Chevron Left
Back to Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Stanford Introduction to Food and Health by Stanford University

4.7
stars
25,096 ratings
7,286 reviews

About the Course

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Top reviews

NF

Dec 5, 2020

Foods and us have a relationship, and this course defines that relationship. Personally, this course provides positive experience for me in regards of food, meal preparation, and eating in moderation.

TL

Sep 30, 2016

Extremely interesting course. I feel the material and videos were very easy to absorb and understand. I certainly would recommend this to anyone with an interest in food and how it affects our health.

Filter by:

6201 - 6225 of 7,331 Reviews for Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

By Sunday H

Mar 5, 2016

Very engaging. Well presented and friendly. I would recommend this to high school students and really anyone who wants a basic primer on eating healthier.

By IC002 - A A

Jun 30, 2020

It's been honoured to get basic information about food and nutrition .Content was good to experience , many new things came across me through this course

By Pablo I R

Apr 11, 2020

Está muy didáctico y entretenido. Tal vez un poco más de información respecto a como funcionan los nutrientes en nuestro organismo hubiera estado bueno.

By Karen K M

Aug 13, 2017

It's more of a refresher course for me because I have been reading a lot about nutrition, so it's nice to be familiar with it. I enjoyed the recipes :)

By Laura S

Mar 8, 2016

It is a basic course about food and health. You could learn the most important issues about food and our habits. You can learn easy tips about how to bu

By Arun K

Apr 2, 2018

Its really good to start with for somebody who has no or little experience with food. Would have been great if it included topics with greater details.

By pamela

Aug 12, 2021

Estoy encantada con el curso, ha sido de toda mi satisfaccion. Solamente podria agregar, que los cuestionarios no estan en espaol y dificulta un poco.

By Dawid S

Jan 12, 2020

Structured like a documentary rather than a class. I mean, its okay, but not exactly what I was looking for. It appeals to the masses, which is ideal.

By Anastasiya V

Aug 4, 2019

This course has both theoretical and practical parts. And for me, it was interesting to review some ideas that I already have in my head.

Thanks a lot!

By Patrick L

Sep 14, 2020

Good general intro to food and health, overall I learned a good deal of the basics and have a better understanding of what healthy eating looks like.

By Kelsey B

Dec 17, 2020

A nice introduction to eating and being healthy with a good focus on healthy behaviours that can be reasonably integrated into almost any lifestyle.

By Christian S

Aug 4, 2016

Good introducing regarding healthy eating and the dangers of highly processed food. I recommend this course for everyone interested in these topics!

By Camille N

Nov 10, 2020

The course was really nice and well tought. However, I would have liked more scientific data and knowledge (about nutrients for example). Thank you

By Zoqia T

Jun 15, 2019

I love to study in Stanford and this course give me a connection to them. I love the way my instructor guide me. Thank you Stanford. Regards Zoqia!

By Frima E

Jan 22, 2016

Very clear and to the point. Easy to follow and learn.

It will be longer with more in-depth details about the different topics discussed!

THANK YOU.

By Grace V T

May 16, 2020

Super interesting and great information! A little lacking in some information, such as research behind the information. But overall, great course!

By Mina H

May 12, 2020

Short course but very interesting. It invites you to do more research and more importantly, to eat better! "Eat Food. Not to much. Mostly plants".

By Vivek D

Jun 24, 2022

An addition to it may be the calorie count & all the info related to it. Also about the effects deficiency & the surplus of nutients in the body.

By Saad M

Jul 10, 2020

Its a good course, but very basic, yet helpful for those who do not have understanding of Food and nutrition and want to get educated themselves.

By Gabby P

Nov 21, 2019

Great lectures and helpful information overall! I have started to look more closely at the food I am eating to make sure it is support my health.

By amir p z

Sep 3, 2018

I was always confused with the label of food product that I wanted to buy, this short course helped me figure out what to buy and what not to buy

By Pedaprolu R

Jan 25, 2018

Very good course and helpful I recommended this course in my circle to know what we eat daily thank you for this opportunity to learn this course

By Katie G

Sep 26, 2017

A good introduction. I was hoping for something a little more scientific, but for anyone just starting on a healthy lifestyle, it would be great!

By Rana M

Jul 23, 2017

I enjoyed this course so much. The content was very clear and essential but might have been too concise. I wish it was a little longer.

Thank you

By Kelley H

Jun 15, 2022

Overall the class was helpful. I would have liked to see more suggestions on how to cook vegetables and not just how to shop at a grocery store.