Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Financial Statements: Company Position

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Financial Statements: Company Position by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.8
stars
948 ratings
226 reviews

About the Course

This course is designed to provide a basic understanding of financial statements with an emphasis on the balance sheet. However, to understand accounting driven financial statements, it is important to recognize that accounting is less about counting and more about measuring. “What is it that is being measured?” Well, as the course unfolds, you will learn about the three measurement questions and how the balance sheet helps to answer the first two of these questions. By touring a real company and interviewing real business people, the course describes the basic content of financial statements in a simple yet relevant context. The goal of the course is to leave a lasting impression about what balance sheet consists of and what it reveals. The next course in the Fundamentals of Accounting Specialization completes the conversation by addressing the remaining measurement question. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: • Describe the purpose of a balance sheet. • Define the three components of a balance sheet. • Recognize and understand the meaning of several items typically presented on a balance sheet. • Explain the broader purpose of financial statements and the role of accounting in producing the financial statements. • Read and, to some extent, interpret real-world balance sheets. If you enjoy this business course and are interested in an MBA, consider applying to the iMBA, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price offered by the University of Illinois. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

Top reviews

CR
Dec 2, 2020

Having worked with accountants for 11 years but only taking a few accounting classes in college, this taught me many things that help me better understand what the accountants are talking about.

JC
May 21, 2020

Really great course and a useful one in terms of clearing the finance terms and how a company creates a balance sheet and how can we evaluate a company's position by looking at one's sheet.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 225 Reviews for Understanding Financial Statements: Company Position

By ‘Toni N

Apr 28, 2020

The course materials as well as the facilitator, were very helpful, practical and insightful. The real life case studies also helped to actualise the financial material/records being reviewed and taught throughout the course.

By Michael K

Jul 17, 2017

Outstanding course. Laid in an easy to understanding manner. I have taken other courses on the same subject matter. This one helped me the most in understanding how to review and analyze a balance sheet. Highly recommended.

By Alfonso L

Sep 1, 2020

Explanations are perfect. After this course I understand more about the Financial Statements. The work and exams are complete and there is everything in the lectures. The peer review work is also very good

By Ostapenko S

Apr 1, 2018

It`s pity to say, but peer-graded assighnment is too hard to pass due to lack of students. Every time peer-graded tasks cause a long term problems for students to pass as soon as they finish course.

By Courtney R

Dec 2, 2020

Having worked with accountants for 11 years but only taking a few accounting classes in college, this taught me many things that help me better understand what the accountants are talking about.

By Rafael D G d A

Nov 22, 2020

Explains perfectly the basis of company position based on financial statements and gives valuable exemples which help us understand all the concepts discussed. Amazing course, congrats!

By Youra A

Feb 15, 2021

Wow! What a fund course it is. I do not have any mathematical or statical background. His explanations are clear and easy to understand. I enjoyed this course's structure and contents.

By Brian M

Aug 27, 2016

This course is a great introduction to understanding Balance Sheets and has been a big help to me in my job. I highly recommend this course and I really liked the Professor.

By Miriam H

May 23, 2016

Great course! Mr Jackson put a lot of effort into the construction of the class and explained everything in detail so that you get a solid understanding of the Balance Sheet

By VIPUL V

Dec 1, 2020

It's a good course for beginners. Coursera Courses can only provide you the full benefits of the learner completes the whole specialization, not just a single course.

By Carlo D

Aug 25, 2017

Kevin is such a great professor! He really knows how to break the jargon and the concepts down so that they're easy to understand. Such a fantastic teacher!

By Ahmad E L

Jan 25, 2021

The course is very informative and the instructor's methodology, knowledge, and the quality of education material provided made it very easy to understand.

By Gretchen F

Jan 23, 2017

Great course...the instructor was excellent! Really was clear and understandable, and held my attention despite this subject not being my strong suit. ;-)

By Matthew G

Aug 24, 2017

The material was organized very well and easy to watch. I really feel like I grasped the building blocks of mastering the concepts with the videos.

By Irby M

Aug 20, 2016

Great course, it teaches you a lot in a simple way. The material is presented to you in a easy to follow format, with lots of supplemental material.

By Chris D

Nov 21, 2017

Thanks for the awesome course. I understand more about the balance sheet and the basics of accounting and why it's necessary in the business world.

By Tejash J

May 17, 2020

Mrs. Kevin Jackson is a very good teacher. He doesn't believes in theoretical teaching He just explains practically to understand theory as well.

By Shannon W

Feb 14, 2021

This course is great! Even a person like me who doesn't know anything about Financial can understand , pass and hang in the assignment in time!

By ASHWIN A B

Sep 23, 2020

Overall, this course was helpful in reminding me of the basics of the balance sheet. I'm looking forward to continuing on in these courses

By Maisa d A J d A

Dec 14, 2017

This course provide great basics insights on regards of Financial Statements concepts. It's a fine introductory to non-accountant people.

By Sonam C (

Oct 21, 2020

The Coursera course is really a good online learning course. i have learn a lot that i have never heard of it. Thank you Coursera.

By Oje D O

Jul 14, 2020

This course was very well detailed and explanatory. The lecturer did a good job at breaking down the course for easy assimilation.

By Karen C

Nov 28, 2016

I really enjoyed this course! The professor did an excellent job in walking students through the basics of financial statements.

By Manish K

Oct 19, 2017

Excellent course!! Extremely well designed & delivered. The best part about the course being interviewing people from industry.

By Sonia M

Mar 11, 2019

Very well presented class. Made easy to understand and the lecturer spoke and presented concepts at the perfect pace for me.