Chevron Left
Back to Finance for Non-Financial Professionals

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Finance for Non-Financial Professionals by University of California, Irvine

4.6
stars
3,691 ratings
776 reviews

About the Course

Impact your financial decisions and learn how to affect the performance of your unit's profitability and of your organization. In this course gain a basic understanding of finance and accounting concepts to drive your organization's growth. Upon completion of this course, you will have gained general financial knowledge and an in-depth understanding of the impact of your decisions outside your functional area. Content of the course includes selected aspects of finance from a non-financial specialist perspective. Specific topics include: financial analysis; planning, forecasting, and budgeting; cash flow, and strategic financing. This class will be interactive and will require the active involvement of the participants in finance related activities. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Explain the importance of finance and interpretation of financial information 2. Apply the concepts of accounting and finance to analyze financials 3. Learn about key accounting and finance terms 4. Examine financial statements by using key ratios 5. Explain the importance of budgeting process 6. Learn about key components needed to improve profitability...

Top reviews

AC
Dec 14, 2017

I've enjoyed this course. Prof. Standen gives a very basic but clear overview of the most common financial topics, wished I had this course a couple of years ago it would have made my life way easier.

EM
Feb 21, 2019

An excellent well-rounded course and perfect for anyone who would like to gain some insight into financial practices. I would highly recommend this course, "Finance for Non-Financial Professionals."

Filter by:

576 - 600 of 766 Reviews for Finance for Non-Financial Professionals

By Alan B

May 19, 2016

The instructor is fantastic. He is clear, concise and easy to understand. I found the class to be very informative and enjoyable. Thank you.

By Clifford P K

Feb 7, 2016

Well done overall. I would have liked a little more detail with some of the formulas mentioned, but overall I felt like I learned quite a bit.

By Tadeo

Oct 11, 2015

Test for module 2 had questions that weren't part of the course (about programming). I think it was a kind of error in coursera configuration.

By Rachelle M

Dec 17, 2015

This course gave me a good basic understanding finances. I can now better listen to the investors calls with a added level of understanding.

By Boris E B

Aug 13, 2015

A bit short and general, but in a way that is exactly what I was looking for, as I needed some key concepts to start understanding the topic.

By Estêvão E

Nov 23, 2015

Good introductory course. Complex concepts are explained in a simple form. It's not deep. It just provide a quick overview of the subject.

By Doug D

Oct 20, 2015

A basic overview of financial analysis starting from the structural underpinnings of accounting and moving into the frameworks of finance.

By Yv T

May 23, 2017

As a non-Finance person, it's a great overview on the basic terms in Finance. However, I feel like the knowledge won't stick long-term.

By Swatantra S

Jun 29, 2020

The course will taught you very basics of finance and in a very quick succession, with concept and clarity about each and every topic.

By Heng W W

Feb 27, 2017

It's a general overview and introduction to some financial concepts, it might be good to know some general terms here in a short time.

By Rocío d C A M

Jul 28, 2016

El curso es muy bueno, me gustaría que hubiese uno mas complejo, mas avanzado, y que incluya el uso de herramientas informáticas.

By Xavier V

Oct 29, 2015

Good course, fast and easy to get

Could be enhanced by a few practical examples where the formulas presented could make more sense

By Caio T

Oct 11, 2016

Superficial, mas bom para um contato inicial. Como a proposta do curso é para profissionais de outras áreas, cumpre o prometido.

By Natharat M

Dec 28, 2015

The lectures are quick and concise. The lecturer speaks very clearly and gives great examples that illustrate the concepts well.

By Mahdi F R

May 6, 2020

although this course is short, I've learned many new things about finance and get interested in looking up for more in finance

By Prabhjyot S M

Sep 14, 2020

A course that will help newbies to get involved more and learn more about finance. Eye opening facts and very concise course.

By Hassan S

Apr 15, 2017

the course. It has advanced my knowledge and understanding of basic financial concepts which greatly helped me in my career.

By Rafael V

Jan 22, 2017

Very general but it shows the basics of finance. I wish it would had been a little more deep, but it shows what's necessary.

By Olivier V

Feb 24, 2016

Good introduction for non-financial people willing to understand some key concepts often present in out professional life.

By Gerardo i H M

Feb 13, 2017

very good. but in general needs more explanations in the videos and

If you introduce more languages ​​it would be better

By Victor V

Mar 31, 2020

really good course. going a bit too fast sometimes on some points but overall very good and blur notions are now clear

By Purvit k

Jun 28, 2020

I think more technical stuff required in this course. also, you can add more practice exercise of finance.

thank you .

By Muhammad A

Jan 27, 2016

Good basic course if you have no background in Finance. Reviews the important concepts that can get you along easily.

By Steven M

Oct 20, 2015

Nice overview but does not go really into any detail. Some case studies would be helpful to see the concepts applied.

By Suzan A

Feb 2, 2017

The formulas were very clear and the examples were very useful for understanding the financial side of the business.