Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Financial Statements: Company Position

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Financial Statements: Company Position by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.7
stars
618 ratings
147 reviews

About the Course

This course is designed to provide a basic understanding of financial statements with an emphasis on the balance sheet. However, to understand accounting driven financial statements, it is important to recognize that accounting is less about counting and more about measuring. “What is it that is being measured?” Well, as the course unfolds, you will learn about the three measurement questions and how the balance sheet helps to answer the first two of these questions. By touring a real company and interviewing real business people, the course describes the basic content of financial statements in a simple yet relevant context. The goal of the course is to leave a lasting impression about what balance sheet consists of and what it reveals. The next course in the Fundamentals of Accounting Specialization completes the conversation by addressing the remaining measurement question. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: • Describe the purpose of a balance sheet. • Define the three components of a balance sheet. • Recognize and understand the meaning of several items typically presented on a balance sheet. • Explain the broader purpose of financial statements and the role of accounting in producing the financial statements. • Read and, to some extent, interpret real-world balance sheets. If you enjoy this business course and are interested in an MBA, consider applying to the iMBA, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price offered by the University of Illinois. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

Top reviews

JC

May 22, 2020

Really great course and a useful one in terms of clearing the finance terms and how a company creates a balance sheet and how can we evaluate a company's position by looking at one's sheet.

SN

Oct 25, 2017

I really enjoyed the professor's clear explanations. This has helped me understand the balance sheet, which will help me understand my current and future companies more clearly. Thanks!

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 146 Reviews for Understanding Financial Statements: Company Position

By Bikramjit S

Apr 17, 2020

Well taught!

By Stella A

Oct 25, 2018

Good course/

By Joseph E M

May 13, 2018

Great Course

By Audrey L

May 18, 2016

It was great

By Haopeng Z

Jun 28, 2018

excellent!

By José A S R

Apr 25, 2018

Excellent!

By Paloma S d J

May 18, 2019

Excellent

By Daniel C

Nov 15, 2017

Excelent.

By KANISHKA K

Jul 06, 2020

Great

By Yuqian G

Nov 21, 2016

great

By Yahya A A

Aug 09, 2016

great

By Yamen D

Jun 22, 2020

goog

By AARON T

Aug 18, 2019

good

By podila v b

Nov 05, 2016

good

By Michael W

Jan 19, 2017

This course focuses entirely on how to read a balance sheet. You will learn the three principal parts of a balance sheet (assets, liabilities, and equity), how they relate to each other, and how they describe the underlying position of the company. This is illustrated by the professor talking to a number of small businesses in the Urbana-Champaign area.

If you have no experience with accounting or finance, this is probably a great place to start. It's a gentle introduction. However, while the focus on local businesses is interesting, a relatively large amount of time is spent learning about these businesses and their owners without necessarily teaching much about accounting or balance sheets in general.

By Marco F

Aug 25, 2016

I think it's a good way to introduce the world of "accounting" but I think videos need to be more specific and I would have appreciated if there was some practical exercise and not only quiz! But all the informations are exposed clearly.

By Sabrina P T

Nov 20, 2016

Thank you for the work and creative idea of presenting the information. I now feel as though I have an idea or overall gist of financial statements, however, I would like to get into the ratios and analysing part of these statements.

By Baghwath G B

Nov 22, 2017

This course explains things in a simple language so that everybody can understand. The faculty is so good . Example videos are also so good and he asks the apt questions , so that the views can understand the concept. Kudos

By BHARGAV S L

May 07, 2020

A great course and very well explained with the use of practical exposure, i would recommend it for every finance aspirant out there to learn and it is also very easily, clearly explained by the professor.

By John E S

Mar 25, 2018

Quite good course, but could have been more comprehensive in my opinion. Compared to other Coursera courses I have taken, it did not require so much work.

By Regan R

Oct 15, 2017

Easy to follow, great case studies, thoroughly enjoyable. I do wish my final assignment was graded by a professor in addition to my peers.

By Abdulhadi H M A

Jun 01, 2020

The final score must not depend on the peer grade given but the final GPA must come from the responsible one to have fair final point.

By Kevin S

Mar 14, 2017

I found this course to be a good introduction to reading a balance sheet, with a lot of personal examples.

By Saad Y

Jul 06, 2020

It was very nice and new experience of learning such a great, practical and exposure based course.

By Amit T

May 10, 2020

It was a great learning and got the base set for future understanding and using statements now.