Chevron Left
Back to Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Stanford Introduction to Food and Health by Stanford University

4.7
stars
18,165 ratings
5,493 reviews

About the Course

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Top reviews

AE
Jun 21, 2018

It was an amazing course that allowed for me to be much more conscious of what I was eating and pushed me to strive to achieve a healthier lifestyle. Overall, it was very entertaining and informative!

NK
Feb 24, 2019

It was very informative course. It could have more quizzes and assignments. The way things were explained in the course was quiet interesting. Keep it up!! course. I really like this way of education.

Filter by:

4301 - 4325 of 5,440 Reviews for Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

By Archi H

Jun 17, 2017

cool

By Ong H S

May 13, 2017

Good

By Aben T

Feb 9, 2017

Nice

By Nosaiba A

Jan 24, 2017

رائع

By 毛永强

Apr 21, 2016

做的很好

By 李芳谷

Dec 7, 2020

很有用

By ANEETTA T

Sep 3, 2020

Gud

By Alaa A

Oct 1, 2019

♥♥♥

By Jade E F

Jun 24, 2018

YAY

By Juan F O G

Dec 5, 2017

el,

By Isaiah D B C

Sep 7, 2016

Ver

By زمردة

Nov 9, 2020

👍

By Wong Y K

Mar 19, 2020

有趣

By Ines B L

May 16, 2020

G

By Chi W Y

Apr 9, 2019

d

By gustavoa_pc@hotmail.com

Nov 17, 2017

e

By chaitram

Jun 5, 2017

v

By sandi h

Oct 11, 2016

I

By pleun

Aug 10, 2016

H

By Berenice S

Feb 12, 2016

I

By Galaxzy L

Jan 27, 2016

E

By Jeane A

Jan 26, 2016

T

By Lanese F

Jan 18, 2016

E

By Christina Y

Jul 7, 2020

this course is absolutely amazing. I love the videos, the structure of the course, and how Maya Adam explained everything so clearly and concise. I also really appreciate those interviews with Michael Pollan and I agree with what he said: "eat food, not too much, mostly plants". This course has taught me a lot in a very short amount of time. I also love how the course includes a list of recipes in week 5, these are amazing. I love cooking and I love living a healthy lifestyle. I'm absolutely going to try some of the recipes!

I think it will be better to include more examples or data from other parts of the world instead of just the U.S.. I am aware that this is a Stanford course, but since it's on Coursera and there are many people from other countries that are attending to this course, it will definitely benefit them more by providing more information regarding food and health of other countries. Also I think it might be better to level up the course a little bit. Despite it being an introduction for beginners, half of the content are actually common sense (or maybe just for me, I always pay attention to the food I eat so maybe unconsciously I already knew some knowledge about food and health). But it will be great to have a more advanced course regarding the topic.

Food and health is, I would say, the most important thing in life that people should pay attention to. However, so many people just ignore what they eat everyday and don't care about their health. There are also a lot of misunderstandings about what healthy food means and what should people eat when they are on a diet. I really want to help people around me to have a better diet and lifestyle, and hopefully one day I will be able to help more and more people that I don't know of through internet.

Thank you Maya and Coursera.