in each business activity...join it! it worth it

By Justus H E

Sep 22, 2017

Loved the course contents, the explanations and the pace. I would have liked to have a discussion forum and see the correct solutions to the test, and especially the peer assignment.

By Luis F E D

Oct 13, 2020

Buen curso que permite validar conocimiento de conceptos bàsicos para personas que no son financieras, permitièndoles entender de manera sencilla y aplicar en el dìa a dìa. Gracias

By Timothy H

Aug 18, 2018

A reasonable brief overview of finance for non-finance professionals. I would have liked a little more detail, but his explanations were generally clear and his examples were good.

By Ruo P Z

Aug 31, 2015

As a nonfinancial person, I liked that it is a good clear intro finance. However, I wished there was more reading content available on the site to go more into depth on the topics.

By Vibhuti

Sep 9, 2015

A good overview for someone unfamiliar with finance but given the brief and introductory nature of the course, you'd need to do further reading to understand many of the concepts.