Chevron Left
Back to Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Stanford Introduction to Food and Health by Stanford University

4.7
stars
15,775 ratings
4,726 reviews

About the Course

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Top reviews

CS

Aug 27, 2019

Very informative and useful. I'm from India and I look forward to study more about nutritional values of different foods. This course gave me a head-start and information to pursue my goal. Thank You!

AE

Jun 22, 2018

It was an amazing course that allowed for me to be much more conscious of what I was eating and pushed me to strive to achieve a healthier lifestyle. Overall, it was very entertaining and informative!

Filter by:

3976 - 4000 of 4,682 Reviews for Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

By Nikita A

May 23, 2017

Quick course, informative for anyone who wants to understand American consumption patterns and how we can make healthier choices.

By Mustafa I M A

Aug 05, 2020

A very good course about some great topics related to our health but the problem is that I already know 25% - 40% of the content

By Chuah C C

Dec 22, 2019

Simple and clear guidelines for those who is trying to live a healthier and better life. Course recommended for total beginners.

By Liliana G

Aug 04, 2020

I really enjoyed the videos with Dr. Maya Adam and Michael Pollen. It was clear, to the point and visually pleasing. Thank you.

By Sara A A

Jul 27, 2020

Very well explained and easy to understand for people who have no idea of what food is. It is too focused to American citizens.

By Teeramade T

Jun 30, 2020

this cause is suite for people who want to lean basic information about nutrition and how to have a healthy life by health diet

By Coco C

Apr 08, 2019

Overall, it is a pretty good course. However, if you have already known some nutritional science, it might be too easy for you.

By Bernard A D

Aug 05, 2017

Very good information consolidated from many of the sources I have seen or read previously. Very good production value as well.

By Matthias L

Jul 09, 2017

Good overview on how to improve overall health but a little simplistic for individuals with a scientific or medical background.

By Amaury G M O

Jun 20, 2016

Simple and clear way to approach food, but it would be great if we could add more nutritional science and physiology based info

By Ketan K

Jun 19, 2020

Got a good introduction to nutrition and health. My biggest takeaway is to try cooking myself which I haven't done in my life.

By Deborah L

May 14, 2017

Interesting introduction that raises the key points and have us thinking about how we can improve our habits to eat healthier.

By Tomilola O

May 21, 2020

THIS COURSE IS HIGHLY RECOMMENDED TO EVERYONE IN THE FOOD INDUSTRY. THIS IS REALLY AN EYE OPENER.

THANK YOU FOR THE PRIVILEGE.

By maria m m a

May 10, 2020

Es una buena guía para llevar una alimentación más saludable y aplicar el autocuidado en la nutrición individual y colectiva.

By ramizkarna

Apr 15, 2020

Helpful course on understanding the crucial things about the food we eat, also on how can we cultivate healthy eating habits.

By Suzilene A

May 21, 2020

Simple and very elucidative. With a simple language and terms drive us to desmistify our concept and idea of eat and health.

By Mohamed E

Dec 31, 2019

a Great course, yet i would've like to be given much more science explaining why the encourage or discourage certain things.

By Debra M

May 09, 2020

Brief but enjoyable course. Well presented and informative. Especially liked the segments which included Michael Pollan.

By Aarthi R

Nov 14, 2017

Good initiative to bring awareness about food because i believe that "we are, what we eat". thank you for wonderful course.

By Annelise E

Aug 24, 2017

very useful information, perhaps more scientific content to make it more challenging than just social effects of nutrition.

By Dafne E M

Jun 16, 2020

It was good, they promise what it appeared on the title. I love the healthy diet Maya give to us at the end of the course.

By Neha N S

Jun 10, 2020

It is a beautiful course , it gives us an insight about why food plays an important role to lead a healthy and happy life.

By Ella M

May 21, 2020

It was a really enjoyable course. The material was not difficult and the content was informative.

Super easy and carefree

By Maria P V G

May 11, 2020

It helps a lot with what food to choose, how to take better care of yourself and how to feel satisfied with what you eat.