Chevron Left
Back to Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Stanford Introduction to Food and Health by Stanford University

4.7
stars
25,665 ratings

About the Course

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Top reviews

CS

Aug 26, 2019

Very informative and useful. I'm from India and I look forward to study more about nutritional values of different foods. This course gave me a head-start and information to pursue my goal. Thank You!

NF

Dec 5, 2020

Foods and us have a relationship, and this course defines that relationship. Personally, this course provides positive experience for me in regards of food, meal preparation, and eating in moderation.

Filter by:

6201 - 6225 of 7,486 Reviews for Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

By K.P.V. S A

Jun 18, 2022

It is a great course for anyone who is looking to start their health journey and does not know where to start. It is one of the basic courses, but it sure does make you think about your health. Thank you, Maya and Michael, for the course.

By Omar E M M

Oct 31, 2020

It wasn't such a bad course, it really aported a fundamental concepts that everybody should know to keep a healthy life, i'd love to learn more with another course but this time more actualized and focusing in diets of another countries.

By Alessandro S

Aug 31, 2020

Very useful for everyone who has difficulties on his diet. Personally I knew so many of the thinks that are taught in this course, cause i follow a mediterranean diet, but I even have added some essentials food aspects in my knowledge.

By Maejille P

Jun 20, 2020

Very Informative course. Although this was basic information, it will help me a lot on my profession as a Nutritionist-Dietitian especially on what approach should I do when educating patients with regards to their diet and nutrition.

By krishna s

Jul 24, 2019

first thing first , it opens my eyes to eat healthy , not too much but in moderation .

second thing it helped me to understand food relation with human body .

how can we live a better and a healthy life without suffering from diseases .

By Nicki C

Sep 20, 2021

Having to watch all the videos on the recipes was a bit much for me because I already know how to cook. But there was really a lot of good and interesting information in the course. I also really liked the written recipes at the end.

By Ming E L

Dec 18, 2019

Simple to understand and to cook recipes. Nutritional knowledge. I have learnt some of these in home economics class in school before but this is nonetheless a good refresher. Could put these knowledge to actual use in everyday life.

By Camila L

Nov 5, 2016

A great introduction to a healthy lifestyle, very useful to be aware about our daily food consume and how this can change our health and wellness.It does not go very deep into many topics but was entertaining and very well explained.

By Gustavo C

Sep 18, 2018

It has some key elements on the present food-health panorama, but I believe there could be a bit more depth into the subject and reduce some repetition. Otherwise very light, appropriate for an introductory course and entertaining.

By Gangula S

Apr 18, 2022

T​his course is very helpful for everyone. By Taking this course now i can evalute the Nutrution label in Highly processed packaged food items. This course is about how natural vegitables is good than Highly processed food items.

By Victoria T

Jul 28, 2022

I was expecting a little more in depth but it is an introduction and I did learn a thing or 2. Very impressed with the teachers - hugh Michael Pollen fan. Recommend to anyone trying to dip their toes into Nutritional Education!

By Sangeeta

May 20, 2022

Interesting videos . Very nicely and effectively communicated recipes , though am not sure if these are really healthy , e.g. using so much Mayo or so many egg yolks . Also Rice Idali recipe is not done in authentic Indian way .

By Ritesh G

Sep 26, 2020

The course was quite helpful as a beginner's introduction to food and nutrition. Had a lovely time learning about nutrition and how to make simple changes to one's own diet to stay healthy and make interesting, yet amazing foods.

By Affan E

Mar 19, 2020

It was a very helpful course for me as i am becoming a nutritionist. Getting new ideas and ongoing things in nutrition was a good thing to learn. It is a course filled with knowledge and practically how things are in the world.

By Pranav A

Jan 1, 2022

It was a nice and short course. Really informative. looking forward to some more detailed courses ont the subject at NO COST!

But still, Thankful for this one.

P.s. The presenter Ms. Maya Adam has a great, pleasing personality.

By Harsimranjeet S

Apr 8, 2020

I really enjoyed the coarse and it help me to understand the needs of nutrients in food. It encourages to eat home cook meal over fast food. It explains the process in detail to avoid the fast food and follow healthy routine.

By Aya A

Nov 11, 2020

For an introduction to nutrition, it gives me the basics on how to eat and which is better for me to buy from the supermarket, it also introduces how to avoid long term health problems that associated with what we eat daily.

By coueilles

Jan 23, 2022

most of the information that was given was already familiar to me I was able to learn some information but I think we can make this course much more complete and interesting by focusing on psychology and the habits to take

By Juan M

Mar 9, 2021

As the title says, this is an introductory course. Good walkthrough of things to look out for and key concepts when thinking about how to make better, more nutritious decisions, but does not get into much technical detail.

By Savvas S

Jan 20, 2021

A good introductory course, regarding healthy eating habits & good practices. Everyday tips for better eating & cooking are mentioned. Recommended for anyone who wants to grasp the basics of healthy nutritional based food.

By Medha M

Oct 12, 2021

I think this was a good course for being at the introductory level, however, the quiz questions could be a little more challanging and maybe adding in an interactive activity here and there would make this course perfect!

By Dr. A B M H

Feb 20, 2020

This course says it ,the way it is.The food concepts are explained simply and cooking tips at the end made it a complete course.Only one tip I feel needs work.Some more recipe without eggs and definitely skip the nutella!

By Liz F

Nov 28, 2018

El curso es genial, realmente es un complemento para las personas que llevamos estilo de vida saludable, y las recetas estuvieron bien, aunque me hubieran gustado también su versión vegana, aunque ya me la puedo imaginar.

By Dee G

Aug 27, 2021

​Very easy to follow, simple and straightforward - wouldve liked the class to be even longer but it's a great start in awareness and it's such a critically important topic! The cooking videos very fun to watch-Thank you.