Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Financial Statements: Company Position

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Financial Statements: Company Position by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.8
stars
871 ratings
204 reviews

About the Course

This course is designed to provide a basic understanding of financial statements with an emphasis on the balance sheet. However, to understand accounting driven financial statements, it is important to recognize that accounting is less about counting and more about measuring. “What is it that is being measured?” Well, as the course unfolds, you will learn about the three measurement questions and how the balance sheet helps to answer the first two of these questions. By touring a real company and interviewing real business people, the course describes the basic content of financial statements in a simple yet relevant context. The goal of the course is to leave a lasting impression about what balance sheet consists of and what it reveals. The next course in the Fundamentals of Accounting Specialization completes the conversation by addressing the remaining measurement question. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: • Describe the purpose of a balance sheet. • Define the three components of a balance sheet. • Recognize and understand the meaning of several items typically presented on a balance sheet. • Explain the broader purpose of financial statements and the role of accounting in producing the financial statements. • Read and, to some extent, interpret real-world balance sheets. If you enjoy this business course and are interested in an MBA, consider applying to the iMBA, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price offered by the University of Illinois. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

Top reviews

JC
May 21, 2020

Really great course and a useful one in terms of clearing the finance terms and how a company creates a balance sheet and how can we evaluate a company's position by looking at one's sheet.

SN
Oct 24, 2017

I really enjoyed the professor's clear explanations. This has helped me understand the balance sheet, which will help me understand my current and future companies more clearly. Thanks!

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 205 Reviews for Understanding Financial Statements: Company Position

By Toukir A C

Apr 25, 2020

A great course for beginners! Loved the fact how Kevin teaches by interacting with real business people.

By 施倩倩

May 12, 2018

pretty god course for principles of accounting. I will strongly advise this course to other students.

By Clement A

Jan 5, 2018

Excellent course. Brilliant interaction with the local community. It also inspires enterpreneurship.

By Sarvesh

Oct 29, 2020

This course was amazing and wonderful. I loved this course and learned a lot from this course.

By Cady

Dec 19, 2019

Very engaging video! The instructor is so clear and thorough. Thank you for this information!

By Chen P

Nov 5, 2017

The course is excellent in providing an fundamental insight into financial statement basics.

By Nsofor E I

Jun 29, 2020

It really helped my slot understanding more about the balance sheet and income statement

By Debbie J

Jun 27, 2018

The course was quick and too the point. The instructor made it very fun and interesting.

By Lorie D B

Feb 8, 2020

I love it! The lecturer explained the content in a manner making it easy to understand.

By David L K

Oct 26, 2016

New to Accounting-Will need some additional study-Would like to move on to the nex

By Katherine H

Aug 2, 2016

Enjoyed this course thoroughly. Very good instructor, good content, well-designed.

By Saachi A

Jul 17, 2020

outstanding course especially of people who don't even know the 'a' of accounting

By Mallela D

Apr 29, 2020

it is a very good oppurtunity to me by learning this all accounting statements.

By jhanein g

Jul 24, 2020

I was amazed on how clear and precise the instructor explain the lessons.

By zenaida a

Nov 14, 2020

Very helpful and informative course. You will find accounting very easy.

By Bishoy R M

Jul 28, 2020

I learned and benefit a lot about balance sheet and company position

By Sherif c

Sep 2, 2017

Intersted in how instructore explain the course by using actual cases

By Shady A B

Dec 24, 2016

really its very helpful for me and helped me in my College thanks you

By Humayoon

Sep 8, 2016

It is really works to make you understand a balance sheet practically

By Ashish D C

Jul 21, 2020

Very good course. Everything is explained with real world scenarios.

By Shihua X

Mar 28, 2017

very good course, helps me to pick up a lot about accounting basics.

By Nguyen S

Apr 12, 2020

This course is a well blend of theories and practical cases. Great!

By SABAA A

Apr 9, 2020

All thanks to this course to all the people who participated in it

By Dr. B L C

Apr 10, 2017

Great course, nicely taught. I learned a lot about balance sheets.

By K S S

May 1, 2020

Thank you for this insightful and informative learning experience