Chevron Left
Back to Financial Accounting: Advanced Topics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Financial Accounting: Advanced Topics by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.7
stars
1,442 ratings
260 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will explore advanced topics in financial accounting. You will start your journey with accounting for assets with more than one-year life. You will learn in detail how firms account for fixed assets. You will then move to financing of assets and discuss accounting for liabilities. The course will continue with an in-depth exploration of shareholders’ equity. Finally, you will critically evaluate preparation, components, and analysis of cash flows statement. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: • Account for fixed assets • Understand accounting for liabilities • Evaluate shareholders’ equity section of a balance sheet • Understand preparation and information provided by cash flows statement This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

Top reviews

AR
May 20, 2020

It was very good course and the professor has very good knowledge and experience pertaining to the subject. He explained all the topics in great details and his methods are very good and descriptive.

RR
Jan 16, 2017

The advanced topics on the financial accounting have been really an interesting journey. I have more confidence in what I do now. Looking forward to the other courses of this specialization.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 261 Reviews for Financial Accounting: Advanced Topics

By Shafiullah

Jul 15, 2020

i was new to finance subject but i learnt alot of things from it.

By Jacques P

Apr 29, 2017

Good and short video lectures that gets straight to the point

By Romain V

Aug 29, 2016

Great class by Professor Oktay! I learned a lot and quick abo

By Jonathan K

Mar 27, 2019

It would be nice it there was examples of interactive books.

By Vipul R H

Sep 3, 2019

really helped with developing my accounting skills.

By Akhil K

Oct 8, 2019

Great review of the fundamentals. Great prof.

By Luigi C

Jul 17, 2017

Quite good summary, but a bit too high-level

By Ernest T

Jul 23, 2018

Little bit light on the quantity of work

By Young

Jan 12, 2017

I have finished it, cool.

By Nwachineke F

Sep 26, 2019

Very interesting

By Francis D

May 23, 2018

Very good class

By Sakshi S

Apr 19, 2021

Nice course

By Rithik M

Jun 18, 2020

good course

By B.C S I

Oct 3, 2020

great

By RAGSHANA A

Nov 12, 2020

well

By Sina G

Mar 22, 2021

Overall a good course but I think it is quite overloaded with information that is not necessairly practical for MBA students . Also a lot of the naunces would not stick after the course is over with. Perhaps, this would have been a good class for accounting majors. Most videos are merely reading through the slides with not much added insghts or examples. Wish this course was less crammed with detailed information and more insightful instead.

By Ben N

Mar 28, 2018

Like part 1 of this class, the topics were not covered in much depth. I found it disappointing. For example, any issues related to the time value of money were too “advanced” for this “advanced” class. Other accounting classes on Coursera are more worth the time and don’t withhold the material for the iMBA extension.

By Viktor A

Aug 23, 2018

The form, pace and content of the course is similar to Financial Accouting: Foundations. However, this one is noticeably smaller in terms of content and this difference became more obvious when comparing with other courses from Financial Management Specialization, like Corporate Finance.

By A. P

Jan 18, 2018

In week 1 there are slides to review. As the slides are given, the abbreviations are not introduced nor discussed. I feel that this lowers the learning value of this course. The slides are helpful but there needs to be more of them to cover the topics that are coming up next.

By Ricardo M

Jul 28, 2018

Good course! I think the explanation about Cash Flow Statement should be improved. It would be helpful an Excel exercise to exemplify the process.

By Somashekar J B

Jul 25, 2018

short videos, some are hardly 1 min to 5 mnts max. more examples, explanation might help better

By Cedric D

Jan 27, 2021

Clear content but a bit Boring. The old fashion version from Wharton was a lot more enjoyable.

By Falk Z

Feb 15, 2019

Weak performance constantly linking to a course that is not included in the specialization

By Fred S

Mar 13, 2018

Informative, but not very practical and no hands on practice.

By Nazneen M

May 7, 2021

It was a wonderful experience , thank you so so much!!!