Chevron Left
Back to Finance for Non-Financial Professionals

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Finance for Non-Financial Professionals by University of California, Irvine

4.6
stars
3,695 ratings
776 reviews

About the Course

Impact your financial decisions and learn how to affect the performance of your unit's profitability and of your organization. In this course gain a basic understanding of finance and accounting concepts to drive your organization's growth. Upon completion of this course, you will have gained general financial knowledge and an in-depth understanding of the impact of your decisions outside your functional area. Content of the course includes selected aspects of finance from a non-financial specialist perspective. Specific topics include: financial analysis; planning, forecasting, and budgeting; cash flow, and strategic financing. This class will be interactive and will require the active involvement of the participants in finance related activities. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Explain the importance of finance and interpretation of financial information 2. Apply the concepts of accounting and finance to analyze financials 3. Learn about key accounting and finance terms 4. Examine financial statements by using key ratios 5. Explain the importance of budgeting process 6. Learn about key components needed to improve profitability...

Top reviews

AC
Dec 14, 2017

I've enjoyed this course. Prof. Standen gives a very basic but clear overview of the most common financial topics, wished I had this course a couple of years ago it would have made my life way easier.

EM
Feb 21, 2019

An excellent well-rounded course and perfect for anyone who would like to gain some insight into financial practices. I would highly recommend this course, "Finance for Non-Financial Professionals."

Filter by:

551 - 575 of 767 Reviews for Finance for Non-Financial Professionals

By Mostafa Y I A

Mar 30, 2019

A good introduction the basic financial language . Helps you understand what are those finance people are talking about.

More in depth studying is needed to go a little bit further with this.

By Raquel S M

Apr 19, 2020

A really useful course, with easy to understand examples and a huge amount of interesting and direct use in normal life, and of course in each business activity...join it! it worth it

By Justus H E

Sep 22, 2017

Loved the course contents, the explanations and the pace. I would have liked to have a discussion forum and see the correct solutions to the test, and especially the peer assignment.

By Luis F E D

Oct 13, 2020

Buen curso que permite validar conocimiento de conceptos bàsicos para personas que no son financieras, permitièndoles entender de manera sencilla y aplicar en el dìa a dìa. Gracias

By Timothy H

Aug 18, 2018

A reasonable brief overview of finance for non-finance professionals. I would have liked a little more detail, but his explanations were generally clear and his examples were good.

By Ruo P Z

Aug 31, 2015

As a nonfinancial person, I liked that it is a good clear intro finance. However, I wished there was more reading content available on the site to go more into depth on the topics.

By Vibhuti

Sep 9, 2015

A good overview for someone unfamiliar with finance but given the brief and introductory nature of the course, you'd need to do further reading to understand many of the concepts.

By Sabrina P T

Nov 20, 2016

Enjoyed this module right. I felt it was quite fast and just skimmed over certain topics but I definitely learnt more than I did and looking forward to learning in more details.

By Federico L

Sep 21, 2015

Great course but, in 2 videos, the professor makes reference to exercises that should be for downloading and they are not. Please, either include them or re shoot the videos.

By Gao R

Jan 17, 2016

Very helpful for non-financial professionals. The course is too short for me. I'd like to get further knowledge about the finance. Thanks very much for your impressive work.

By Itabayeva S

Jun 8, 2020

Thank you for the course. It was useful. I would like to recommend to introduce more concepts/terms. It would be great to have more lectures within course.

Thank you again

By Yati K

Feb 16, 2016

The course was good but it would help if after specialization in particular subject,lets say finance,coursera could help connect students with employers around the world:)

By Rodrigo L A A

Oct 21, 2020

Un curso muy gratificante en lo que se enseña y completo en los temas que abarca, aunque en el ultimo modulo se podria abarcar mas ampliamente para una mejor comprensión

By Onkar P

Aug 25, 2015

the course is very beneficial for people from other backgrounds. Understood the basic concepts of finance. thanks a lot. Waiting for such more at your pace courses. :)

By Alex N S

Apr 15, 2020

Conceptos claros e información compacta de utilidad para entender mejor aspectos de finanzas y cuentas. Podría tener mejores materiales de apoyo y ejemplos prácticos.

By Fikri A

Oct 24, 2016

This course is amazingly interesting. All the course content are relevant and easy to catch up. Everyone should join this course to create basic knowledge of finance

By Denis M

Dec 5, 2016

A very good course for people who does not have knowledge of finances. I highly recommend this course. It would be better if the course had more practice exercises.

By Jeff L

Feb 15, 2017

Very easy to understand and interpret the information. I would take it again. Finance is not my best subject. The professor was engaging but could be more so.

By Audric C

Oct 8, 2015

A lot of formulas in a few time. But the professor uses lots of examples which allow to better (and faster) understand the concepts behind all those formulas.

By Guillermo E H

Jul 27, 2016

I found this course quite mainingful which helps us to have an overview of Finances and Accounting, including lots of example to enhance the understanding.

By Ahmad S G

Oct 25, 2019

This course is good for people who want to increase their knowledge base in finance but a lot of other basic concepts can also be added in the course.

By Aakash J

Jul 7, 2020

It's a good course for someone making entry into the business finance domain. It covers a lot of topics horizontally, delivery is crisp and precise.

By Jimena G

Sep 3, 2016

It was a nice overview. I wish some topics were discussed more in-depth and with practical examples. Yet, in general it was a nice quick refresher.

By Laura H

Oct 9, 2015

Great, straightforward course. It would be nice to have "practice" problems to help engage the information beyond the quizzes and video lectures.

By Preethireddy

Apr 18, 2020

i have learnt a basic information about Finance and how to invest money in a correct a way.it is very useful to know the basic terms of finance.