Chevron Left
Back to Finance for Non-Financial Professionals

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Finance for Non-Financial Professionals by University of California, Irvine

4.5
2,378 ratings
517 reviews

About the Course

Impact your financial decisions and learn how to affect the performance of your unit's profitability and of your organization. In this course gain a basic understanding of finance and accounting concepts to drive your organization's growth. Upon completion of this course, you will have gained general financial knowledge and an in-depth understanding of the impact of your decisions outside your functional area. Content of the course includes selected aspects of finance from a non-financial specialist perspective. Specific topics include: financial analysis; planning, forecasting, and budgeting; cash flow, and strategic financing. This class will be interactive and will require the active involvement of the participants in finance related activities. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Explain the importance of finance and interpretation of financial information 2. Apply the concepts of accounting and finance to analyze financials 3. Learn about key accounting and finance terms 4. Examine financial statements by using key ratios 5. Explain the importance of budgeting process 6. Learn about key components needed to improve profitability...

Top reviews

AC

Dec 15, 2017

I've enjoyed this course. Prof. Standen gives a very basic but clear overview of the most common financial topics, wished I had this course a couple of years ago it would have made my life way easier.

EM

Feb 22, 2019

An excellent well-rounded course and perfect for anyone who would like to gain some insight into financial practices. I would highly recommend this course, "Finance for Non-Financial Professionals."

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 510 Reviews for Finance for Non-Financial Professionals

By Kenneth O C V

Oct 27, 2015

All the information that a professional needs to know, explain it in a way very easy to understand.

By Alfredo F J

Jun 24, 2017

Great

By 周宁 N Z L

Apr 17, 2016

good introduction financial course for non-financial person.

By Narmin

Feb 16, 2016

I have just finished the first week, and I already understand that this course has all what I need to be aware of accounting and finance for my first business!

By Chris C W

Dec 14, 2016

Solid foundations course to give you a good overview of accounting and finance to distinguish between the two with some understanding of the tools and methods used by each with some practical examples.

By Edoardo C

Sep 06, 2015

You may have wondered why brokers may get it wrong, and why accountant may willing, or unwillingly, do the same. Surely, Finance is a very complex matter and keep it simple cannot be a bad thing. If you want to know more without getting just more confused instead, this course meets your needs. For me, it provided outstanding learning/time ratio...!

By Jeryl L M

Nov 15, 2017

Excellent Instructor.

By ABDELHAK H

Oct 21, 2016

GREAT COURSE EASY TO FOLLOW. THANKS A LOT

By Fouad A

Jun 06, 2016

Very good Instructor. Explains hard things in a very easy way. He made this course very easy to learn.

By Rahul

Dec 20, 2015

Wow,

everything about Coursera is wow !! Love u

By Donghan C

Jan 04, 2016

It is a good start for people always hear about terminologies in finance but never have a chance to lay out the structure of all concepts.

By Rohit R G

May 24, 2016

A good course for understanding the fundamental terms that I often hear when discussing issues with finance professionals. The supplementary material really helps grasp the concepts

By Biswapati B

Dec 24, 2017

This is wonderful course to get overview on finance for non-financial professionals. The professor did a great job explaining the concepts in layman terms without getting into number crunching. The concepts are explained easily so that one can understand the overall picture without getting into details.

I would highly recommend it to others who would like to get a quick overview in this subject.

By Mucio B

Sep 01, 2015

Great Course! Relevant material and a excelent teacher David Standen!

By Ignacio D L

Sep 04, 2017

Succinct and very well explained synthesis of finance with a practical twist. I recommend it.

By Silvana C

Feb 05, 2016

Very useful!!

By Annora N

Feb 21, 2016

Simple and useful

By Christina T

Aug 22, 2018

Great teacher. I feel I have a better understanding after completing this course.

By Anthony C

Sep 30, 2018

Excellent Course. Well designed, concise, extremely informative, awesome.

By usama d

Sep 17, 2018

Good course help me a lot as Non-Financial Professionals in learning the things in course

By kenjiang

Sep 18, 2018

Really great for a starter of accounting and financials

By Matt C

Sep 18, 2018

Informative!

By Jechonias J

Aug 08, 2018

Great Course Overall!

The instructor does a great job at explaining these fundamental concepts, for which I now feel confident I am able to build on.

I did, however, find a few kinks.

In the GAP Dupont analysis, the ROE was not thoroughly explained - most students (including myself) arrived at a 41.8 while the assignment stipulated that the answer was 43.

For the Multiples valuation method example, the ranges of Equity Value given at the conclusion were not the actual ranges reflected in the math.

By Andrej M

Aug 14, 2016

I love it. It was great. Thank you

By Ali M A

Sep 05, 2015

Very good course for non-financial professional