Chevron Left
Back to Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Stanford Introduction to Food and Health by Stanford University

4.7
stars
21,440 ratings
6,429 reviews

About the Course

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Top reviews

NP
Aug 22, 2021

Very informative! Thanks for having this course free so that more people who are starting to learn about eating properply (like me) will be able to get access to authentic and legit lessons on food ;)

NK
Feb 24, 2019

It was very informative course. It could have more quizzes and assignments. The way things were explained in the course was quiet interesting. Keep it up!! course. I really like this way of education.

Filter by:

301 - 325 of 6,445 Reviews for Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

By Diana I N T

Feb 8, 2021

Aprendí y disfruté mucho del curso.

Información fácil de entender, con buenos ejemplos y excelentes recomendaciones y tips, incluso hasta recetas saludables. Me encantó.

Muchas gracias por tener este tipo de cursos, creo que todas las personas deberíamos de saber esta información base en relación a la alimentación y salud.

¡Felicidades!

By Tarun K

Mar 3, 2017

A well organized and informative course relating food to health. If one joins this course as weight loss program then it will be a disappointment. On the contrary, if one wants to gain knowledge about what are the right things to eat and what are the right way to eat in order to maintain a healthy lifestyle then this course is for you

By Gail B

Oct 19, 2020

This was such an informative course. I have purchased some of the recommended books to learn more about health and nutrition. I now read nutritional labels very often and pay attention to all food items I am purchasing. I have made lifestyle changes to which I am very proud of. I have recommended this course to my family and friends.

By Caroline H

May 6, 2020

Really well-done course, very quick to get through as well. I hadn't realised how privileged I am to have grown up in a household where cooking at home and eating at the dinner table were the norm. I will definitely be more mindful of the challenges that people who did not have such an upbringing face when it comes to healthy eating.

By Cecelia D

Sep 20, 2021

I absolutely loved taking this course, I know that it will help me to further my career of starting my own food service business. I just completed culinary arts school in May and I will graduate in December with my Associates Degree and I am so happy. I also just became a member of the American Culinary Federation Milwaukee Chapter.

By Joy e g

Jun 1, 2020

this was an amazing course i learn so much and gain more information about diet and healthy food and the special thing in this course that do not learn about micro nutrient rather than the food it self quality and how i make it that change my life style and i want learn all my client in the future about a healthy food thank so much

By Melanie N G

Dec 28, 2017

Really nice! And thank you for the extra of giving us nice, healthy recipies! That was amazing. I would like, though, to have another version of the course (or second part) with a bit more emphasis in scientific explanations for the unhealthiness and healthiness of certain foods, for the people with medical or biological background.

By William H

Jun 28, 2016

Each of Dr. Adam's lectures are short but very thorough. The visual aids in video lectures are very simple and effective. This class is the perfect intro to food and health. The material overall is very simplistic, but people wanting to learn about the intricacies of nutrition will find this class establishes a wonderful foundation.

By Sandy Y

Jan 5, 2021

I love this course, easy to process and funny to learn. I love the idea of the food rule which is Eat Food, Not too Much, Mostly Plant. And I find the section is so important which teaches us how to literate the nutrition label. All in all, I love this course, and I hope there is more coming up, then I can dig more into this field.

By Tyna C

Oct 23, 2020

As said introduction, it's great start for one who don't have any basic understanding on nutrition. Easy to absorb. But if you are looking for deep dive into scientific data and research, this might not fit you. I give it five stars because it is a good start pulling me back to view big picture for me before dig in more.

Thank you.

By Mariadel C P d A

Jun 3, 2020

It was an extraordinary experience for me. I have learned a lot about nutrition, how to read levels, how to eat and prepare healthy meals. Thanks so much for the opportunity to learn something very interesting and helpful. The teacher was excellent sharing her knowledge and made the class understandable and fun. Great teacher Maya.

