Chevron Left
Back to Financial Accounting: Advanced Topics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Financial Accounting: Advanced Topics by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.7
stars
855 ratings
123 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will explore advanced topics in financial accounting. You will start your journey with accounting for assets with more than one-year life. You will learn in detail how firms account for fixed assets. You will then move to financing of assets and discuss accounting for liabilities. The course will continue with an in-depth exploration of shareholders’ equity. Finally, you will critically evaluate preparation, components, and analysis of cash flows statement. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: • Account for fixed assets • Understand accounting for liabilities • Evaluate shareholders’ equity section of a balance sheet • Understand preparation and information provided by cash flows statement This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

Top reviews

RR

Jan 17, 2017

The advanced topics on the financial accounting have been really an interesting journey. I have more confidence in what I do now. Looking forward to the other courses of this specialization.

GS

Jan 30, 2017

Great course for someone who has some background in financial accounting. the videos are short and precise and the concepts are explained in an easy to understand manner. Well donel

Filter by:

101 - 122 of 122 Reviews for Financial Accounting: Advanced Topics

By Jacques P P

Apr 29, 2017

Good and short video lectures that gets straight to the point

By Romain V

Aug 29, 2016

Great class by Professor Oktay! I learned a lot and quick abo

By Jonathan K

Mar 27, 2019

It would be nice it there was examples of interactive books.

By Vipul R H

Sep 03, 2019

really helped with developing my accounting skills.

By Akhil K

Oct 08, 2019

Great review of the fundamentals. Great prof.

By Luigi C

Jul 17, 2017

Quite good summary, but a bit too high-level

By Ernest T

Jul 23, 2018

Little bit light on the quantity of work

By Young

Jan 12, 2017

I have finished it, cool.

By Nwachineke F

Sep 26, 2019

Very interesting

By Francis D

May 23, 2018

Very good class

By Ben N

Mar 28, 2018

Like part 1 of this class, the topics were not covered in much depth. I found it disappointing. For example, any issues related to the time value of money were too “advanced” for this “advanced” class. Other accounting classes on Coursera are more worth the time and don’t withhold the material for the iMBA extension.

By Viktor A

Aug 23, 2018

The form, pace and content of the course is similar to Financial Accouting: Foundations. However, this one is noticeably smaller in terms of content and this difference became more obvious when comparing with other courses from Financial Management Specialization, like Corporate Finance.

By Adonna P

Jan 18, 2018

In week 1 there are slides to review. As the slides are given, the abbreviations are not introduced nor discussed. I feel that this lowers the learning value of this course. The slides are helpful but there needs to be more of them to cover the topics that are coming up next.

By Ricardo M

Jul 28, 2018

Good course! I think the explanation about Cash Flow Statement should be improved. It would be helpful an Excel exercise to exemplify the process.

By Somashekar J B

Jul 26, 2018

short videos, some are hardly 1 min to 5 mnts max. more examples, explanation might help better

By Falk Z

Feb 15, 2019

Weak performance constantly linking to a course that is not included in the specialization

By Fred S

Mar 13, 2018

Informative, but not very practical and no hands on practice.

By Ali G

Oct 08, 2019

Good course but the instructor is speaking fast

By Andre L S F

Aug 16, 2019

Relevant content but not the best methodology.

By Adrien R

Jul 12, 2017

not much material covered in this course

By Saikrishna E

Jul 30, 2017

Professor is not so good he is not explaining thoroughly. contect is also poor not much learnings from this course.

By Ryan W C

Oct 07, 2018

Not comprehensive. A lot of additional research and is needed to complete HE assignments.