Chevron Left
Back to Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Stanford Introduction to Food and Health by Stanford University

4.7
stars
22,987 ratings
6,761 reviews

About the Course

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Top reviews

JJ
Jan 22, 2021

Love how Maya presented the course and I especially love the cooking sessions featuring her cute kids. I am looking forward to reading her book or if she has any YT account featuring more home cooking

AE
Jun 21, 2018

It was an amazing course that allowed for me to be much more conscious of what I was eating and pushed me to strive to achieve a healthier lifestyle. Overall, it was very entertaining and informative!

Filter by:

451 - 475 of 6,774 Reviews for Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

By Daniel N G Y

Feb 25, 2016

I am 25 years old, and 6 month ago I went to the cardiologist because I was having high blood pressure. Since then I tried to change my eating habits, but choosing which foods to eat became a task that I didn't know was so hard. With this course actually became a lot easier. Thank you!

By Tharun R

Jan 22, 2016

This course changed the way I think about food. I became more informed about the choices of food in my daily life. I respect the views of Dr. Maya Adam and Mr. Pollan on cooking. It is a really short course and I have already recommended this course to several of my colleagues at work.

By Twinkle N

Jan 17, 2021

This course covered a lot of useful, important and easy to follow tips to improve your diet and overall health. A good reminder that we have been allowing manufacturers and marketers to rule what we purchase and what we put into our bodies. Lots of good info on reading labels as well.

By Deleted A

Feb 16, 2020

I absolutely loved doing this course. I learnt so much about nutrition. I learnt the importance of consuming real food, the after effects of consuming processed foods, the benefits of cooking and eating home cooked meals and most importantly, the significance of eating in moderation.

By Jo K

Sep 30, 2018

Full of eye-opening and helpful information presented in a clear, positive way. I've already changed my eating and shopping habits for the better with very little effort and the video recipes are wonderful. I hope Maya has a YouTube channel or something! Thanks for a fantastic course.

By Ruchi D

Sep 20, 2020

This Course is really good for someone like me who knows very little about food and it's nutrients. It provides all the basic information regarding food which you need to know staring from all basic components of food to how to create healthy food habits. Enjoyed learning new things.

By Jan S

Oct 5, 2020

Browsing through the simple and entertaining course allows a student to dig in the general topic of nutrition, food and health. For a person like me - a semi-pro gym attendant, young student who wishes to eat and steer his life in a healthy and conscious way - this course is a must!

By Nicoleta D

Sep 11, 2019

The course was very well presented and it helped me realise the importance of home cooked food in relation to health. The recipes presented in the last week of the course are amazing, and this is a great way to help the students actually apply what they learned during the course. :)

By Deleted A

Jan 20, 2018

Sensible, informative, not overly complicated with practical tips that act as reminders and inspiration. You are helped to know just what to do. The added aspects of background music, interviews and recipes made in a real kitchen by a real mom made the course so much more enjoyable!

By Ashish K

May 8, 2020

The way of teaching is quite easy and the language is easily understandable.. The way of presentation of any topic is quite good. I have learnt Food and the nutrition along with the health perspective of all the units operations of any food material from raw form to the end product

By Jossie L

Jul 2, 2017

Great introduction to nutrition and how to stay healthy through a balanced diet. One of my favorite parts was about how to plan meals starting with the vegetables, and how to shop at the grocery store to avoid processed foods. Very easy to understand and follow even for a busy mom.

By Astrid S

Mar 27, 2016

I really enjoyed this course - the recipes at the end are very nice, even though, gluten free is rather unnecessary, as only a very (very) small group of people actually need gluten free diets. But I liked the other content of the course very much.

Thanks for explaining and sharing.

By Zarifah C

May 21, 2021

I really loved my instructor, Dr. Maya Adams. She seemed like a really nice person to me, always cheerful with a loving smile on her face. I loved every bit of this course, and it is a doable course for beginners like me. I would highly recommend everyone to enroll in this course.

By Lucas d S d L

Apr 16, 2020

A complete course, full of scientific evidences, clear language and with objective speech. It worth each second watching the videos and learning from professionals of the health area. I will try each one of the recipes from the last week section, they seem delicious and practical!

By A. N

Sep 19, 2021

Surprisingly simple to understand without too much focus on the Science & Chemistry explanation behind it. Just a straightforward explanation of what healthy eating is all about - Eat real food in moderation with veggies included. Recipes included at the final week is pure bonus.

By Dorene D

Sep 1, 2021

​Straight forward, simple, common sense information regarding nutrition which can be passed along to everyone! Especially liked the focus on variety of foods including all food groups and without the push for any particular eating style (e.g. keto, vegan, vegetarian, paleo, etc).

By B Y

May 29, 2021

T​his was a very easy to following and informational course. I particularly appreciated understanding the different kinds of fats as well as how to read a nutrion label. The quizzes were appropriate, the videos were really great quality and the recipe videos were a great addtion.

By Carlos d l R

Apr 11, 2020

Aprendes demasiado sobre como identificar las comidas que son sanas y las que no lo son, te ayuda a saber las proporciones de ingesta de comida que debes de ingerir, me sirvió mucho ya que así aprendí a identificar las proporciones y saber lo que hacen mal las comidas procesadas.

By Rajalakshmi

Dec 12, 2018

It was really a eye opener to the way we can change our view towards home cooking and food choices which may ultimately gift us a healthy life. I want to make my friends watch this and understand the beauty if food and health and how we can actually control it for our own benefit

By Ela 4

Sep 15, 2020

Fantastic!

The class is giving me a better understanding about how to eat better and also give me options for healthy and fun alternatives for a better eat.

The class explain very well how easy we become unhealthy, when we think we are eating the right food.

Fantastic ! thanks!!!

By Millie R J

Oct 23, 2016

Before i began this course, I have been studying food and nutrition since i was 13 years old. this course has helped me so much, The quantities and what foods to start a meal with, it has made my life a lot simpler. For those interested in food and health this is a great course.

By Pratibha L

Oct 10, 2021

I loved this course. It was very informative and gave me deep insight to the required knowledge. The videos were so nice, simple and pleasing. Dr. Maya Adams was such a pleasure to listen to. I am so happy that I did this course and want to do more such courses further. Thanks

By Zohran

Jun 22, 2021

I am really happy with the content of course it is very useful, simple to understand and valuable, an excellent course for nutrition beginners

It will enable you to design basic meal plans for yourself and even guide your friends, family and other people towards eating healthy.

By Renuka S

Feb 9, 2021

The course was very much effective and way you taught things was really really awesome. AND MAINLY YOU KEPT THE THINGS SIMPLE AND LIGHT HEARTED......HATS OFF FOR THAT !!!

keep going !!!

expecting to get enrolled FOR another course from you guys !!!

ALL THE BEST AND LOT MORE TO GO

By Ana L

May 6, 2020

An amazing, simple and impactful course. In a world of information where learning about food can seem overwhelming, this course gives you the guidelines to redesign your eating habits. I am going to put it to practice right away! My only add would be more vegetable recipes :)