Chevron Left
Back to Finding Purpose and Meaning In Life: Living for What Matters Most

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Finding Purpose and Meaning In Life: Living for What Matters Most by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
1,993 ratings

About the Course

Welcome to Finding Purpose and Meaning in Life: Living for What Matters Most! In this course, you’ll learn how science, philosophy and practice all play a role in both finding your purpose and living a purposeful life. You will hear from historical figures and individuals about their journeys to finding and living a purposeful life, and will walk through different exercises to help you find out what matters most to you so you can live a purposeful life. As an added benefit, you will also have complimentary access, for a period of time, to the Purposeful App. This groundbreaking mobile and desktop app is designed to help you build a purposeful rhythm into each day, so you can bring your best self to what matters most. Look for more information in Week 1 of the course! By the end of this course, you will: 1. Understand that having a strong purpose in life is an essential element of human well-being. 2. Know how self-transcending purpose positively affects well-being. 3. Be able to create a purpose for your life (don't be intimidated, this is different from creating "the purpose" for your life). 4. Apply personal approaches and skills to self-change and become and stay connected to your purpose every day. We are thrilled that you are here! We look forward to hearing and learning from you throughout this course!...

Top reviews

SS

Jun 6, 2020

Short and precise course to get some perspective on finding focus on things that really matter. Vic is an excellent professor who just connects so well with the students even from the computer screen.

IG

Jun 23, 2021

I abolutely loved this. It has helped me tremendously in my understanding of self and setting a personal transcending purpose. And Vic, thank you for sharing your story. It made me tear up at the end.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 634 Reviews for Finding Purpose and Meaning In Life: Living for What Matters Most

By Nguyen D T

Feb 18, 2021

This course is very information on Purpose topic. You can find here a lot of knowledge that help you craft your purposes in life. I really appreciate this course and would like to recommend that: if you have time, please allocate your resource for this. It deserve your time.

By Vania E C N

Jun 23, 2020

This course is surely an eye-opener!! There's nothing to lose to learn more about you, moreover about what your life purpose is. It's great if you already feel comfortable and satisfied with your life right now, but finding a purpose about it will make it more worth-living.

By Honor O

Aug 27, 2020

While I'm not so interested in finding a purpose as I had mine at a early age, I enjoyed being able to read about it and listen to the stories told. I happy to be able to understand a bit more how scholars approached this topic. It turns out to be quite useful thank you!

By Karan N

Jun 5, 2020

This course is excellent. It gives me a clear idea of getting life purpose and meaning. But in the course, the instructor said the strong and low purpose but they do not show how to make the purpose strong. although, I Like the course very much. Thank You for the Course.

By MMI

Apr 8, 2021

Professor Strecher has an engaging, clear, captivating way of sharing knowledge. I'd seriously consider taking other courses that he teaches on Coursera. This course has given me the valuable tools I have been looking for for several years. Thank you SO much, Professor.

By David G

Dec 1, 2020

This course is outstanding for teaching the psychological, behavioral, physiological benefits of having a purpose in life. Professor Strecher and James Loehr were both excellent in displaying caring for the welfare of the students in this class, which was heartwarming.

By Luz E G M

Jul 3, 2020

This course has everything that every person needs to puts some words to the thing that are most valuable for each of us. I definitely enjoy every video and every explanation because it made me think about so many things I needed but I just couldn't figure it on my own.

By Ioana

Feb 8, 2021

I liked it a lot. The fact that you can just audit it is great. In the first 2 weeks it really gives you some tools to help you find and enact your purpose. Professor Vic is an inspiration to me. I hope he will develop other personal development courses in the future.

By Teoh G S

Oct 11, 2020

It's a very good and practical course, I particularly like the loving meditation as it helps in our overall well-being. This is what the world needs the most. Instead of purely pursuit material, we need a balance of both self-transcending and self-enhancing happiness.

By Cynthia

Jun 2, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. Professor explains everything super inspiringly and calmly. I found the combination of practice and scientific research very interesting. But a look back in history also provided some nice insights. It is highly recommended for everyone!

By Carrie K

May 31, 2020

Absolutely loved this course. I learned a lot and learned how to apply this knowledge to my own life. Professor Stretcher seems like such a kind soul who really loves the subject he's teaching and applies what he teaches to his own life. Highly recommend this course.

By Mike P

Feb 9, 2023

Exceptional course!! This course should be mandatory for personal and professional development to find out one's Purpose and Meaning in Life. Excellent lecturer, course structure - full of exceptional videos, case studies, discussion groups, and end of module exams.

By Nikhil

Mar 30, 2022

One of the best courses I have done on Coursera. The way the instructor collated all the information/research about this field and also shared his own personal story is inspiring. Still have a long way to go to find and defining my purpose but my journey has begun.

By PallaviPandavula

Sep 30, 2020

I absolutely loved the course. This is truly one of the rarest courses that could change your life for better. I feel that this would be the NORTH STAR for anyone wishing to know how to lead a purposeful and happy life. I feel grateful that this course was made.

By Rammanohar S

Jul 28, 2020

Having a purpose in life is an essential responsibility for any one. With having purpose in life one can experience life to its fullest extent and can lead a healthy and joyful life. The course is well designed and is explained excellently by Vic Strecher.

By Mai Y

Dec 22, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this class. When I joined I wasn't sure I would learn much but this gives me a new perspective in life. I'm glad that I took this class. Thank you for all the work you've done for this class. This is one more life you've helped change.

By Georgia D

Nov 20, 2020

An insightful course that can helps us become better people and improve the quality of our lives. I liked a lot the way Professor Strecher was explaining the different theories and was always giving practical examples. I would totally recommend the course!

By Jose M d O N

May 16, 2020

Did the course during Covid-19 lock-down times! Fantastic Course and a great opportunity for an inner reflection. Things like what you expected people would write on your tombstone and also your life after retirement were very valuable for me!

By Letícia L M

Aug 14, 2020

It delivers what it promises. Unlike I expected, the course has a lot of cientific base and very practical activities. The teacher is the sweetest, wisest being I had the pleasure of getting to know. I feel like I spent my time fantastically.

By Zulma S

Jan 23, 2023

Es un curso que deberían tomar todas las personas, independientemente de su edad y obligaciones o trabajo. Da luz y esperanza, especialmente por comprobar que hay muchas personas que se ocupan y preocupan del bienestar personal y general.

By Marton G

Oct 13, 2020

It was not just fun but very interesting as well. Until about 2 months ago I would never have thought that I would be interested in someone telling me via a computer screen about the my purpose in my own life. I am glad it all changed!

By Jordan M

May 13, 2020

Professor Stretchor is no doubt the most inspirational teacher who is very easy to relate to, makes you question your goals and life ourpose in the best way. The course itself offered such amazing information that I had no idea I need.

By Lina F

Oct 23, 2020

This course was great for me, I learned many think that I´m willing to apply in my life. I really recommend it to everybody who thinks that already live with a purpose but mainly for who thinks that have a purpose is not necessary.

By Areti S

Dec 11, 2020

Amazing course, it totally change my understanding and the practicality of purpose. It helped my find the courage to make a shift in my career. But more importantly it inspired me to be learn more, do more and be more. Thank you!

By David M D R

Sep 8, 2020

I was having a hard time. The pandemic combined with personal, financial and internal struggles was taking the best out of me. This course helped gain a new direction, or maybe simply recognize the one that has always been there.