Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Financial Statements: Company Position

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Financial Statements: Company Position by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.8
stars
1,016 ratings
247 reviews

About the Course

This course is designed to provide a basic understanding of financial statements with an emphasis on the balance sheet. However, to understand accounting driven financial statements, it is important to recognize that accounting is less about counting and more about measuring. “What is it that is being measured?” Well, as the course unfolds, you will learn about the three measurement questions and how the balance sheet helps to answer the first two of these questions. By touring a real company and interviewing real business people, the course describes the basic content of financial statements in a simple yet relevant context. The goal of the course is to leave a lasting impression about what balance sheet consists of and what it reveals. The next course in the Fundamentals of Accounting Specialization completes the conversation by addressing the remaining measurement question. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: • Describe the purpose of a balance sheet. • Define the three components of a balance sheet. • Recognize and understand the meaning of several items typically presented on a balance sheet. • Explain the broader purpose of financial statements and the role of accounting in producing the financial statements. • Read and, to some extent, interpret real-world balance sheets. If you enjoy this business course and are interested in an MBA, consider applying to the iMBA, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price offered by the University of Illinois. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

Top reviews

CR
Dec 2, 2020

Having worked with accountants for 11 years but only taking a few accounting classes in college, this taught me many things that help me better understand what the accountants are talking about.

JC
May 21, 2020

Really great course and a useful one in terms of clearing the finance terms and how a company creates a balance sheet and how can we evaluate a company's position by looking at one's sheet.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 246 Reviews for Understanding Financial Statements: Company Position

By ASHWIN A B

Sep 23, 2020

Overall, this course was helpful in reminding me of the basics of the balance sheet. I'm looking forward to continuing on in these courses

By Maisa d A J d A

Dec 14, 2017

This course provide great basics insights on regards of Financial Statements concepts. It's a fine introductory to non-accountant people.

By Sonam C (

Oct 21, 2020

The Coursera course is really a good online learning course. i have learn a lot that i have never heard of it. Thank you Coursera.

By Oje D O

Jul 14, 2020

This course was very well detailed and explanatory. The lecturer did a good job at breaking down the course for easy assimilation.

By Karen C

Nov 28, 2016

I really enjoyed this course! The professor did an excellent job in walking students through the basics of financial statements.

By Manish K

Oct 19, 2017

Excellent course!! Extremely well designed & delivered. The best part about the course being interviewing people from industry.

By Kristine S

Apr 26, 2021

The content of this course was very accessible and provided me with a strong foundation of knowledge at an introductory level.

By Sonia M

Mar 11, 2019

Very well presented class. Made easy to understand and the lecturer spoke and presented concepts at the perfect pace for me.

By Tiragalo C M

Feb 21, 2017

What at a great course. I hated accounting and the presentation of this course has changed that. Now I clearly understand.

By Madhuri P

May 11, 2017

This is a wonderful website for anyone taking accounting lessons...it is of great help especially for beginners... Thanks

By Tanya R G

Oct 9, 2017

Great course. I learned a lot, and enjoyed the real world aspect of this course. The Professor was easy to understand

By Terri F

Jan 21, 2021

The advisor was very easy to understand I took the course to freshen up my skills in this field, I would recommend

By VAIBHAV K

Oct 26, 2020

Kevin is a very good instructor and knows how to use resources effectively for the purpose of explanation of topic.

By Ankit S

Apr 4, 2018

Great Course and helped me lot in learning many new things, that can help me to grow in my current organisation.

By Armen M

Jul 7, 2016

A very detailed and easy to understand explanation of accounting with good examples. Enjoyed this course!

By Beth B

Apr 23, 2017

It was very easy to follow the reading and the videos helped to answer many questions. Very informative.

By Toukir A C

Apr 25, 2020

A great course for beginners! Loved the fact how Kevin teaches by interacting with real business people.

By Kavala R B

May 10, 2021

i am thankful to the professor and im happy to take the certificate and thanks for teaching the course.

By Zayid A

Mar 20, 2021

This is a well-developed course. The material was presented in a way that made it easy to understand.

By 施倩倩

May 12, 2018

pretty god course for principles of accounting. I will strongly advise this course to other students.

By Clement A

Jan 5, 2018

Excellent course. Brilliant interaction with the local community. It also inspires enterpreneurship.

By Sarvesh M

Oct 29, 2020

This course was amazing and wonderful. I loved this course and learned a lot from this course.

By Cady

Dec 19, 2019

Very engaging video! The instructor is so clear and thorough. Thank you for this information!

By Chen P

Nov 5, 2017

The course is excellent in providing an fundamental insight into financial statement basics.

By Nsofor E I

Jun 29, 2020

It really helped my slot understanding more about the balance sheet and income statement