By Maria C R

Feb 22, 2019

I love the details on the overview of each lesson. I have learnt so many important aspects on nutrition and key for healthy eating! This gives me thinking of looking back on my plate and practice the moderation to have a successful diet!!!

Thank you as well for the extra cooking recipes which are very useful for me. Thank you Maya!

By Khalid A

Jul 1, 2021

V​ery focused on the issue, the instructor knew how to use every minute of the lectures, not to wander away from the subject with many examples. The spoken language by the instructor and guy involved in the videos is very clear and enjoyable to hear. The lectures are structured in a very nice way, the topics covered are excellent.

By Ana P

May 24, 2020

Aprendí sobre la importancia y beneficios de comer sano. Además de qué tipo de alimentos elegir y cuales evitar. La importancia de saber interpretar las etiquetas de nutricion, la importancia de las porciones que ingerimos, la forma en qué debemos comer para estar saludables, cómo controlar el sobrepeso y obesidad, entre otros.

By Roger G

Apr 17, 2020

Amazing course to learn more about cooking your favorite meals. Highly recommend this class. Maya is a great teacher and she shows you very simple techniques on how to cook meals you think are tough for a beginner. I have learned more about cooking and have become more interested in cooking for my wife. She is going to love it!

By Karan C

Jan 15, 2020

I'm Karan Chudasma from India🇮🇳. I enrolled in this course and I learned a lot from it because before I'm not controlling my bad eating habits but after I watched all the videos and read all the articles I can proudly say that it can help me a lot. Thank you so much standford university and Maya Adam for this wonderful course.

By Alejandra O

Jun 27, 2018

Excellent information provided in understandable terms for everybody. The concepts have lingered with me on everyday decision making, and it helps me with informing my patients who suffer from diabetes and other metabolic diseases. I would definitely recommend this course to everyone, health professionals and public in general.

By Ramana Y

Sep 21, 2021

Importance of Food Choices. In Short, Eat food not much mostly plants. Indian Food cooking methods are way deep rooted with these aspects. Understanding from science point view made much impact personally. Pollan and Maya have carefully articulated the essence of food choices and behavior aspects. Thanks for wonderful course.

By Andrew S

Jan 21, 2021

This course was excellent. It was just the right length and served as a "taster" (no pun intended) to health-related learning. One point that deserves particular mention is the delivery and eloquence of the main presenter: she refrained from using the "you know" and "kinda" language that some course presenters frequently use.

By Suparna K

Nov 1, 2017

Loved this course! Cleared my misconceptions about frozen meat and I also realised that my family recipes were actually the healthiest kind of meals to eat. I was considering shifting to a high protein diet until I completed Week 2 of this course. The recipes seemed interesting and I'm definitely going to try out all of them.

By Maylyn C

Jun 27, 2017

The course was very informative and easy to understand. I am a beginner with regards to nutrition, thus there were terms that I've never heard of or I have heard of but never understood. However, this course clearly explained terms such as glucose, insulin, etc. I would love to learn more about nutrition taught by Prof. Maya.

By Adriana M

Dec 20, 2016

Very interesting course! ;)

I sincerely recommend it to everyone, who would like to extend the knowledge about healthy eating and how to make wise changes and choices regards to diet. Everything was explained in very simple way and the lecturer has a perfect pronunciation (might be important for non-native speakers, as I am).

By Sharon M

Sep 23, 2020

I believe this course must be part of school curriculum. we learn complex mathematics and century old history but we need to teach our kids how to eat right and stay healthy longer. Thank you Maya. I am hoping to share my knowledge with kids and parents in India and help reverse our diabetes capital of the world status soon!

By Vivien T C Y

Jun 13, 2017

The course material is presented in an easy-to-understand and straightforward manner, which contributes to a smooth learning experience. The course material was also well-selected in the sense that it contained - in my opinion - some of the most practical suggestions and information about basic nutrition. Highly recommended!