Chevron Left
Back to Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Stanford Introduction to Food and Health by Stanford University

4.7
stars
25,787 ratings

About the Course

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Top reviews

JJ

Jan 22, 2021

Love how Maya presented the course and I especially love the cooking sessions featuring her cute kids. I am looking forward to reading her book or if she has any YT account featuring more home cooking

SR

Jul 12, 2022

learned alot on this course. Very knowledgeable and full of healthy recipes. Great way to start your goal. Along with excersice and healthy eating you are on your way to a great healthy mind and body.

Filter by:

2326 - 2350 of 7,532 Reviews for Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

By Tushar s

Feb 7, 2016

A Great course for anyone who wants to improve their diet. You wound'nt find any other course out there.

By Yvana N

Jul 7, 2022

El curso de verdad que es muy bueno y ayuda a que uno cambie la manera de ver la cocina y los alimentos

By Elizabeth C

Jun 17, 2022

Another clear, informative course with simple take-home messages. Exceeded my expectations. thank you.

By Magda S

Apr 20, 2022

Excelente la introduccion, para tener una dieta mas saludable sin que sea como una dieta y ganar salud.

By Mónica M J

Mar 4, 2022

All course was very interesting, my only suggestion is to add almost one plant based recipe at the end.

By Nova K

Mar 2, 2022

easy to follow and to understand and is easily applied to a lifestyle change and a healthier way to be.

By Кудленко А Є

Oct 30, 2021

Курс бесплтный а получить сертификат платно(((никому не нужны знания твои без подтверждения этих знаний

By andleeb k

Jul 4, 2021

i found the course very helpfull in telling me what kinds of food to eat which are good four my health.

By Fiona

Jun 8, 2021

Very happy for I learned this course and it gave me more details of how to eat heather in daily life.

By Rimsha S

Jun 1, 2021

very practical and useful information. the course provides opportunity to learn the basics of our food.

By RAHUL S

May 25, 2021

This course gives a new dimension to your food habits from purchasing raw material to cooking & eating.

By Ana C A M

Mar 8, 2021

Muy buen curso , aprendí mucho y afiancé algunos de mis conocimientos sobre Nutrición.

Muy recomendable.

By Leslie B

Jan 11, 2021

Wonderful videos and text that is easily printed. Good basics going forward in other nutrition courses.

By April J

Aug 8, 2020

Very informative, easy to understand and realistic tips that I can put to everyday use. Thank you Maya!

By Sofía R L

Jul 4, 2020

easy to follow, gives general undestanding of nutrition as well as useful tips to follow a healthy diet

By Karime H G

Jun 8, 2020

Me encantó, aprendes a identificar alimentos saludables, porciones adecuadas de comida, nutrientes, etc

By DOGET O V

Jun 2, 2020

I am from Russia and really big thank you for russian translate. Its easy to understand and easy to do.

By Deleted A

May 25, 2020

very easy, nice introduction to a better eating habbit. Everyone should fallow this for a better health

By Mursal B

Apr 10, 2020

Thank you for amazing an valuable course, its speechless to put in words how effective it was for me.

By Vasz J

Apr 7, 2020

Gives through basic knowledge about current recommendations of healthy eating, nutrition and lifestyle.

By fanny e r

Mar 12, 2020

Información muy clara y especifica, de fácil comprehensión. Los vídeos y ejemplos son bastante útiles.

By Bhargav S

Oct 4, 2018

Absolutely Amazing. I was amazed and learnt a lot many new things which would help me in my daily life.

By Rodolfo V

Sep 7, 2018

I am getting interest in food, healthy food, and this course has been for me an excellent introduction.

By Akilah G

Feb 21, 2018

Great. Very informative and clearly thought out. Nice examples used very easy to follow and understand.

By Khairunisa M

Sep 5, 2017

An eye-opener and also the thought-provoking material of food and nutrion field. Keep up the good work!